gentoo good for running web server?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
idiotprogrammer
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2002 7:40 pm    Post subject: gentoo good for running web server? Reply with quote

I have two machines at home: my workstation has gentoo installed; the other one (my web server) still has red hat. The web server has light traffic, although that could change.

I'm relatively new to gentoo, but I've had experiencing running apache/mysql/zope/php.

I was thinking of upgrading the webserver, either with gentoo or rh. The web server machine must have webmin on it for administration

Is it a good idea to run your home web server on gentoo? why or why not? What are the drawbacks to doing so?

Robert Nagle
www.idiotprogrammer.com
fyerk
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2002 7:46 pm    Post subject: Re: gentoo good for running web server? Reply with quote

idiotprogrammer wrote:

I was thinking of upgrading the webserver, either with gentoo or rh. The web server machine must have webmin on it for administration

Is it a good idea to run your home web server on gentoo? why or why not? What are the drawbacks to doing so?

There's no reason not to. MySQL, Zope, PHP, and Apache are available in Portage, and there's extensive documentation on setting them up if youhave trouble.
Zu`
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2002 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's perfectly possible, ofcourse :)

I'd advise to run the stable branch of portage instead of the unstable branch though. Also run a good & strict firewall if you're planning on opening it to the internet. Also try to keep up to date with the GLSA's (Gentoo Linux Security Announcements)

If you want more security, I'd say don't use linux for servers, but use one of the *BSD's.
lotas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper