Can't get network card to work!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Zulithe
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2003 10:03 pm    Post subject: Can't get network card to work! Reply with quote

Hi all. I saw Gentoo 1.4_rc2 released and wanted to give it a go! I have very little experience with Linux, i've tried installing Gentoo before but I could never get it to work (kept having problems with GRUB). However, I could ALWAYS get past this part of the install guide, but for some reason I can't in 1.4_rc2... please help.

Firstly I'm using the gentoo-basic-x86-1.4_rc2.iso LiveCD (My PC is running an AMD Athlon, but I opted to do a netinstall instead of download and burn a larger ISO, and so that I could possibly do the same on other PCs around the house that don't use an Athlon).

I boot the CD and see the pretty new blue Gentoo screen (nice, btw!). I get to the root prompt and change the password using passwd first.

Now I try to setup my network card. The ethernet card my PC is using is (according to Windows XP device manager, as the card has no distinguishing information on it) a SMC EZ Card 10/100 PCI (SMC1211 Series). I use this card in Windows XP every single day and it works perfectly, so I know it is not a direct problem coming from the card itself.

I know that it previously used the Tulip driver in Gentoo 1.4_rc1 but when I type:

modprobe tulip

it outputs an error saying:

init_module: No such device

I ran out of ideas, came back to the forum and did a serach on my card, some suggestions said to do:

modprobe pcnet32

or

modprobe ne2k-pci

I tried both and I get the same error.

When I type /sbin/ifconfig -a I see three listings. Here are those three listings and the first line of each

dummy0 Link encap: Ethernet
lo
sit0 Link-encap: IPv6-in-Ipv4