Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Portage on Other Distros
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drakos7
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 294
Location: Rockville, MD, USA, Earth, Sol

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same error message. I should have posted it. :oops: I have not found a way around it yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vijeno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2003 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my RedHat box, I'm getting (after emerge tar):

aux_get(): (1) couldn't open cache entry for sys-apps/tar-1.12.25-r1

As far as I've reviewed the sources, it looks for /var/cache/ebd/dep/sys-apps/tar-1.12.25-r1

...but what now?
_________________
"Any political correctness sufficiently advanced
is indistinguishible from irony."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vijeno
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ohhh kay... an emerge regen obviously "re"constructs the
cache...

Now for the next challenge:

# emerge -p "[WHATEVERITRY]"

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies
!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "[WHATEVERITRY]" have been masked.
_________________
"Any political correctness sufficiently advanced
is indistinguishible from irony."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jnewland
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 10
Location: University of Georgia (Athens, GA, USA)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 4:41 pm    Post subject: error in python-missingos compile on osX Reply with quote

when i try and run the `./setup.py install` command, i get this error message::

Code:

[localhost:~/portage-2.0.47-r10/src/python-missingos] jnewland% ./setup.py install
running install
running build
running build_ext
building 'missingos' extension
skipping missingos.c (build/temp.darwin-1.4-PowerMacintosh-2.2/missingos.o up-to-date)
gcc -L/sw/lib -bundle -bundle_loader /sw/bin/python build/temp.darwin-1.4-PowerMacintosh-2.2/missingos.o -o build/lib.darwin-1.4-PowerMacintosh-2.2/missingos.so
/usr/bin/ld: Undefined symbols:
_lchown
error: command 'gcc' failed with exit status 1


any ideas? this is stumping me.
_________________
--
AHHH!! Run everyone! The canary has mutated!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ribo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Aug 2002
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2003 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what would be really interesting if it could work on QNX or Be :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
relyt
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 238
Location: Massachusetts

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2003 10:28 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge looks for missing emerge.sh Reply with quote

emarkham wrote:
the funny thing is, when I run emerge in --debug mode, i get this weird error:
Code:
sh: /usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: No such file or directory
Thinking that I was just missing this file, i went and looked for it on my Officially Sanctioned Install (tm) machine and lo and behold, the file does not exist there. I can't find this file anywhere, nor can i find it referenced anywhere in the .ebuild files.

->
Code:
cd /usr/sbin
ln -s ../lib/portage/bin/ebuild.sh .
ln -s ../lib/portage/bin/ebuild .
-then try again.

You also might want to
Code:
emerge portage
afterwards just to make sure that it gets completely set up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ixion
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Dec 2002
Posts: 708

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this is an excellent idea, but it is buggy and messy... something I have decided to abandon due to the shakiness of it all...

but anyway, here are some pointers I've discovered in my endeavors to create and lfs system with portage:

1. you have to create the wheel group and give it permission to 'su'
2. add the portage user and groups to /etc/passwd and /etc/group (respecitively) (emerge will complain about it and give you what you need to know, don't worry;))
3. download and install rsync source code (won't be able to use emerge, yet)
4. Create symlink of /usr/bin/rsync to point to /usr/local/bin/rsync
5. Emerge sync
6. copy /usr/bin/ebuild* /usr/sbin/ebuild* (NO SYMLINKS! it caused problems for me)
7. Before emerging tar, backup the two ebuild.sh's you just created and REMOVE --no-same-owner instances in each file. Do not change them to --same-owner, it causes permission problems (at least for me)

This is where I'm at:
while emerging 'tar' I get random make errors after getting a tar error with zlib. I'd love to keep going with this, but the sloppiness of it really isn't worth it, although it is an excellent idea, and I highly commend crichards for coming up with all this.
_________________
only the paranoid survive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
InteRfacE
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Apr 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2003 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phantom wrote:
Maybe this will make it easier to get Gentoo Linux running on Xbox! I still haven't modded my Xbox or anything, since my siblings got me Xbox Live service for Christmas I'm actually playing the thing now. And if I mod it, *poof* no more Xbox Live.

There are projects out there to inject linux bootcode into the existing BIOS through savegame load buffer overflows, but im not sure whether or not that will mess up xbox live...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2003 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

About these errors:
aux_get(): (0) Error in sys-apps/tar-1.13.25-r1 ebuild.
Check for syntax error or corruption in the ebuild. (--debug)
....
sh: /usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: No such file or directory

Instead of doing (cd bin; cp * /usr/bin) - first and second commands in suggested install batch, you need to put them into /usr/lib/portage/bin and install a symlink in /usr/sbin:
Code:

cd bin
mkdir -p /usr/lib/portage/bin
cp * /usr/lib/portage/bin
ln -s ../lib/portage/bin/ebuild.sh /usr/sbin
...

Anythere, once you get it working, emerge portage will reinstall everything in proper locations. So don't worry and try to put scripts into several locations.
Voila!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ribo wrote:
what would be really interesting if it could work on QNX or Be :)
It would be even more interesting if it would work under cygwin!

:roll:
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
proxy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Apr 2002
Posts: 260
Location: Chantilly, VA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just out of curiosity, what are the posibilities of getting portage running on say a solaris system (sparc). I realize that there are a few key binaries which will need to recompiled to the aparc arch, but in general as a python script based system i dont see why it should be terribly difficult.

also i would need to inject glibc, kerenel-source anything else that has a solaris equiv as part of base solaris OS.

typically, _most_ programs seem to compile fine for solaris so i dont think that will be main issue.

so, like i said, could anyone think of a way to tak this on? (assume i have gcc, python, etc installed for solaris).

I think it would be a very interesting and useful thing as an (occasional) solaris user.

proxy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Epcylon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am the maintainer of an unofficial apps installation here, where we install apps that are not on the sysadmins list of "things I want to support". For now we're building things manually from source, but that's really cumbersome and impractical.

So I was wondering... would it be possible to install portage and use it in this setting? We don't have root access, and everything has to be installed in /some/path/ instead of /usr/. Other aspects of gentoo are not needed, nor wanted, just portage and the ability to do things like: emerge xchat2 :)

What would I need to do in order to make this work?
_________________
Epcylon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
synic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 49
Location: SLC, Utah

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have written a small perl script that will read a slackware package database and create "inject" entries in the gentoo portage database. This will esentually let portage know all the packages that are already installed in slackware.

You can find it here:
http://www.4akwote.com/adam/convert

Note: I wrote this in 15 minutes and uploaded it to get feedback. I am aware that I am not the best programmer, and would like a real hacker to take a look at it. Keep in mind that you must run this on a slackware system with portage freshly installed, and you must let it finish to update the counter file correctly. I will also be working on this script, and upload updates as I finish them.

Thanks,

synic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David916
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 60
Location: My basement

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 5:39 pm    Post subject: Yay for Gentoo Reply with quote

Quote:
Agreed. I've learned a LOT more just using Gentoo as opposed to any point-and-click install distro (Red Hat and Mandrake) and had a lot fewer unsolvable problems due to my increased knowledge of the system.


I wholeheartedly agree, I started out using RedHat, and while it's perfect for someone who doesn't need to really learn linux, I want to learn linux. Thanks Gentoo
_________________
-David Wahl
dmwahl at wisc dot edu

$ man woman
No manual entry for woman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bartok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 6:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Installing Portage on Other Distros Reply with quote

crichards wrote:
Yes, its possible. Yes, it works fine. I risked my perfectly stable Linux install to do this. And I'm still using it. Only its Gentoo-ified.


I want to run portage in a non-root location on a RedHat box. I can't escape RedHat because the box is actually a cluster that supports many users, many of which use proprietary applications that are only supported on RedHat. The cluster also runs bproc and a special kernel for it, and was shipped from the vendor (Linux Labs) based on RedHat.

On the other hand, keeping applications and libaries up to date on this box using RPM sucks, especially after being spoiled by Gentoo on my other machines. I want to run a portage based set of applications and libraries in a non-root location so the basic cluster configuration and proprietary software packages and their support organizations never know the difference. In the meantime, I can use up to date and optimized applications from a non-standard location.

So far, I have tried two things. First, I tried modifying portage to run in a non-root location based on the guidelines posted in this thread. This can probably be done right, but it was getting rather messy in my case. I don't want to mess with this more without guidance from the portage wizards.

Second, I tried using the stage1 tarball and chroot to build a system similar to a normal Gentoo install, but in the chroot directory instead of root. This actually builds applications, but the problem is that they don't work outside of the chroot. The look in the wrong place, root, for libraries and such. 8-(

Thanks for any advice,
John
_________________
John Galbraith
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Milamber
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 72
Location: Richmond, VA

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 11:55 pm    Post subject: installing portage on other distros Reply with quote

:idea:

how modifying emerge to take a parameter, say "--distrodir"
and also a paramter like "--configdir"
where the user could then use like :

emerge --distrodir redhat --configdir ~/emergeconfig

where ~/emergeconfig will contain the necessary files like make.conf, etc ?

would it be possible ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David916
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 60
Location: My basement

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 7:34 am    Post subject: Portage in OpenBSD Reply with quote

Anyone know if portage will work on an openbsd system?
_________________
-David Wahl
dmwahl at wisc dot edu

$ man woman
No manual entry for woman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuro_mancien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2003 7:34 am    Post subject: profile..... Reply with quote

when i try to emerge something, i get a "!!! No profile directory; system mode unavailable." message.
What's this profile directory ?
TIA
8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slinger
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Dec 2002
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone give me a link to the proper tarball? The one I downloaded from the mirror has no directory structure like the steps we are walked through on the first post of this thread.

TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuro_mancien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jun 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2003 7:10 pm    Post subject: all ebuilds that could satisfy..... Reply with quote

Hello,
when i'm trying to emerge somethin, i get this message : "!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "tar" have been masked."

My accept keyword is set to ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86", and i'm trying this as root.

When i try with --debug option, i get the same message :
Code:
"bash-2.05a# emerge --debug tar
  Calculating dependencies
Parent:    None
Depstring: sys-apps/tar
Candidates: ['sys-apps/tar']

!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "tar" have been masked.

!!! Error calculating dependancies. Please correct."

What can i do to correct it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TwoSlick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 114
Location: Rolla, MO

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I am the maintainer of an unofficial apps installation here, where we install apps that are not on the sysadmins list of "things I want to support". For now we're building things manually from source, but that's really cumbersome and impractical.

So I was wondering... would it be possible to install portage and use it in this setting? We don't have root access, and everything has to be installed in /some/path/ instead of /usr/. Other aspects of gentoo are not needed, nor wanted, just portage and the ability to do things like: emerge xchat2

What would I need to do in order to make this work?

I don't have root access, and I have to do the exact same thing on a solaris box at work. I would absolutely LOVE to run portage to update my apps. This thread got me to thinking: What if you could chroot to /some/path and untar a sparc stage-x to get basic programs, then use emerge from there to download any apps you need? After that, just chroot again to install or update software! :D

Anybody think that would work? I'm think I'm gonna try it tomrrow.

EDIT****** Darn! I just realized you need to be root to use chroot. Any ideas on how to get around this?

- TwoSlick


Last edited by TwoSlick on Fri Jun 13, 2003 6:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
essetee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2003
Posts: 5
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use LFS, why should I use the portage tree from Gentoo. Exemple : KDE 3.2 takes 9 hours to compile on my LFS, on my gentoo it takes 32 hours.

So, better to compile my own stuff on my LFS system, rather than use Gentoo's portage system.
_________________
Essetee -- Roeselare -- Belgium
URL : http://www.essetee.be
MSN : Essetee@hotmail.com
Gentoo Linux operating system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hackertype
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2003
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This script gets portage installed on my i686 redhat 8.0 linux box:

Code:
wget http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/distfiles/portage-2.0.48-r1.tar.bz2
mkdir tmp
cd tmp
tar xvjpf ../portage*bz2
cd portage*
cd bin/
cp * /usr/bin
cd ../pym
cp * /usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages
cd ../man
cp *.1 /usr/man/man1
cp *.5 /usr/man/man5
cd ../src/python-missingos
./setup.py install
cd ../sandbox-1.1
make && make install
cd ../../cnf
cp * /etc
cd ..
cp make.profile/ /etc
echo "portage:x:250:250:portage:/var/tmp/portage:/bin/false" >> /etc/passwd
echo "portage::250:portage" >> /etc/group
cp /usr/bin/ebuild* /usr/sbin/.
ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-x86-1.4 /etc/make.profile
cp /usr/bin/extra_functions.sh /usr/lib/portage/bin/.
emerge sync
emerge inject sys-devel/gcc-3.2.3
emerge inject sys-libs/glibc-2.2.5


However when I emerge tar the compile of bzip2 fails.

Okay I figured out the problem. CC and CXX weren't defined because the /etc/env.d directory was empty. I copied the whole dir structure from a working gentoo machine and ran env-update.

All the following work fine:
emerge tar
emerge sed
emerge bash

emerge sys-apps/baselayout fails on berkely DB.

Code:
test ! -f /usr/bin/ranlib || /usr/bin/ranlib libdb_cxx.a
gcc -I/usr/include/db1  -c -D_GNU_SOURCE -I../dist/../include -D_REENTRANT  ../dist/../db_dump185/db_dump185.c
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c: In function `main':
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:210: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:212: warning: assignment makes pointer from integer without a cast
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:227: structure has no member named `seq'
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:227: `R_NEXT' undeclared (first use in this function)
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:227: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:227: for each function it appears in.)
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:232: structure has no member named `seq'
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c: In function `db_hash':
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:260: structure has no member named `internal'
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:262: structure has no member named `internal'
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c: In function `db_btree':
../db_dump185/db_dump185.c:287: structure has no member named `internal'
make: *** [db_dump185.o] Error 1

!!! ERROR: sys-libs/db-3.2.9-r2 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 89, Exitcode 2
!!! Static build failed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dev-null-devil
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 May 2003
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've seen many people installing portage on slackware and it works really good for them. However, with this information, you can gentooify any linux system, this has been something i've been dreaming of for a long time, i'll try to install it on slack tomorrow.
_________________
All change, motion, and time is an illusion.
-- Plato, year 310
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricgal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Winnipeg, MB

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 1:46 am    Post subject: Planning to try it ... Reply with quote

to fix a Mandrake 9.0 install that could not complete. :( Think the cdrom was too old to read the burnt cds properly, perhaps. Compaq deskpro 300 mhz system.)

Anyway, I am reading and rereading this. I have some of the tarballs downloaded onto a spare hard drive that is temp resident of my Mandrake 7.1 machine. The archiver in 7.1 can't seem to open bz2 files, either.

Really need to get up to date here, I see. Sorry for the rambling. :roll: :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum