Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Error with an emerge
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JTHunt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 3:41 pm    Post subject: Error with an emerge Reply with quote

when I do an emerge kvirc, I get this error

Code:

checking for the Qt library name... qt
checking for the general Qt directory... failed...continuing with normal checks
checking for the Qt library... FAILED
################################################################################
### CONFIGURE ERROR:
### Can not find the qt 2.2 library file.
### Make sure that qt is correctly installed on your system,
### and the qt version is the one requested by this version of kvirc.
### (Usually a greater version is OK too)
### Try to run configure again, this time passing the --with-qt-library-dir
### option (see ./configure --help).
### You may also take a look at the config.log file in this directory,
### that will tell you which check has failed and maybe more about the reason
### of the failure.
### If you're feeling that this may be a bug in this configure script
### and want to report this to me , please include your configure script,
### the config.log file as well as the complete configure output.
################################################################################
configure: error: This was a fatal one...aborting

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 3, Exitcode 1
!!! (no error message)

can anyone help me with this? I did some searching with emerge search qt or lib. wasn't able to find the QT library files.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I did some searching with emerge search qt or lib. wasn't able to find the QT library files.
And I would guess you got something like this:
Quote:
* x11-libs/qt
Latest version Available: 3.0.4-r1
Latest version Installed: [ Not Installed ]
Homepage: http://www.trolltech.com/
Description:
QT version 3.0.4

So you need to do a
Code:
emerge --pretend qt

see how much you need to d/l, compile and install. Then if happy a:
Code:
emerge qt


Add qt to your /etc/make.conf if it's not there already.

Then re-emerge kvirc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JTHunt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 4:22 pm    Post subject: Already have QT installed Reply with quote

I already have QT installed.

Code:

*  x11-libs/qt
      Latest version Available: 3.0.4-r1
      Latest version Installed: 3.0.4-r1
      Homepage: http://www.trolltech.com/
      Description:
      QT version 3.0.4


any other suggestions?
Back to top
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

check the entries in /etc/ld.so.conf and then do a:
Code:
ldconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, those 2 general suggestions probably don't work...
What version of kvirc are you trying to emerge. Version 3.0.0 needs qt 3 and version kvirc-2.1.1 requires 2.3. I doubt kvirc 2.1.1 builds with qt 3.0.4 but I don't know for sure...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JTHunt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 11:12 pm    Post subject: Emerge Reply with quote

well its the version on portage.

Code:

[ Results for search key : kvirc ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]
 
*  net-irc/kvirc
      Latest version Available: 3.0.0
      Latest version Installed: [ Not Installed ]
      Homepage: http://www.kvirc.net
      Description:
      An IRC Client for QT 3


Tried the idconfig but that didn't work.

anyone been about to emerge kvirc? I am thinking about downloading the source and try to compile it myself.
Back to top
huw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 May 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2002 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Tried the idconfig but that didn't work.


What did you find in /etc/ld.so.conf? If you have Qt installed then there should be a directory of qt librarys somewhere. Have a look around /usr/lib and /usr/local/lib for them. I dont have qt installed so i can't tell you where they are on my computer. On a redhat box in the lab they're in

/usr/lib/qt-3.0.4/lib

If thats the case your /etc/ld.so.conf should include
Code:
/usr/lib/qt-3.0.4/lib


If it's not there the configure script wont be able to find the qt lbrary path without you manually pasing it using the --with-qt-library-dir flag.

After you edit /etc.so.conf you must run ldconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum