Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED DEC31/06!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2014 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure in your /var/log/Xorg.0.log contains that it's using the intel driver.

Run "glxinfo|grep render" and make sure it says that it's using the intel driver, instead of software renderer.

I suspect most likely you emerged things out of order and perhaps your xorg server doesn't know that you have the intel driver available or does not match the driver you compiled... It should show up in the logfile.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2014 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will post all I can tomorrow, as today I learnt what irony is, having a HDD die on you when its doing an incremental back up, which corrupts the backup, so have spent most of the day getting Gentoo back onto the laptop.

a quick glxgears shows about 1120fps, although I am seeing errors about libgl not being able to open i965.so which is strange as I dont have anything that would require that, but as I say I will post everything in the morning
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oddly enough i965 is closer to HD4000 than it is to 915. I'd suggest rebuilding the whole X11 stack especially mesa if your xorg.0.log doesn't show anything special... Also if you've been playing with ATI or nvidia, make sure you have eselect opengl back to xorg-x11...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange, I followed

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Intel

And when I checked the CPU on the intel site and the HD 4000, all said Gen3 so I went with i915.

As I say, I will post as much as I can tomorrow, just to make sure, then should i need to change it to intel i965 and rebuild then it shouldn't be an issue
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You have a 3rd gen "IntelHD" - that much is true, but actually you're "gen7" according to that table. HD4000 is "Ivybridge"...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did see something about gen7 in the logs, I thought that was referring to it being a core i7 - well I will change it to i965 and rebuild every thing, had a feeling it would be user error due to confusion :p

Thats why I love gentoo, it forces you to learn :p

edit: yes i965 seemed to do the trick, I dont see any errors about loading i965.so anywhere now, and glxgears reports 60+fps

Have a few things going on in the back ground so WoW's fps were jumping about from 25 - 60fps, and at least it doesn't tell me my driver is out of date anymore :)
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, ready for Draenor then? :D

Odd, what version of the intel / mesa drivers are you using? I'm using stable amd64 and I get the "driver out of date" warning as well as other players show up all black - though NPCs and self show up just fine.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2014 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I am getting a few slow downs and stuttering when flying, but it is playable, I guess I have a few options,

a) wait until an update helps fix the issue
b) grin and bare it
c) put Windows back on laptop

As to the versions of files

Mesa

Code:
media-libs/mesa-10.3.1  USE="classic dri3 egl gallium gbm llvm nptl vdpau xvmc -bindist -debug -gles1 -gles2 -opencl -openmax -openvg -osmesa -pax_kernel -pic -r600-llvm-compiler (-selinux) -wayland -xa" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" VIDEO_CARDS="i965 intel (-freedreno) -i915 -ilo -nouveau -r100 -r200 -r300 -r600 -radeon -radeonsi -vmware" 7,087 KiB


Intel

Code:
x11-drivers/xf86-video-intel-2.99.916  USE="dri sna udev -debug -glamor -uxa -xvmc" 2,190 KiB

_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few days ago Warlords of Draenor launched.

My ATI fglrx system seems to work just fine. Still occasionally crashes upon login but not during the game.
My Intel systems don't patch (Launcher battle.net application crashes).

I'm not sure why my Intel systems break on Launcher/Battle.net (one is Gnome, other is XFCE). According to some Google searches, some people have gotten it to work...

But after it's patched (I have to rsync from my working fglrx machine or boot windows 7...), other than the blacked out characters (using old models) it seems to work fine. Not quite ready for MC yet (still not 100 yet), I kind of doubt I'll be able to try 40-MC when it debuts on the anniversary.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd, recently b.net Launcher/application stopped working on me. It would give a "windows segfault" when pulling up the main screen. I have heard that disabling dbghelp library in winecfg... but this breaks functionality.

This never worked on my Intel graphics boxes, but now even my ATI box doesn't work.

Anyone have it working still?

I guess I'll have to try a newer version of wine...
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Killerchronic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Apr 2007
Posts: 91
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eccerr0r wrote:
I guess I'll have to try a newer version of wine...


What version you on? Random "it stopped workings" are not always easy to find the source of.

Whats in the new version you want to try that makes you think it will fix the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried wine- 1.7.29 and it did not help - I get a white screen that seems to be running but can't see what's going on with the battle.net launcher.
Anyone figure out what's going on with it?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the new release it seems launcher that comes with 6.1 seems to work a bit better.

In any case, has anyone tried running WoW on a graphics driver other than Intel, nvidia-drivers or ati-drivers? I tried running WoW on a ATI X800XL with xf86-video-radeon and a nVidia G210 with xf86-video-nouveau on a P4 with 1GB RAM (32-bit mode) - both could log into the game but crash a few seconds... Perhaps the P4 system has some problems (however it seems stable) but wondering if anyone is using such setup and had success with it?


Unfortunately the X800 XL and G210 are kind of slow... Not planning to play on it, just see that it works or not :D
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szatox
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Aug 2013
Posts: 1479

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried with legacy radeon, FPS with binary drivers was very low and with open source notplayable. (raiding with addons alone ftw)
With newer GPU (BeaverCreek - no it not very new) things are getting more funny, fglrx usualy gives roughly twice as good FPS as radeon (but ocasionaly radeon gives more), and fglrx pretty often produces artifacts on some textures while radeon crashes X in some locations (making it hard to move away once you get there)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

6.2 is out, still looks OK.
Looks like you have to disable opengl on intel graphics chips in order to use launcher/battle.net client (at least the HD4000 and probably more).

BTW, anyone running WoW on 1GB or less? Is it still viable? Looks not IMHO. Sheesh. bloat.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 6261
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like Blizzard got us again. They want us to enable "Secondary Logon Service" which ...well... doesn't work in Wine :(

I might have to cancel my account until there's a fix...

Anyone found a workaround?


EDIT

Running Launcher again was able to get through the error code. I don't quite understand what happened with that. Perhaps there was a timing problem?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K@ 4.1GHz/HD3000 graphics/8GB DDR3/180GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bangerbros
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2015 5:14 pm    Post subject: low FPS Wow + wine 1.7.51 Reply with quote

Hi all !

I'm playing Wow 6.6.2 with Wine.1.7.51, after a couple of hours trying to fix crashes. I'm finally able to play to the game, but the FPS is still low, very low.

my terminal command :
wine telechargement/World of Warcraft Setup.exe -opengl (it launches the Battle.net interface)

wincfg Librairies:
d3dx9_39, dbghelp, msvcp100, msvcp90, msvcr90 (all in native and builin)

Make.conf :
Intel i965

4GB memory and Core2duo 2,26Ghz 32 bits Gentoo (I know my config is Ok, I used to play Wow with a core2duo 1,3 Ghz and 3 Gb of RAM and it was working very well with wine on Zenwalk)

glxgears :
6399 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1279.664 FPS

glxinfo :
direct rendering: Yes
GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent, GLX_MESA_query_renderer,
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Mobile Intel® GM45 Express Chipset x86/MMX/SSE2
GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_conditional_render, GL_NV_depth_clamp,
GL_OES_element_index_uint, GL_OES_fbo_render_mipmap,

I don't how, but with the same version of wine, the game worked well, but just only once. I tried to modify the Config.wtf with the famous line about OpenGL but it makes the game crash. The game is still downloading while i'm playing so i don't know if it can be the cause of my problem. But in windows i don't get this.

Sorry for my english, but i hope you'll understand and help me. Thank you in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 39045
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This topic has been split and locked due to it reaching the forums size limit.
The sticky bit has been moved to the continuation thread too.

Please continue discussions at World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED 2016 Edition
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 28, 29, 30
Page 30 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum