Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
World Of Warcraft Support UPDATED DEC31/06!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 28, 29, 30  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or download directly here.
The link comes from the gentoo-wiki page.
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

autosave wrote:
Link for download ?

Are you trying to beat a record... "too lazy to read 2 posts above" ?

2 posts above yours = 3 above this one... I know, I know it's on another page so it involved an additionnal click !!
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phillyplayer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:00 pm    Post subject: Wow server help Reply with quote

Does anyone know how to find out when the realms and servers are up. I can never find out. thanks for the help.?


Phillyplayer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

www.worldofwarcraft.com/realmstatus
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ater
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed WoW everything seems to be working fine except the toolbars/quick buttions across the bottom of the screen are all overlaping and black, resulting in myself not being able to know which button is which and unable to click most of them
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it that problem ?
http://transgaming.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6912
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ater
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. Thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johanseg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just tried to get wow 2.01 to work under wine 0.9.27 and just about everything works just fine, except one thing ( of course ). When I rotate the camera the fps drops to 5-10 and then goes back up to 40-45.
_________________
/Johan

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?
Blog | screenshots
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cthulhu666
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have another problem:

After running WoW with wine 0.9.19 for quite a while with no apparent problems, I recently upgraded to wine 0.9.26 with no problems. Then the new 2.0.1 patch came and while I was at it, I upgraded wine to 0.9.27. All of a sudden problems started appearing. Sound is rather choppy and WoW freezes completely every know and then to the point where I have to "kill -9" it. I've tried downgrading to wine 0.9.26, but the problem persists.

Has anyone else had any problems with WoW 2.0.1?

I guess, I won't spend too much time on it, since I'm in the process of building a new machine (Core 2 Duo E6600, Asus P5B/Deluxe, 2GB 800MHz CL4 and an nVidia 7950GT GFX card) and hopefully by then my problems have gone away.

Oh well, just wondering if anyone has had similar issues...

---
Current specs: AthlonXP 2500+@3200+ (Barton), Abit NF7S-V2.0, 1GB, nVidia 5900

EDIT: Come to think of it, I think I actually set sound to ALSA in winecfg after upgrading to 0.9.27. I'll try and set it back to OSS again and see if that changes anything.
_________________
A certified Gentoo lover!
Got 4 Gentoo boxes (2 desktops, 1 laptop and a server/MythTV HTPC).

Bought a computer bundled with windows? Don't want to use windows? Demand a refund!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikshaar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Posts: 1339
Location: Baltimore, MD

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check also that you still have the two lines in WTF/Config file for sound buffer.
_________________
"May God stands between you and harm in all the empty places where you must walk" - Babylon 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cthulhu666
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikshaar wrote:
Check also that you still have the two lines in WTF/Config file for sound buffer.

I haven't checked the config file, since I haven't edited it recently and I doubt the 2.0.1 patch did either.

I just tried changing the sound driver to OSS in winecfg and starting WoW with aoss yesterday evening. It may just have been a coincidence, but I think it ran noticably better. I didn't have time for a thorough test, but for now it seems fine.

I'll bear this in mind, when I get around to installing wine and WoW on my new hardware.
_________________
A certified Gentoo lover!
Got 4 Gentoo boxes (2 desktops, 1 laptop and a server/MythTV HTPC).

Bought a computer bundled with windows? Don't want to use windows? Demand a refund!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. I might try dual-booting again in the near future
to try to get it working. Keep up the good work and enjoy your stay in
Azeroth (and soon Outland) all ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
legine
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2004
Posts: 555
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alternatively, you can search for the WoW Beta Version. I have somewhere the links.
Thats great if you want a clean english version vor example but own (enter your country language here).
If interested I can search the links. I have them somewhere, and update from there.
Works great :)
_________________
quote from Spaceballs:
Dark Helmet:[...] we were told to comb the desert, so we're combing it! [puts down bullhorn] Find anything yet?!
Soldier: Nothing yet, sir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone running wine with optimized cflags for some extra performance?

I changed the wine build to include these:
Code:

append-flags -march=athlon64 -O2 -combine -msse3 -pipe -ftracer -ftree-vectorize -ffast-math -fweb -frename-registers -maccumulate-outgoing-args -floop-optimize2 -fgcse-after-reload


But I haven't done any performance testing. I know some performance tweaks are very situational, so it depends on the code it's tweaking, anyone done any real testing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i ran WoW under cedega in opengl mode prior to the 2.0 patch, so it was comparable to Wine`s approarch.
after 2.0 WoW introduced a lot of opengl tweaks targetting to increase performance on OSX.
apparently these tweaks have a rather negative impact on wine and its derivates.

So i switched since than to directX usage under cedega, where the peak framerate is lower than it used to be in opengl, but
its aloways nice and fluffy. the only way (but perfectly OK) to play 2.0 patch right now for me.
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nirax wrote:
i ran WoW under cedega in opengl mode prior to the 2.0 patch, so it was comparable to Wine`s approarch.
after 2.0 WoW introduced a lot of opengl tweaks targetting to increase performance on OSX.
apparently these tweaks have a rather negative impact on wine and its derivates.

So i switched since than to directX usage under cedega, where the peak framerate is lower than it used to be in opengl, but
its aloways nice and fluffy. the only way (but perfectly OK) to play 2.0 patch right now for me.


I haven't gotten any performance problems after 2.0... I've actually compared it with my brother (who's using windows) and I'm getting 1-2 fps less than him on near identical systems using wine + opengl in linux.

That said, I REALLY wish blizzard had ported the multi threaded opengl stuff to the windows build so we could use it in wine. They are saying as much as 2x fps on dual core systems on mac, would have been lovely :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes youre right, the opengl changes were applied to the mac client only.

actually as long i dont move the camera around the character the fps rate under opengl is like you experience comparable with windows. since 2.0 patch however when i turn the camera fast around the character, or look fast around, it becomes very stuttering, and comes down to 1-5 fps.
This used to be no issue at all pre-2.0 patch also under opengl.
I read here but also in other forums (transgaming, wine, xoffice) of ppl encountering the same opengl issue here
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nirax wrote:
yes youre right, the opengl changes were applied to the mac client only.

actually as long i dont move the camera around the character the fps rate under opengl is like you experience comparable with windows. since 2.0 patch however when i turn the camera fast around the character, or look fast around, it becomes very stuttering, and comes down to 1-5 fps.
This used to be no issue at all pre-2.0 patch also under opengl.
I read here but also in other forums (transgaming, wine, xoffice) of ppl encountering the same opengl issue here


did you add the DisableExtensions registry key correctly? It changed location in the registry recently, and a lot of people have been complaining about similar performance issues when not having that key.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ankur
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:00 am    Post subject: Test Reply with quote

[b]I want to know how it works[/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
otherside
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cthulhu666 wrote:

I haven't checked the config file, since I haven't edited it recently and I doubt the 2.0.1 patch did either.


Don't assume anything! make the file read-only if you don't want WoW changing it.

nirax, use the DisabledExtensions hack, there's something fishy in the WoW VBO code, or wine, or the linux drivers.. (btw, which ones are you using?). I tried to track it down, but without the WoW source that's rather difficult :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cthulhu666
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2004
Posts: 195

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

otherside wrote:
Cthulhu666 wrote:

I haven't checked the config file, since I haven't edited it recently and I doubt the 2.0.1 patch did either.


Don't assume anything! make the file read-only if you don't want WoW changing it.

As I mentioned, I'm in the process of building a new machine. Therefore I will re-install everything shortly, so this is actually a non-issue for me at the moment. But I think I'll check whether the 2.0.1 update randomly decided to alter my settings just out of pure curiosity. :wink:
_________________
A certified Gentoo lover!
Got 4 Gentoo boxes (2 desktops, 1 laptop and a server/MythTV HTPC).

Bought a computer bundled with windows? Don't want to use windows? Demand a refund!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 3:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Test Reply with quote

A few things, when 2.0.1 was released I had some issues before I wiped my WTF directory in the wow dir, make a backup of your WTF/Config.wtf file (you can also remove WDB, it's deprecated).

a bug in 2.0.1 causes it to ignore caching if the cache directory is not present, so make it manually:
mkdir -p Cache/WDB/enGB (enGB is obviuslly for the english version).

Ankur wrote:
I want to know how it works


for a nice performance tweak see: http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=5606 and the DisabledExtensions key.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no i did not added that registry key when trying opengl out.
as i wrote im using cedega, so you have

1) no regedit.exe shipped with cedega
2) beside WINE\\Crypto there is nothing related to wine in user.reg (if i would chose to edit manually (eG: vim))
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nirax wrote:
no i did not added that registry key when trying opengl out.
as i wrote im using cedega, so you have

1) no regedit.exe shipped with cedega
2) beside WINE\\Crypto there is nothing related to wine in user.reg (if i would chose to edit manually (eG: vim))


in my experience wine is a LOT faster than cedega. But it depends on hardware I believe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i will try it out and report here my findings about hardware used and performance comparation to cedega.
where is the most actual how-to running wow under wine ?
the one on the front page of this forum-entry seems quite outdated
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gamers & Players All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 11 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum