Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.10-nitro4: The Kernel Formerly Known As Hercules
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:45 am    Post subject: Re: Nitro is the fastest I have ever been on.... Reply with quote

shadowteller wrote:
BRAVO on Kernel patch speed...6.2 seconds from power on to KDE start.


I've heard many reports of super-fast bootups with nitro, but nitro-or-not, I've always had a really slow linux boot. It could just be my processor, or the number of services I start. I was wondering if anyone would suggest a diagnostic utility I could use to post my actual boot statistics here, and have my problem diagnosed.

I'm using:
Code:
Linux 2.6.10-nitro3 i686 AMD Athlon(TM) XP 1800+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

My boot takes about 1-2 minutes from grub to login.

:) Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:55 am    Post subject: Re: Nitro is the fastest I have ever been on.... Reply with quote

pifactorial wrote:
shadowteller wrote:
BRAVO on Kernel patch speed...6.2 seconds from power on to KDE start.


I've heard many reports of super-fast bootups with nitro, but nitro-or-not, I've always had a really slow linux boot.

My boot takes about 1-2 minutes from grub to login.


I can't offer any direct help apart from the usual 'check your hdparm settings' and so on (I think a search should provide threads dedicated to this).

I also would take a bootup from power on to kde start in 6.2 seconds with a massive bucket of salt. I'm sory, but I just don't believe it. Think about it, when the computer is switched on it has to go through its own BIOS check and startup, then linux starts, even with no services (and I mean none!) then X has to be initialised and started, then a login (must be automatic for that to happen so quickly), followed by a full kde start up - all in 6.2s.....

I have a stripped down install when I do some tests with minimal services, no apache or mysql, etc, just metalog and mounting one partition, and it takes a lot longer than that (mine is not a super computer by any means, but a 3200+ XP, 512 PC3200 RAM, and one mounted partition on a 7200 disk takes longer...)

I genuinly hope I get flamed for this and someone proves me wrong (because I would love to see it for myself) but unless I see a video of it from blank screen, see a finger press the power button and watch it for myself then I remain rather sceptical of such claims (should be easy to prove, a 6.2s mpeg would be less than 100Kb. I will also humbly apologise and eat my smelly socks)

Anyway, look at your startup settings (hdparm, how many partitions you mount, modules loading, etc). As long as the performance when it is on is not affected then I would not be too concerned, I mean, how often do you reboot?
_________________
usefuljaja.com - VPS Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
amione
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Location: India

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have been working on quick boot systems for some time now and let me share my exp.:
On a VIA C3 Antaur 1 GHz 256MB DDR laptop (hdd speed is around 30mbps) I get below 30 second boot to gnome desktop consistantly (boot means - gnome completes drawing the panels startbutton icons etc and i can click on somehting) .

Gnome is set up for auto login after 2 seconds and i have deducted those 2 seconds from the figure. NO service are started except xfs. after nautilus has drawn the desktop I start a script in the background which starts services. my kernel is only 5mb incl the modules since i only compile for the h/w on my laptop. but it still has bottleneck things like bootsplash, supermount, squashfs etc. My clients only interested in via cpu laptops so i haven't tried on other intel/amd since will need to get and compile patches for all the hardware.

Since I am supposed to do 10 second boot for them I have finally used the softwaresuspend2 and hacked the logoff/shutdown/restart button to do a suspend, hide the suspend messages by not compiling the text progress option and stop/start some service/modules etc. This currently gives me 15-18 second pseudo boot.

more later

Amitabh R


shadowteller wrote:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

30s to a desktop is indeed very good and with all the other bits you say, 15-18s seems exceedingly good, but also believable.

I was just saying (ok, I admit ranting, LOL), that 6s is pushing my belief a bit far :P
_________________
usefuljaja.com - VPS Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 7:51 pm    Post subject: bootup Reply with quote

I'm satisfied with my bootup speed, as I realize that I have a pretty slow processor and 3/4 of my bootup time is starting processes:
Code:

# rc-update show
           alsasound | boot
             apache2 |      default
                apmd |
               aumix |
            bootmisc | boot
          bootsplash |
             bttrack |
             checkfs | boot
           checkroot | boot
               clock | boot
         consolefont | boot
         crypto-loop |
               cupsd |      default
                dbus |
          domainname |      default
              esound |
                famd |      default
                 gpm |
                hald |      default
              hdparm |
            hostname | boot
             hotplug | boot
            iptables |
                 ipx |
             keymaps | boot
               local |      default nonetwork
          localmount | boot
             modules | boot
               mysql |
                 nas |
            net.eth0 |      default
              net.lo | boot
            netmount |      default
                nscd |
          ntp-client |      default
                ntpd |      default
             numlock |
             portmap |
           rmnologin | boot
              rsyncd |
               samba |
              serial | boot
           shorewall |      default
  spambayespop3proxy |      default
               spamd |
              splash |      default
                sshd |      default
           syslog-ng |      default
             urandom | boot
          vixie-cron |      default
                 xdm |      default
                 xfs |      default
              xprint |
             zebedee |


Any comments on that list? Anything that I should add/remove?
Thanks :)

EDIT: BTW I timed my startup, and the boot runlevel took 30s, while the default runlevel takes 1-1.5 minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chunderbunny
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 1281
Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you use this machine for? If it's purely a desktop machine then you don't need apache, ssh and ntpd. If it's purely a server machine then you don't need alsasound, hotplug and splash. Either way I think you can live without xfs (unless you have about a million different fonts.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pifactorial
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 77
Location: 3<x<4 on the gamma function

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:08 pm    Post subject: I confess... Reply with quote

It's both a desktop and a server. :oops: I know... I have problems.

But I'm curious, why don't I need xfs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chunderbunny
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 1281
Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xfs allows you to dynamically load fonts into memory as and when they are needed, without xfs you have load all your fonts simultaneously. That sounds great, until you realise that for most people fonts take up a negligible amount of memory and it's faster just to have all loaded in memory, ready for use. If you have a lot of fonts, or very complex fonts, or if you regularly connect to your X session remotely and need to have the fonts distributed then it it's a good idea. For most Gentoo users it's a bit OTT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wegrzyn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 22
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 12:02 am    Post subject: MTTR issue with Nitro4 - anyone seen this? Reply with quote

I recently built 2.6.10 nitro4 and got the strange messages in the kernel log:

mtrr: size and base must be multiples of 4 kiB
mtrr: size: 0x80000 base: 0xf000ed8a

I was wondering if anyone has an idea of what configuration item I screwed up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cocoliso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i cant download the patches...

Code:
=> `/usr/portage/distfiles/patch-2.6.10-nitro4.bz2'
Resolving pickledonion.net... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
!!! Couldn't download patch-2.6.10-nitro4.bz2. Aborting.


and www.nitro-sources.org hasnt have this patch....

where can i get these patches?

cya!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cocoliso wrote:
i cant download the patches...

Code:
=> `/usr/portage/distfiles/patch-2.6.10-nitro4.bz2'
Resolving pickledonion.net... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
!!! Couldn't download patch-2.6.10-nitro4.bz2. Aborting.


and www.nitro-sources.org hasnt have this patch....

where can i get these patches?

cya!


There seems to be a handful of people who can't connect to my server. I have no idea why and, as far as I can tell, there is no connection with them. My thinking, as there is nothing wrong with the server end, and all usual tests (traceroute, dns checks, firewall checks, kernels checks, reboots with different configs) is that some ISPs are at fault, although how I don't know. Last night, downloads of this patchset pipped the 8GB mark for this month so am stumped as to why some simply can't connect.

Anyway, I would suggest trying again (although I would suspect you have).

Secondly if it continues contact your ISP and ask them if they can contact it.

If there is another mirror (and I can't remember if there is one for this nitro) then you will have to search each page for the link.

Sorry I can't do anything else.

Edit: Just looking at your posted code snippet and you are using the ebuild - did you manage to get that ok?
_________________
usefuljaja.com - VPS Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecrazyperson_ws
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I broke down. I emerged nitro4 with the MM patches, and I must say that it runs beautifully. I haven't had any stability issues with it, but I can't get hdparm to work via the startup script OR manually from the cmdline. it hardlocks the box on both tries. I gave up on it. with this kernel, this old p3-450 can play a xvid avi in mplayer using less than 30 percent of my processor, while on gentoo-dev-sources it takes somewhere around 35 to 40 on the same file with the same service set. Must be something to do with the kernel latency patches. Oh well.

Keep up the good work, Darckness!
_________________
Bevelle: Dual Athlon MP 2000+, 1.25G ram, 120G HD, Gentoo 2005.1-r1, Kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r5

Gagazet: Pentium 2-266, 288M ram, 240G HD, currently installing gentoo

Besaid: p-150, 80M ram, win2k pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cocoliso
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Mar 2004
Posts: 68

PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2005 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PickledOnion wrote:
cocoliso wrote:
i cant download the patches...

Code:
=> `/usr/portage/distfiles/patch-2.6.10-nitro4.bz2'
Resolving pickledonion.net... failed: Temporary failure in name resolution.
!!! Couldn't download patch-2.6.10-nitro4.bz2. Aborting.


and www.nitro-sources.org hasnt have this patch....

where can i get these patches?

cya!


There seems to be a handful of people who can't connect to my server. I have no idea why and, as far as I can tell, there is no connection with them. My thinking, as there is nothing wrong with the server end, and all usual tests (traceroute, dns checks, firewall checks, kernels checks, reboots with different configs) is that some ISPs are at fault, although how I don't know. Last night, downloads of this patchset pipped the 8GB mark for this month so am stumped as to why some simply can't connect.

Anyway, I would suggest trying again (although I would suspect you have).

Secondly if it continues contact your ISP and ask them if they can contact it.

If there is another mirror (and I can't remember if there is one for this nitro) then you will have to search each page for the link.

Sorry I can't do anything else.

Edit: Just looking at your posted code snippet and you are using the ebuild - did you manage to get that ok?


hi i just tried again this morning and everything download just fine 8)

i get my ebuilds from gentoo-de rsync server

tks for everything!!!

cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Benny007
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 43
Location: U.K.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:42 pm    Post subject: Xen support Reply with quote

Great work man! :)
Are you planning support XEN features into Nitro-Sources?
http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/Research/SRG/netos/xen/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CMDR_PAIN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
Got a problem.
This is what I get when I run X: _LoaderFileToMem() read() failed: No such file or directory
I'm running Xorg 6.8.1 custom compiled (gcc 3.3.4) on Slackware 10.0. Happens on 2.6.8.1-cko4 and 2.6.10-nitro4
Didn't happen with 6.7.0. I think it has something to do with my compilation. I probably set something wrong in host.def.
When I set driver to "vesa" all goes well. X runs fine. When I change vesa to fglrx
(the ATI driver module) then I get this strange error.
The question is: is it the driver or my Xorg compilation ??
_________________
Powered by Gentoo on an Athlon-XP-M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats a prob with earler ATI drivers, you have to update to the latest release for Xorg support.
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CMDR_PAIN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahh sorry. I forgot to mention I already got 8.8.25 with mtippet`s 2.6.10 patch applied for the nitro and without for the 2.6.8.1.
Any ideas ??
_________________
Powered by Gentoo on an Athlon-XP-M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
predatorfreak
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Jan 2005
Posts: 708
Location: USA, Michigan.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing that comes into my mind is did you compile Xorg static? I'v had issues with Xorg being static and not being able to load drivers....
_________________
System: predatorbox
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Current projects: blackhole, convmedia and anything else I cook up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CMDR_PAIN
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 7
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nop. I didn`t play with this stuff and Slackware installs a modular X (I used Slackbuilds - scripts Slackware maintainers use to build binaries).
Hmm... Looking into the xc/config/cf/ files.. maybe your right.
Thanks predatrofreak. I`ll recompile it when I wake up, it`s already past 1.00 am here.
_________________
Powered by Gentoo on an Athlon-XP-M
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cuchumino
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 428

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there a way to patch the nitros into the 2.6.10-gentoo-r4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cuchumino
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 428

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

peep?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cuchumino: No.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cuchumino
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Posts: 428

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koma
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 2701
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to have the driver ipw2200 working with this drivers what are the vices to able in the kernel? i've this error:
Code:
 * Preparing ipw2200 module
make -C /usr/src/linux M=/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1 MODVERDIR=/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1 modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-nitro4'
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ieee80211_module.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ieee80211_tx.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ieee80211_rx.o
/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.c:7351:52: macro "create_workqueue" requires 2 arguments, but only 1 given
/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.c: In function `ipw_setup_deferred_work':
/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.c:7351: error: `create_workqueue' undeclared (first use in this function)
/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.c:7351: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.c:7351: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1/ipw2200.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[1]: *** [_module_/var/tmp/portage/ipw2200-1.0.1/work/ipw2200-1.0.1] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-2.6.10-nitro4'
make: *** [modules] Error 2

!!! ERROR: net-wireless/ipw2200-1.0.1 failed.
!!! Function linux-mod_src_compile, Line 417, Exitcode 2
!!! Unable to make                                  KSRC=/usr/src/linux all.
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.

i think is because the kernel have some patches different from the standard ;)
sorry for my english
(ps i'm sure the problem is in the configuration because changing the compiled/modules the error change)
_________________
Remember! Gnu is not Unix!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yoJI-Tl94g GLORY GLORY HYPNOTOAD
Linux Counter[code:1]
User n° #466586
ID 375005 EkatombeII
ID 375006 Apocalypto
ID 375007 KHP[/code:1]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
J0Ba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error is caused by the SWSUSP2 support in the kernel. I believe the nitro patchset applies some of the SWSUSP2 changes whether the option is enabled or not, unless the kernel devs have made these changes in the kernel source tree for compatibility reasons. There are two ways to fix this:

1) Enable Software Suspend 2 (SWSUSP2) in the kernel. This causes the IPW2200 code to be built with the proper call to the workqueue command, and considering that you have an ipw2200 you're probably on a laptop and will want SWSUSP2 support at some point anyway.
2) Hit ctrl+z and modify the source yourself during the emerge process. This is tedious.

The last solution is to try to find/create a patch. I personally use SWSUSP2 so I don't run into this issue.
_________________
Joshua Baergen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 9 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum