Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eskarel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Perth Australia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the release notes this kernel is supposed to have the patch which fixes the nmap issue. I've been testing some various things to see if that same issue is related to the problems I've been having with, well azureus in particularl. They both heavily use the same kernel methods I would assume.

Well I've tested the nmap crash with this kernel and it still dies, at least with a preemptable kernel. 2.6.10-mm2 doesn't(which is what I'm currently testing) so the problem has been fixed, but 2.6.10 has the no binary drivers BS in it.

Could someone who knows more about deep kernel magic check this out for me. The patch doesn't seem to be working or else for some reason it's not installing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clent
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sibov wrote:

My solution was to connect via ssh from an other system and to
reemerge me nvidia-kernel and a restart.


I've got an ati card, with the kernel built-in driver (no ati-drivers, otherwise i won't have 3d accel under xorg 6.8) :/

Quote:

please make sure your symlink in /usr/src/linux --points-to->> linux-2.6.9-nitro2


This one is already ok.

Thx however, i might try to use ati-drivers just to see if xorg launches or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stalcair
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 2:16 pm    Post subject: Re: to all those with reiser4 lockups Reply with quote

eean wrote:

Yes, something like this, except I don't use ReiserFS 4 (I do have a couple of ReiserFS 3 partitions). And while SSH does not work, the num lock key and LED do work, which is kind of odd. Generally if there's a full on kernel panic that breaks SSH, the num lock light does not work either.

It seems to happen while the system is multitasking under heavy load.


Well, after switching my Reiser4 partitions to ext3 and trying for a few days with no Reiser4 compiled in or as module, I am noticing improvement. My box appears to actually run faster overall, something I didn't anticipate. OpenOffice (always has been on a ext3 partition) loads considerably faster and I haven't yet had a runaway process forcing a hard reboot. (btw, my advice is to enable the magic key debugging, I intend on using that to more gently reboot my system in the future, that is something that could use a place in the docs IMHO)

You have a very odd situation... however, are you sure that SSH is actually not working or is timing out? With 2 of my boxes (one has never had reiser4) that display this problem, I really can't do anything once those processes hit 99.9. All remote and local login attempts fail, however if I am still in the box remote or local then I can do whatever I want. Granted if it is anything but type echo "this is not cool" then it does not respond. If I run a ps aux (or just about anything else) it freezes attempting I assume to run that process through the gauntlet of 99.9 % CPU utilization procs. Only because I have tested runing a grep -iR at /usr/src/linux but with a very high nice level and I could later run ps if the grep I ran was the offending process.

And any attempt to kill it (<CTRL><D> or <CTRL><Z>) does nothing. If I am in another session and I kill or kill -9 that process it does nothing. When the opportunity has been available I noticed that the process where always R. I have yet to see a S, Z or D.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goya13
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 8:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, love the patchset!

I just have a quick question about the alsa snapshot - is it stable, anything new in there and where can I get more info about it?
I just wanna know if the kernel upgrade I just made to nitro2 is the reason why my sound went kaput.

Thanks a bunch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcoulman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Maui

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:01 pm    Post subject: Azureus et al. BT clients Reply with quote

Eskarel wrote:
According to the release notes this kernel is supposed to have the patch which fixes the nmap issue. I've been testing some various things to see if that same issue is related to the problems I've been having with, well azureus in particularl.


I'll confim this: Azureus works great with -nitro1, Azureus, or any other BT client for that matter, crashes within a few moments of starting a download on -nitro2.

I don't have any of the reported issues with nvidia drivers, xorg start up, the alsa snapshot, vesafb-tng, or splash on -nitro2. All work like in -nitro1.

Anyone got a clue on the download thing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hinken
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I use sun - jdk 1.5 (5.0) and I have no problem using azureus with this kernel.
1.5 breaks a lot of other things(rhino,log4j) but azureus works dandy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcoulman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Sep 2002
Posts: 34
Location: Maui

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 10:02 pm    Post subject: Azureus et al. BT clients Reply with quote

hinken wrote:
Well, I use sun - jdk 1.5 (5.0) and I have no problem using azureus with this kernel.
1.5 breaks a lot of other things(rhino,log4j) but azureus works dandy!


Azureus "works," but it can't download. Other BT clients aren't all java either. Try reading for content.

This seems to be a hw issue. I'm building -nitro2 on another machine, with a different nic, to test.

Azureus, at least, seems fine on the RTL-8139 nic on my notebook with -nitro2. It crashes after a few seconds of downloading on a nVidia Corporation nForce2 Ethernet Controller (rev a1) [forcedeth kernel module] on -nitro2 on the desktop machine (Asus AMD NForce2 MB).

Others who have reported this problem please chime in with your hw to help isolate the bug. :)


Last edited by mcoulman on Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hermes_jr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 702
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys, please take a look at my nitro prob :oops:. I can't find anything similar to this in forums...
_________________
registered linux user #347998, киботеизм во веки веков
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Apexman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-ac6 patch (some things cuted)
staircase-9.0 to 9.1 for -nitro2
staircase-9.0 to 9.1 for -nitro2 with swsusp2
Sorry, direct links not supported :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eskarel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Perth Australia

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can temporary fix Azureus by cranking max connects down to 100 and max connect per torrent down to 30 and only running a few torrents at a time, it's reasonably stable then.

Still crashed in mm-sources though, so whatever it is is either my network card or some still as yet unpatched kernel problem. I try to get sysrq outputs, but the only the print doesn't seem to work, I can unmount and sync(I think) and boot(I know) but that seems to be about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, I still can't use vesafb-tng
the error msg of dmesg about vesafb are:
Code:

Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: NVidia Corporation, NV11 Board, Chip Rev B2 (OEM: NVidia)
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: VBE version: 3.0
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:c650
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00cc695, set palette = c00cc71a
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: pmi: ports = b4c3 b503 ba03 c003 c103 c403 c503 c603 c703 c803 c903 cc03 ce03 cf03 d003 d103 d203 d303 d403 d503 da03 ff03
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: hardware supports DCC2 transfers
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: monitor limits: vf = 160 Hz, hf = 92 kHz, clk = 190 MHz
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: scrolling: redraw
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: cannot reserve video memory at 0x0
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: abort, cannot ioremap video memory 0x0 @ 0x0
Nov  7 18:20:54 wayne vesafb: probe of vesafb0 failed with error -5

_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdkbx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apexman wrote:
-ac6 patch (some things cuted)
staircase-9.0 to 9.1 for -nitro2
staircase-9.0 to 9.1 for -nitro2 with swsusp2
Sorry, direct links not supported :oops:


nice dude, no xmms skipping anymore, everything seems stable so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l0tus_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not sure what to make of this error
Code:
  CHK     include/linux/version.h
make[1]: `arch/i386/kernel/asm-offsets.s' is up to date.
  CHK     include/asm-i386/asm_offsets.h
  CHK     include/linux/compile.h
dnsdomainname: Unknown host
  CC      arch/i386/kernel/process.o
include/linux/dcache.h: In function `dget':
include/linux/dcache.h:276: warning: asm operand 1 probably doesn't match constraints
include/linux/dcache.h: In function `dget_parent':
include/linux/dcache.h:276: warning: asm operand 1 probably doesn't match constraints
include/linux/fs.h: In function `simple_transaction_set':
include/linux/fs.h:1704: warning: asm operand 1 probably doesn't match constraints
include/asm/fixmap.h: In function `virt_to_fix':
include/asm/fixmap.h:151: warning: asm operand 1 probably doesn't match constraints
include/linux/mm.h: In function `put_page':
include/linux/mm.h:318: warning: asm operand 1 probably doesn't match constraints
arch/i386/kernel/process.c: In function `release_thread':
arch/i386/kernel/process.c:343: warning: asm operand 1 probably doesn't match constraints
arch/i386/kernel/process.c:343: error: impossible constraint in `asm'
make[1]: *** [arch/i386/kernel/process.o] Error 1
make: *** [arch/i386/kernel] Error 2


tryring to make nitro2, can anyone help me out with what these errors might be reffering to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l0tus_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Nov 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Nov 07, 2004 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed. turns out it was the -fforce-addr CFLAG i was using that was causing the problem. i use a pentium3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2099
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

im curious, why do 4kb stacks have to be disabled in order to use reiser4? and whats the difference between 4kb and 8kb stacks?
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2726
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

apexman has got some ideas about how to get software suspend 2 to work with latest nvidia driver from within X. I can confirm that the preliminary tests suggest that it works. go here if you are interested in suspend:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=247704&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grzewho
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Dec 2002
Posts: 626
Location: /home/g

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the compilation went fine for me, the kernel boots perfectly, xorg starts, but dies when running fullscreen glx-based xscreensaver modules. the windowed glx apps work perfectly. i`m using latest nvidia, which built fine

any hints ?
_________________
Code:
USE="freedom -software_patents" emerge --deep --update world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crazor
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.gc-linux.org/down/isobel/kexec/2.6.9/

there you get a kexec patch for 2.6.9 which applies to nitro sources. only thing that failed was some insert prior to swsusp2 code because the patch looked for swsusp1, but with common sense and no coding experience in C i applied it by hand.
should be integrated in the next nitro, kexec is really nice (start new kernel, i.e. reboot without going through bios post). search bugzilla for init script etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randomguy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Oct 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone help me with my problem?

When I try to boot it gets stuck / stops at "Calculating module dependences", no matter how long I wait, it won't go past...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimbulvetr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Location: South Dakota

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys, been using nitro for quite some time but this is the first time I've tried the cisco vpn client. Anyone sucessfully using this?

Here's what I get on modprobe:
Code:

divert: not allocating divert_blk for non-ethernet device cipsec0
Cisco Systems VPN Client Version 4.6.00 (0045) kernel module loaded


Here is what I get when I do "vpnclient connect foo":

Code:
Badness in local_bh_enable at kernel/softirq.c:141
 [<b0121f29>] local_bh_enable+0x89/0x90
 [<d0bcff0d>] handle_vpnup+0x9d/0x1e0 [cisco_ipsec]
 [<d0bcfcac>] interceptor_ioctl+0x15c/0x160 [cisco_ipsec]
 [<b0542e04>] dev_ifsioc+0x374/0x3e0
 [<b0543035>] dev_ioctl+0x1c5/0x320
 [<b0538497>] sock_ioctl+0x277/0x290
 [<b017fa0a>] sys_ioctl+0xca/0x230
 [<b0114e80>] do_page_fault+0x0/0x5bf
 [<b01052a1>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
Badness in local_bh_enable at kernel/softirq.c:141
 [<b0121f29>] local_bh_enable+0x89/0x90
 [<b05407df>] dev_remove_pack+0xf/0x20
 [<d0bcff64>] handle_vpnup+0xf4/0x1e0 [cisco_ipsec]
 [<d0bcfcac>] interceptor_ioctl+0x15c/0x160 [cisco_ipsec]
 [<b0542e04>] dev_ifsioc+0x374/0x3e0
 [<b0543035>] dev_ioctl+0x1c5/0x320
 [<b0538497>] sock_ioctl+0x277/0x290
 [<b017fa0a>] sys_ioctl+0xca/0x230
 [<b0114e80>] do_page_fault+0x0/0x5bf
 [<b01052a1>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb
bad: scheduling while atomic!
 [<b05c67dc>] schedule+0x42c/0x440
 [<b05c68d8>] wait_for_completion+0x78/0xd0
 [<b01199c0>] default_wake_function+0x0/0x20
 [<b012e95e>] __kernel_text_address+0x2e/0x40
 [<b01199c0>] default_wake_function+0x0/0x20
 [<b01057b8>] show_trace+0x58/0xa0
 [<b012e452>] synchronize_kernel+0x32/0x3a
 [<b01058bc>] dump_stack+0x1c/0x20
 [<b012e410>] wakeme_after_rcu+0x0/0x10
 [<b05407df>] dev_remove_pack+0xf/0x20
 [<d0bcff64>] handle_vpnup+0xf4/0x1e0 [cisco_ipsec]
 [<d0bcfcac>] interceptor_ioctl+0x15c/0x160 [cisco_ipsec]
 [<b0542e04>] dev_ifsioc+0x374/0x3e0
 [<b0543035>] dev_ioctl+0x1c5/0x320
 [<b0538497>] sock_ioctl+0x277/0x290
 [<b017fa0a>] sys_ioctl+0xca/0x230
 [<b0114e80>] do_page_fault+0x0/0x5bf
 [<b01052a1>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb


Any suggestions?

Thanks

fim
_________________
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fimbulvetr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Feb 2004
Posts: 51
Location: South Dakota

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

randomguy wrote:
Can anyone help me with my problem?

When I try to boot it gets stuck / stops at "Calculating module dependences", no matter how long I wait, it won't go past...


Rebuild your kernel, do make, make modules_install and make install.

Might be a corrupt/missing module or something.
_________________
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grzewho
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Dec 2002
Posts: 626
Location: /home/g

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

or run modules-update manually to see it`s effects
_________________
Code:
USE="freedom -software_patents" emerge --deep --update world
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mojo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@fimbulvetr

I am using the latest nitro-sources and have no problems running the cisco vpn client 4.0.4 B. I am sorry but I can't help you. I never had this problem with cisco...
_________________
Hat der alte Hexenmeister sich doch einmal wegbegeben
Und nun sollen seine Geister auch nach meinem willen leben
Seine Wort und Werke merkt ich und den Brauch
Und mit Geistestaerke tu ich wunder auch
-Goethe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pepek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 313
Location: Tarnowskie Góry - Poland - Europe

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all !
As I read in this topic is problem with win4lin and software-suspend 2 with nitro2. I read that win4lin + nitro2 works fine, swsusp2 + nitro2 works fine too, but win4lin + swsusp2 + nitro2 doesn't compile. So I've made some patch for that problems. This patch include software_suspend-2.1.2 and win4lin. It's now work fine for me with fbsplash and vesafb-tng, but I don't use win4lin and swsusp, so I don't test that and this post is request for tests. You can download patch here : http://www.pepek.neostrada.pl/software_suspend-2.1.2-and-win4lin3-for-2.6.9-nitro2.tar.bz2 and this is archive with software_suspend directory and patch is in that directory. For patch your 2.6.9-nitro2 kernel try sth like this :
Code:
cd /usr/src/linux
patch -p1 <path_to_patch


Cheers. 8)
_________________
For Polish users :
$ man mas
Nie ma strony manuala dla mas
For Other users :
Sorry for my english, I know it's bad, but I think it's at least understandable ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chaotix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 2:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmmmm.... Nitro-2
_________________
Don't you love the smell of warm hard drives in the morning?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 7 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum