Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Transperancy within fluxbox possible?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FINITE
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 449

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 12:28 am    Post subject: Transperancy within fluxbox possible? Reply with quote

Ok, I have pretty much figured out how to use fluxbox accept for one thing. How do I make it so that I can use transperency in konsole? I mean I know how to go into the options and set it up within the konsole settings but fluxbox seems to not allow transparency or something. Thanx :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hudsonhauck
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 182
Location: Albany, CA

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 2:37 am    Post subject: Re: Transperancy within fluxbox possible? Reply with quote

FINITE wrote:
Ok, I have pretty much figured out how to use fluxbox


Really? Would you mind telling me how those stupid tabs work?
_________________
Matthew Hauck
http://matthauck.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freefall
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Apr 2002
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 2:48 am    Post subject: Re: Transperancy within fluxbox possible? Reply with quote

hudsonhauck wrote:

Really? Would you mind telling me how those stupid tabs work?



The Ultimate Guide to Fluxbox Tabs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To have transparency you have to set the background in the proper mannor, I use Eterms -- Esetroot but here is a link to the fluxbox docs:

http://fluxbox.sourceforge.net/docs/newdoc.backgrounds.php#top
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
handsomepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Kansas City, MO

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I first emerged eterm and started using it there was a menu on the top that allowed me to change backgrounds/set transparency/fonts etc. Then it vanished after a restart of X. Anyone know how I can get that convenience back?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doiley
Guest





PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

delete the .eterm folder in your home directory and next time you start eterm you'll have those menus back
Back to top
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well what I was talking about wasn't really about Eterm but the actual way you set the background on your desktop, if you use xv you can't have transparency in a term.

Oh and I'll give you a nice little tip, try holding Ctrl + Right Click and Ctrl + Center Click on Eterm :)
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcsduke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 40
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2002 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the tip autobot... that's cool.

handsomepete, I was playing around with some other key/mouse combinations and found that ctrl-shift-rightmouseclick toggles the menu at the top of the Eterm.

Kyle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2002 3:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love fluxobx, but I jut turn the tabs off. I too use Eterm for t-parency
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
handsomepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Kansas City, MO

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2002 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
Oh and I'll give you a nice little tip, try holding Ctrl + Right Click and Ctrl + Center Click on Eterm :)


kcsduke wrote:
and found that ctrl-shift-rightmouseclick toggles the menu at the top of the Eterm


Thanks fellas. That's neat. Just out of curiousity, what are the chances of realtime transparency ever weaseling its way into X/these programs (i.e. where you can drag the window and it is actually transparent as you move it, not just copying the image it's on top of)? Or does this already exist? I know that this is a totally unnecessary thing for any program to have, but you've got to admit that it's cool to look at once in a while... :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
S_aIN_t
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 May 2002
Posts: 488
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2002 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aterm will also give you transparency.. but it is not real-time. it will always go trasparent to the part of background you have it over.

i prefer aterm to Eterm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Mon May 27, 2002 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

handsomepete wrote:
AutoBot wrote:
Oh and I'll give you a nice little tip, try holding Ctrl + Right Click and Ctrl + Center Click on Eterm :)


kcsduke wrote:
and found that ctrl-shift-rightmouseclick toggles the menu at the top of the Eterm


Thanks fellas. That's neat. Just out of curiousity, what are the chances of realtime transparency ever weaseling its way into X/these programs (i.e. where you can drag the window and it is actually transparent as you move it, not just copying the image it's on top of)? Or does this already exist? I know that this is a totally unnecessary thing for any program to have, but you've got to admit that it's cool to look at once in a while... :)

You can do this with Eterm by using the following two options:

--background-pixmap

and

--viewport-mode

By setting your your background pixmap to the same as your wallpaper, then activating viewport mode it will appear that you have realtime transparency...ie when you move Eterm your background moves at the same time.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum