Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.10-nitro4: The Kernel Formerly Known As Hercules
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
bollucks wrote:
low latency patch would be the mingo-ll patch that comes from -ck... meaning you've already got it.


Oh good. At least I won't have to hunt around for it.


I was refering to Ingo Molnar's low-latency patches . I misread something on morph-sources and thought he had added it rather than re-added something he had taken out. It appears this is indeed part of ck , so sorry for getting you all exited for nothing. :oops:

The good news is , no extra work required , nitro is all I could ever want ! :P

BTW do you realise you're a kernel junkie , bet you cant go 24 hrs . :wink:
Luckily help is available, you can now buy patches ... !!

I'm going to see if I use nitro4 before you make it obselete . Good luck.
8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683: I suppose I could get rid of it if it's really causing problems for you, but I could have sworn I fixed everything related to remap_page_range (I was aware of the issues and attempted to fix them with apparent success). Could you give me a specific example of something that it breaks?

xiaosuo: I can't foresee there being any other use flags added any time soon. The idea behind want-mm is to give two separate nitros: one that is incredibly stable, and one that is more experimental in nature while possibly being "less than stable". The bk patch is experimental stuff, so it will stay in the want-mm. I may change the flag in the future to something like "build-experimental" or something to reflect the nature of this, but that's the only real change I can think of.

Gentree: I've been a kernel junkie since I started rolling my own just prior to love-sources' conception. If I don't have something new to boot every day, I start to get edgy from the stability. I'll always be running the mm/bk version of nitro ;). My plan for staying off the kernel patching for a few days involves buying the patches, as you said, and playing massive amounts of World of Warcraft (which I did too much of already) since it runs so amazingly well on linux. See my ultra-successful howto thread over here :D .
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This patch ONLY removes remap_page_range from kernel headers. Its just a Kernel-developers perversion about deprecated API features. It breaks fglrx(aka. proprietary ATI drivers). Well, lets say it breaks them too...

EDIT:
Performance patches is one thing, but removing features before third party sw adapts is a little TOO close to future kernels.... ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone got dmix/jackd working on recentn nitro (2.6.9/10) ?

I've been banging my head against this particular wall for 2 full days and I need to get a handle on what's bugging it.

TIA. 8)

Darckness : seems like you're a bit a wine conaisseur , have you ever tried to get Dragon Speach rec. working through wine?

It's the only thing I miss from Windows (Not that I ever used it much since Win.MTBF<Dragon.trainingPeriod. But for the time it stayed up it was impressive).
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683: Good point. I'll make sure to leave that out in future versions.

Gentree: I have dmix/jackd working. Then again, I also have an Audigy 2 ZS which supports hardware mixing. As for Dragon Speech, I've never even heard of it. Can't say I've tried it, but I can say that it's a real pain to get external functions working in wine (printers, microphones) if they aren't working out of the box. What's Dragon Speech do? I might be able to suggest a replacement app since I do quite a bit of sound work!

Somebody with ATI drivers that is having problems building them and is technically proficient:
Try changing all occurances of remap_page_range in the ati drivers to io_remap_page_range and tell me what happens.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

will try as soon as i get home today.
till now i succeeded by both replacing page with pfn and adding back the remap page r. to the kernel , but the first might be baaaad, but it works and loads...with no_dri in driver enabled it also loads X.....

sometime later Ill try your ver.......
EDIT:
From what i just found on Inet, this might be the golden shot, Ill report back later...


Last edited by Tiger683 on Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nlabadie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 17
Location: Detroit, MI

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness wrote:
nlabadie: there's two versions of nitro4. One uses mm patches, the other does not. Which are you using?


Nevermind, it was the one without mm-sources. After SSH'ing into the laptop running nitro-sources-2.6.10-r4 (keyboard not working), I discovered the following error after running dmesg:
Code:
ACPI: PS/2 Keyboard Controller [KBC] at I/O 0x60, 0x66, irq 1
ACPI: PS/2 Mouse Controller [PS2M] at irq 12
i8042.c: Can't read CTR while initializing i8042.


The dmesg from nitro-sources-2.6.10-r2 (keyboard working):
Code:
i8042.c: Warning: Keylock active.
serio: i8042 AUX port at 0x60,0x64 irq 12
serio: i8042 KBD port at 0x60,0x64 irq 1


Hrmm. Searched for the error "Can't read CTR while initializing i8042" and found multiple references (mostly involving mm-sources) about passing "i8042.noacpi" at boot. Added "i8042.noacpi" to grub.conf, rebooted, and everything is working again.

:D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

celeron2002 wrote:
this patchset has the shfs support???

i dont find it :(


I patch my sources with the LUFS patch that has dissapeared lately from the nitro sources... it needs just a slight little modification by hand and it will work
_________________
_________________________________
The MOST important book on the planet?
http://thewayhomeorfacethefire.info/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.10-nitro4 isnt as good on my setup as the two previous ones I used .. it makes my music skip very easily while nitro2 is goood
_________________
_________________________________
The MOST important book on the planet?
http://thewayhomeorfacethefire.info/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What's Dragon Speech do? I might be able to suggest a replacement app since I do quite a bit of sound work!


Dragon NaturallySpeaking (Prefered) voice recognition software. now owned by Lerhard & Hauspie is just about the best and longest standing PC voice rec. software. Sadly win only.

Like the now abandonded IBM viaVoice and Phillips FreeSpeach (as in beer) it allows you to dicatate text into the mike that it converts to a character stream inserted into the keyboard buffer. ie it truely replaces typing and is not application dependant. (Not just word recognition like the old soundBlaster Voice tools.)

I had this pretty well set up under win98 at one stage and was able to dictate a page of A4 in one hit , speaking very quickly.

Incredibly it only needed about 10 corrections on the page!

I was gob-smacked. Sadly my windows installation screwed up shortly afterwards and the hours I'd spent configuring and training the software to my voice patterns went with it.

The software remains one of the most impressive things I've seen a PC do. Shame it depends on a flakey OS. Hence my interest in seeing it Linux.

I bought v5.5 Fr and it was about as effective with native French dictation which is even more impressive in view of the number of homophones there are in the french language.

Years back they were giving away earlier versions on magazine covers so some free versions should be findable on web or p2p.

Version 4 was good. version 5 and later excellent. Must be at 8 or 9 now but I think the engine changes little after v5, its more front-end niceties and IE integration gimicks.

If you have a dual boot its worth taking a look. Very effective even with minimal training/setup.

Sorry that was abit long but you did ask 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cybe: are you using the same config as with nitro2? I've had no issues with music skipping/other irritations of that sort. What player do you use?

Gentree: that sounds really cool! I think you've sparked my interest in voice dictation. Probably a bad thing since I'll be working on something related to this for a few days now, but I'll let you know if I find anything.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LordArthas
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Nov 2004
Posts: 497
Location: Maniago, Friûl, Italia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It doesn't work here on my AMD64 (I upgraded from, and then fell-back to, 2.6.9-nitro2). With the same configuration it hangs at boot time after 20 or 30 lines of reports. The last 3 lines are:

Code:

ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x9F0 ctl 0xBF2 bmdma 0xDC00 irq 11
ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x970 ctl 0xB72 bmdma 0xDC08 irq 11
ata3: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/133, 240119615 sectors:


After this, it just hangs there. I guess there's some problem with SATA. With 2.6.9-nitro2 I get this:

Code:

ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x9F0 ctl 0xBF2 bmdma 0xDC00 irq 11
ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x970 ctl 0xB72 bmdma 0xDC08 irq 11
ata3: dev 0 cfg 49:2f00 82:7c6b 83:7b09 84:4003 85:7c68 86:3a01 87:4003 88:407f
ata3: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/133, 240119615 sectors:


and then of course booting continues. Output is identical except for the third line, which is missing when booting with 2.6.10-nitro4.

Thanks, M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trevoke
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 4099
Location: NY, NY

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is the SMP problem fixed?
_________________
Votre moment detente
What is the nature of conflict?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Darcknes, Take a look at this one:
Quote:

http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader/wlan/full/archive/linux-2.6.10-16kstacks.patch


Worth a try? Looks like a nice thing against stack-overflows.... :]

PS. Does anyone know if REGPARM or 4KSTACKS in some configs or
CFLAGS cause permanently segfaults at bootup?( now I only got -O3 -march=athlon-xp and -pipe as custom CFLAGS...)
Can't test the ati option of io_remap_page range before I get this done.


Tiger.


Last edited by Tiger683 on Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evil Dark Archon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 562
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LordArthas wrote:
It doesn't work here on my AMD64 (I upgraded from, and then fell-back to, 2.6.9-nitro2). With the same configuration it hangs at boot time after 20 or 30 lines of reports. The last 3 lines are:

Code:

ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x9F0 ctl 0xBF2 bmdma 0xDC00 irq 11
ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x970 ctl 0xB72 bmdma 0xDC08 irq 11
ata3: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/133, 240119615 sectors:


After this, it just hangs there. I guess there's some problem with SATA. With 2.6.9-nitro2 I get this:

Code:

ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x9F0 ctl 0xBF2 bmdma 0xDC00 irq 11
ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0x970 ctl 0xB72 bmdma 0xDC08 irq 11
ata3: dev 0 cfg 49:2f00 82:7c6b 83:7b09 84:4003 85:7c68 86:3a01 87:4003 88:407f
ata3: dev 0 ATA, max UDMA/133, 240119615 sectors:


and then of course booting continues. Output is identical except for the third line, which is missing when booting with 2.6.10-nitro4.

Thanks, M.

unfortunately i've had that problem with a number of custom kernel patchsets, the only one i don't have the problem on is gentoo-dev-sources with staircase patched on top by myself. I haven't checked -mm though.
_________________
This post has been over explained for newb-informing purposes.

Registered Linux user 347334
Abit AV8-3rd eye, AMD Athlon64 3500+ 90nm, ATI Radeon x850 pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5350
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# last one for >2gig ftp.
CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe -mtune=athlon-xp  -fomit-frame-pointer -falign-functions=64
 -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64"

### readded 22.10.2004 + new ldflags
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}  -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
LDFLAGS="$LDFLAGS -Wl,-O1"


seems perfect here, no sound glitches mplaying mp3 from reiserfs or R4 partitions.

I regard both REGPARM or 4KSTACKS as def no-nos.


8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.
Gentoo because I'm a masochist
AthlonXP-M on A7N8X. Portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anir
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I'd like to know how stable this patchset works in a SMP and SMT environment.

Thanks for every answer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darckness, do you condider include a -mm3 version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
discomfitor
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 927
Location: None

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683: I'll put that 16k stacks patch onto the next one if it doesn't cause problems. As for mm versions, I'll put whatever is the newest one into the next release when I do that. Won't be for a few days though.

As for SMT/SMP stuff I run SMT, and I can say that it runs amazingly on this end. Couldn't tell you about SMP though.
_________________
There is no substitute for experience.
Imperfection indicates a lack of effort.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to me that the system got rreeeaaalllyyy more responsive tooo...
reasonable, due to the fact that each thread gets bigger stack attached...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
samonli
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:50 pm    Post subject: radeon DRI Warning Reply with quote

I have a mobile radeon 7500,enable DRI in the kernel.when it complied,it said:
Warning:/lib/modules/2.6.10-nitro4/x11-drm/radeon.ko needs unknown symbol remap_page_range.

and i can't enable dri when i start X.

Please help me .thanks very much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hobbit_HK
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this Nitro has the Reiser4\HT bug?
_________________
- Hobbit HK :)

Don't use stage1\2 tarballs
Do a stage1 install from a stage3 tarball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KoolKam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Ontario,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Patch worked great on my system , upgraded from Nitro 2 , for sure feels a bit more responsive using it through vnc for the desktop mostly so far no problems but have nothing fancy compiled into it either like display drivers and such. I would be interested in trying out the 16k stack patch mentioned above if it was at all stable.

Thanks for another great release !!
_________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Linux Version - 2.6.10-nitro4 enabled and flying high!
GCC Version - 3.4.3 20041125
198MG, PIII600(Coppermine)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tiger683
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 08 Jan 2005
Posts: 1347
Location: Heffner's House

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is VERY stable , breaks nothing so far and applies almost cleanly against notro4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KoolKam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Ontario,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tiger683 wrote:
It is VERY stable , breaks nothing so far and applies almost cleanly against notro4

Great :) What does almost cleanly against nitro 4 mean in how it applies , how do I go about trying this out ,applying this patch?
I tried
#patch -p1 ../patchname.patch

but it didnt seem to patch how do I make it work?

Thanks
_________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Linux Version - 2.6.10-nitro4 enabled and flying high!
GCC Version - 3.4.3 20041125
198MG, PIII600(Coppermine)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum