emerge -e system && emerge -e system && emer
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SerfurJ
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: emerge -e system && emerge -e system && emer Reply with quote

i just read about the whole
Code:
emerge -e system
emerge -e system
emerge -e world
emerge -e world

thing here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=248245&start=53
and here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=282474

after using gentoo for quite a while now, this was the first time i heard of doing such a thing, yet people are talking about it like it's the only way to have a stable system.

i've never done this before and i have what i think are a very stable systems. what are your thoughts on it? what kind of changes will i see to my system?
oberyno
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your system is stable now, don't do it. Your system will either stay the same, or become unstable.

I think it's important to remember that robmoss likes to live on the edge with gcc-4.0. As such, compiler bugs and the like are more common for him. If you're using a stable gcc, i.e, 3.3 or 3.4, I don't really see the benefit of recompiling everything a bunch of times.

If your toolchain is actually messed up, it might be a good idea to actually run those 4 commands.

Just my 2 cents.
mhodak
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here are my 2 cents:
That procedure should be indeed beneficial. It ensures that everything is consisntent, compiled with the same compiler, linked to correct versions of libraries and takes advantage of all new features. So, it should lead to some improvements in performance, although I do not think that those improvements should be noticable.