Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
full duplex?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ThorstenHirsch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:43 am    Post subject: full duplex? Reply with quote

Hi.

I'm not able to set my Happy Meal network interface (eth0) into full duplex mode. It's set to auto-negotiate and detects half duplex. However, the whole net here is full duplex. Setting it manually to full duplex is not possible:
Code:
# ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
        Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
        Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised link modes:  100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Half
        Advertised auto-negotiation: No
        Speed: 100Mb/s
        Duplex: Half
        Port: Twisted Pair
        PHYAD: 0
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
# ethtool -A eth0 autoneg off
Cannot get device pause settings: Operation not supported
# ethtool -s eth0 duplex full
# ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
        Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
        Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised link modes:  100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Half
        Advertised auto-negotiation: No
        Speed: 100Mb/s
        Duplex: Half
        Port: Twisted Pair
        PHYAD: 0
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
# mii-tool -F 100baseTx-FD
SIOCGMIIPHY on 'eth0' failed: Operation not supported
no MII interfaces found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labrador
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 316

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 4:38 pm    Post subject: Need a USE var for Ultra1 Reply with quote

If your machine is an Ultra1 there is a bug patch you
need with your kernel driver for the HME device.

Emerge the kernel source like so:

USE=ultra1 emerge sparc-sources

Other than this, it should be working well. Perhaps it is a switch/hub issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ThorstenHirsch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, it's an Ultra10 and no, the switch is okay for sure.
My kernel is 2.4.27-sparc-r1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
labrador
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 316

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:02 pm    Post subject: try openboot diagnostic? Reply with quote

The HME on my Ultra 60 shows full-duplex, so I think the kernel
can do it. Might be slightly different hardware on the Ultra 10 - I
don't know.

Perhaps you can try the diagnostic from the openboot prom
command.

See here http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-sparc-obpreference.xml?style=printable

Note the section on obdiag (extended diagnostics)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum