Own boot partition?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rumo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 1:38 am    Post subject: Own boot partition? Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm quite new to gentoo - actually I'm in the middle of compiling my first system.

My first question is, why there should be an own /boot partition? There are already two
running OS on my harddisk and I don't really like the idea of repartioning the whole disk.

I have 3 primary partions, and the extended partion (with it's subpartitions) is at the end - so there is AFAIK no way to create a boot partition in the first disk sectors as suggested by the Gentoo Handbook.

Also I know that you don't need a boot partition in the first 1024 cylinders of your harddisk anymore. I tried it with SuSE and Debian/Knoppix and both worked well.

So what exactly is the disadvantage of /boot in / ?

In the past I always booted with the help of initrd. Is this the downside? Or was it only required because i presumably compiled something as a module when I should have compiled it in the kernel instead?

Thanks,

Philipp
Akhouk
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 1:57 am    Post subject: Re: Own boot partition? Reply with quote

Rumo wrote:

So what exactly is the disadvantage of /boot in / ?

It is not strictly necessary to have /boot on a separate partition and I have created gentoo machines with /boot on the / parition and everything works as expected. So go ahead and do it...:)

The main advantage of having a seperate parition is just to keep it out of the way. On servers I leave it unmounted so it can't be damaged. So machines can't have /boot over a certain size but I am not an expert on which types of machines. I have had the problem in the past but it was sometime ago now.

Rumo wrote: