Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Kernel is cool, but I still can't do wireless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PeteyG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 6:11 am    Post subject: Kernel is cool, but I still can't do wireless Reply with quote

I just got a Netgear WG511 PCMCIA 802.11g card for my laptop (Dell Inspiron 8200). I've got a fresh 2.6.9 dev-sources kernel running, the prism54 driver module is loading perfect, and I am just on the very tip of getting this whole wireless thing working.

But I'm stuck.

I've got my wireless showing up as eth2. iwconfig reports that I can see one of the local wireless networks. So I know that I am just a few pesky configs away from wireless Linux.

The problem is, I can't seem to get eth2 to do the whole "get an IP address" thing, which is pretty important.

I've followed the instructions in this Netgear wg511 install guide, and I've followed (or tried to) this Wireless configuration the Gentoo way... but the second was not helpful AT ALL.

So pretty much, I have no clue what to do.

Here's what I know I've done, configuration-wise:

I've symlinked /etc/init.d/net.eth2 to net.eth0
I've added eth2="dhcp" to /etc/conf.d/net

But when I take down eth0, and try and ./net.eth2 start... it chokes for 10 seconds, and then fails to get an IP address.

Here's what my iwconfig spits out:
Code:

lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

eth1      no wireless extensions.

eth2      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:"linksys"
          Mode:Master  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:09:5B:E9:4A:60
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=31 dBm   Sensitivity=20/200
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality:114  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


Can anyone help a bewildered n00b through the final yard, here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bharain
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does your access point have encryption enabled? if so run:

Code:

iwconfig eth2 key <key>


then try bring up the interface
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeteyG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The particular access point that I was using, "linksys", belongs to some other guy who doesn't have encryption enabled. I can access it fine in Windows.

One of the problems is that I cannot figure out, even after poring over man files for hours, how to find a list of local access points and whether or not they require an encryption key.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeteyG wrote:
The particular access point that I was using, "linksys", belongs to some other guy who doesn't have encryption enabled. I can access it fine in Windows.


If you use baselayout-1.11.6-r1 or newer, it should connect to AP's broadcasting their ESSID without any encryption by default.

Quote:

One of the problems is that I cannot figure out, even after poring over man files for hours, how to find a list of local access points and whether or not they require an encryption key.


iwlist eth1 scan
Code:

eth1      Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: 00:0C:76:70:79:B0
                    ESSID:"Uber NET"
                    Mode:Master
                    Encryption key:on
                    Channel:11
                    Quality:6/0  Signal level:-44 dBm  Noise level:-50 dBm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeteyG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have that version of baselayout installed. Is there anything that I need to do beyond just having it installed?

re: iwlist eth1 scan

Awesome!! That is exactly one of the things that I need to know. Is there a simple walkthrough that walks a person through how to connect to a wireless network using the command line? I've poked around, but everything I find has to do with hardware+drivers, or is a man page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeteyG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I've commented out a line from my /etc/conf.d/wireless file which I added thinking that was the proper way to configure it.

I had previously had the line "essid_eth2="any", but I commented that out and I was able to get an ip address from a local unsecured network.

Code:

abraxas init.d # ./net.eth2 start
 * Starting eth2
 *    Configuring wireless network for eth2
 *       eth2 connected to "linksys" at 00:0C:41:A8:C7:A8
 *       in managed mode on channel 6 (WEP disabled)
 *    Bringing up eth2
 *       eth2 dhcp
 *          Running dhcpcd ...                                            [ ok ]
 *          eth2 received address 192.168.1.103
abraxas init.d #   


But!! When I ping http://www.google.com, or try to access any web sites, I do not seem to be able to access anything. The same wireless networks work fine on my Windows XP install.

It feels like I'm getting really close here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paladin-zero
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 322

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is a script I run to get wireless working:

Code:
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
iwconfig wlan0 essid ether
iwconfig wlan0 key s:12345 #Thats amazing, I have the same combination on my luggage
iwlist wlan0 scan
dhcpcd wlan0


I have an Inspiron 8500, with a dell truemobile 1400 card. I run the following modules:
pcmcia_core
ds
yenta_socket
ndiswrapper

ndiswrapper interfaces with the windows based driver for my card, you dont need it. Maybe this will give you some fresh ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeteyG wrote:

Code:

 *          Running dhcpcd ...                                            [ ok ]
 *          eth2 received address 192.168.1.103



Excellent - we are configured!

Quote:

But!! When I ping http://www.google.com, or try to access any web sites, I do not seem to be able to access anything. The same wireless networks work fine on my Windows XP install.

It feels like I'm getting really close here!


Boooo!

It maybe a routing issue or something. Are any other network cards active?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeteyG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 8:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing else is active. I can ping 192.168.1.1, but nothing else.

Also, there is some weirdness with my wireless card... it seems to take over eth0 when I start with it in the computer, and it doesn't seem to work anymore on eth2. But that's not such a huge problem, really, I guess. I can worry about that once I can sip coffee in some shop with my laptop, and post questions to the forums here.

Code:

abraxas init.d # iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth1      no wireless extensions.

eth2      no wireless extensions.

eth0      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:"linksys"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:0C:41:A8:C7:A8
          Bit Rate:2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=31 dBm   Sensitivity=20/200
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality=176/0  Signal level=-80 dBm  Noise level=-48 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

    
    
abraxas init.d # ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:09:5B:E9:4A:60
          inet addr:192.168.1.106  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:29 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:55 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:9462 (9.2 Kb)  TX bytes:8478 (8.2 Kb)
          Interrupt:11

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:200 (200.0 b)  TX bytes:200 (200.0 b)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2004 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeteyG wrote:
Also, there is some weirdness with my wireless card... it seems to take over eth0 when I start with it in the computer, and it doesn't seem to work anymore on eth2. But that's not such a huge problem, really, I guess. I can worry about that once I can sip coffee in some shop with my laptop, and post questions to the forums here.


If it's connecting to the same network (or even the same network-ip style) then you're correct.

I think the wireless is working exactly how it's should - and possibly the networking as well. I also think you're abit unsure about routing issues - I'm not too hot on routing myself, so hopefully someone can jump in here.

As an idea, shut down ALL network cards and then start wireless. If wireless works AND you can ping something via wireless. If the internet is "not working" then it's NOT a wireless issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PeteyG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2003
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well awesome. I guess I'll dive into some general Gentoo docs on network connections, and maybe something will turn up.

Thanks for your guys's help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum