Misc install problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
simulacrum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:12 am    Post subject: Misc install problems Reply with quote

As a background, I've been using Slackware for the past several years and am pretty familiar with Linux. I've heard a lot of good things about Gentoo, and decided to give it a try, but have ran into problem after problem. I'm not willing to give up that easily, so I'm here for your help. I'm accustomed to doing everything myself, ie: get the source, compile and configure. The emerge system that Gentoo uses is new to me, so I'm a bit aprehensive letting it do everything for me.

I've gone through the installation and now have a working base system, not without troubles of course. I did have problems with Grub, which I've resolved. I've used vanilla-sources, gentoo-sources, and I've also downloaded kernel 2.4.19, all with the same results as described below. Currently, I'm having problems getting my mouse and video card working.

I have a Microsoft USB Intellimouse. Now, I've configured this mouse numerous times with various distributions and I know how to do this. I've got USB HID support and Mouse support in Input Core enabled in the kernel. tail -f /var/log/messages shows the kernel noticing when I unplug and plug the mouse in. Everything looks good. When I cat /dev/input/mice, no dice. I tried recreating the device via "mknod /dev/input/mice2 c 13 63" with the same results. Now, were the kernel not seeing the mouse, if I were to cat the device, it would say there was no such device. But it's not saying anything. It just sits there as if I were not moving the mouse. When I cat the mouse, it should return garbage when I move the mouse around.