Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chunderbunny
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 1281
Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phlogiston. wrote:
Phlogiston. wrote:
Hello, where is the bt8xx video driver? I need it.


No clue? I thougt that this driver is normally also in the vanilla sources?

from: http://linux.bytesex.org/v4l2/bttv.html

Quote:

bttv 0.9.x

This is the current, actively maintained version of the bttv driver. It supports the v4l2 API and is included in the 2.6.x kernels.


Am I blind or is the bttv driver really no in it?


I grepped the cofig file for "BT" and could only come up with the BT878 audio driver. It looksl ike the bt8xx video driver really is missing :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... tried different things. Right now I have Hyperthreading on... but SMP (and preempt) disabled in the kernel. All is working fine. My only guess is that its something with the SMP and Hyperthreading stuff... or maybe one of... dunno....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
s4kk3
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 232
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just updated to nitro2 and now my keyboard doesn't work. When I boot back to nitro1 keyboard works fine. What did I forgot in kernel?
_________________
My own filemanager project
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Re: 2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings" Reply with quote

Anybody got cdrecord or related apps like k3b working with this? I have the usual "Cannot allocate memory. Cannot get SCSI I/O buffer" problem, despite

Quote:
cddvd-cmdfilter-drop.patch | Allows to use cdrecord as non-root


2.6.8.1-ck9 burns like a champ, but not 2.6.9-nitro1 and 2. It's really anoying to reboot everytime I want to burn a CD...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LittleGreenMan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Location: Moscow,Russia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I grepped the cofig file for "BT" and could only come up with the BT878 audio driver. It looksl ike the bt8xx video driver really is missing Confused

try to replace file /patch-to-kernel/drivers/medis/video/Kconfig from other kernel (for me working file from 2.6.8.1-nitro6)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxpayne
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:38 pm    Post subject: lockups... Reply with quote

i think too that the lockup issue is due to rfs4 w/ SMP (w/ or w/o HT) enabled. i had that issue since... not sure, but since many kernel versions of 2.6. just an hour ago it happened to me when i compiled the new nitro w/ SMP enabled - once my sys does a bit of rfs4 scrathing, it comes to a complete halt and my notebook throws flames (all fans start turning, including the one built into the power supply) and magic-keys won't do anything anymore. the same is true w/ HT enabled.
in up mode (preempt and all the other opts enabled) the system runs fine (so far, and i guess that won't change).

my root is still rfs3, and i was just playing a few days ago w/ converting it to rfs4, but until the rfs4+mp issue is fixed i'll leave my fingers from doing so. my biggest partition, used for all my important data, is rfs4 and i can't live w/o it, so not using rfs4 and turning on mp is no opt for me at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now, I have the nitro2 kernel with SMP disbaled, but HT enabled (basiclly no affect on linux). I'm gonna enable preempt in a few mins, but as of right now, its been up all day and stable. so it seems it is a issue with the HT stuff....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxpayne
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no it's not just w/ HT - it's the combination of MP (SMP or HT) plus Reiser4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pepek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 313
Location: Tarnowskie Góry - Poland - Europe

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:57 pm    Post subject: Re: 2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings" Reply with quote

HermesConrad wrote:
Anybody got cdrecord or related apps like k3b working with this? I have the usual "Cannot allocate memory. Cannot get SCSI I/O buffer" problem, despite

Quote:
cddvd-cmdfilter-drop.patch | Allows to use cdrecord as non-root


2.6.8.1-ck9 burns like a champ, but not 2.6.9-nitro1 and 2. It's really anoying to reboot everytime I want to burn a CD...

Do you have suid bit enabled on cdrecord or/and cdrdao ? If you have this then disable it, because on kernel 2.6.9 it is doesn't need to work k3b fine.

P.S. Sorry for my english, I know it's bad. ;)
_________________
For Polish users :
$ man mas
Nie ma strony manuala dla mas
For Other users :
Sorry for my english, I know it's bad, but I think it's at least understandable ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 202

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxpayne wrote:
no it's not just w/ HT - it's the combination of MP (SMP or HT) plus Reiser4.


thats what I ment.. leave me alone, its a friday :-P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
netarchy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the bt848 (bttv) driver is in there, you have to enable firmware loading support before it becomes selectable, this is a recent change in the kernel. To check all dependencies for a given option, in menuconfig, type /bt848 and it will show you a dialog of all dependencies for that driver.
_________________
Core i7 920@3.6ghz/6GB Corsair Dominator ddr3-1600/Corsair 750W PSU
nVidia Geforce GTX260 Core216
Kernel 2.6.33-zen2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thubble
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

maxpayne wrote:
no it's not just w/ HT - it's the combination of MP (SMP or HT) plus Reiser4.


I still suspect Staircase has something to do with it. I get no crashes with 2.6.9-mm1 + Ingo's realtime patch V0.5.4, both SMP and hyperthreading enabled. I'd use this one, except there's no version of mapped-watermark which works with it so the swapping performance is terrible under load.

Unforunately I think it's up to Namesys to fix this problem - anyone know if there's a newer version of Reiser4 than the one in -mm or -nitro?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crazor
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 131

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 LD      .tmp_vmlinux1
kernel/built-in.o(.text+0x28668): In function `gzip_memory_needed':
: undefined reference to `MAX'
make: *** [.tmp_vmlinux1] Fehler 1


whats that? only happens when i patched with the swsusp2 patch provided in the first post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
piquadrat
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2003
Posts: 301
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 11:32 am    Post subject: Re: 2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings" Reply with quote

Pepek wrote:
Do you have suid bit enabled on cdrecord or/and cdrdao ? If you have this then disable it, because on kernel 2.6.9 it is doesn't need to work k3b fine.

P.S. Sorry for my english, I know it's bad. ;)


Thanks, that did the trick!

And your English is perfectly understandable for me :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kohno
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May I ask how you disable suid?
like # chmod o-s cdrecord ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jdkbx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 May 2004
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

|Crazor| wrote:
Code:
 LD      .tmp_vmlinux1
kernel/built-in.o(.text+0x28668): In function `gzip_memory_needed':
: undefined reference to `MAX'
make: *** [.tmp_vmlinux1] Fehler 1


whats that? only happens when i patched with the swsusp2 patch provided in the first post


try using lzf compression instead of gzip. i saw that error on the swsusp2 mailinglist. look there on how to fix it. https://lists.berlios.de/pipermail/softwaresuspend-devel/2004-October/thread.html

this is the solution:
Quote:
On Fri, 2004-10-22 at 06:19, Daniel Caujolle-Bert wrote:
> > kernel/built-in.o(.text+0x284db): In function `gzip_memory_needed':
> > : undefined reference to `MAX'
>
> add in suspend_gzip.c
> #define MAX max

Just change the MAX to max. I missed it when removing the macro.

By the way, Kiu, you probably just want LZF compression - unless you
have a CPU that is way faster than your hard drive.



Quote:
error when compiling - i incl. both, the win4lin & swsusp2 patches.

any ideas what to enable / disable?

Code:
CC arch/i386/power/suspend2.o
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c: In function `fix_processor_context':
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:132: error: `per_cpu__init_tss' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:132: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:132: error: for each function it appears in.)
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:135: error: `per_cpu__cpu_gdt_table' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c: At top level:
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:239: warning: `loop' defined but not used
make[1]: *** [arch/i386/power/suspend2.o] Error 1
make: *** [arch/i386/power] Error 2


i had that problem too. i fixed it by using suspend2.c from an earlier version. 2.1-rc2. i don't know where to get it right now. it's not avaible from the swsusp2 site. maybe u can try an older nitro patchset.
i can't post the changes cuz i'm not on my laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pepek
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 313
Location: Tarnowskie Góry - Poland - Europe

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2004 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kohno wrote:
May I ask how you disable suid?
like # chmod o-s cdrecord ?

This is disable suid for others users (not for the root and users in root group). I disable suid for all users like this :
Code:
# chmod -s cdrecord
# chmod -s cdrdao

_________________
For Polish users :
$ man mas
Nie ma strony manuala dla mas
For Other users :
Sorry for my english, I know it's bad, but I think it's at least understandable ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr666white
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 2:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've jsut built the 2.6.9 nitro 2, seems to be nice and stable and most of my hardware works in it.

However i cant figure out how to get it to build in suport for the iteraid module. Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
archrival
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Feb 2003
Posts: 18
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone else have a random lockup problem with the recent nitro kernels? It normally happens at startup, but not always at the same time. Sometimes it makes it all the way to the login prompt, othertimes it stops at Starting lo, hdparm, calculating module_depencies, etc. It will lock up eventually though, even after a little usage. When I am able to look at dmesg, I normally see something with DMA errors on hda (my linux root is hda4). I have no problem with mm-sources and I was curious if the new libata code might be the culprit. I have a VIA IDE chipset and I use the same options on both kernels. SMP with HT, Reiser4, Pentium4, VIA IDE driver. mm-sources work like a charm. I just like what nitro has to offer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thubble
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

archrival wrote:
Does anyone else have a random lockup problem with the recent nitro kernels? It normally happens at startup, but not always at the same time. Sometimes it makes it all the way to the login prompt, othertimes it stops at Starting lo, hdparm, calculating module_depencies, etc. It will lock up eventually though, even after a little usage. When I am able to look at dmesg, I normally see something with DMA errors on hda (my linux root is hda4). I have no problem with mm-sources and I was curious if the new libata code might be the culprit. I have a VIA IDE chipset and I use the same options on both kernels. SMP with HT, Reiser4, Pentium4, VIA IDE driver. mm-sources work like a charm. I just like what nitro has to offer.


It seems to be an incompatibility between Reiser4 and SMP. Try disabling SMP. You may have to disable hyperthreading in your BIOS if that doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Avenger902
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried nitro sources for first time and now my Azureus Client crashes... it may be linked to the java client... (im running Blackdown 1.4.1) Anyone experience this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deranger
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 26 Aug 2004
Posts: 1215

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.9-nitro2 works very well!
Code:

10:09:30 up 11:00,  2 users,  load average: 0.35, 0.61, 0.42

Excellent work, seppe!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lamekain
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 331
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TecHunter wrote:
I just tried. But the vesafb-tng didn't work, back to r1 now.
anyone has the same problem?


Yep. same here. Going to try r1... (i just wish the radeon drivers would be fixed :? )
[EDIT] don't work with r1 either -> going back to 2.6.8-nitro5 :cry: [/EDIT]
_________________
"Only when the last tree has died, the last river been poisoned,
and the last fish been caught, will we realize we cannot eat money"

-Global Terrorism.org


Last edited by lamekain on Sun Oct 31, 2004 9:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_sys/sid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2004
Posts: 346
Location: Asola (Mantova)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

if yours /dev/lp0 it doesn't work with 2.6.9...
take a look here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=244633
and here: http://linux.bkbits.net:8080/linux-2.6/patch%401.1988.74.25?nav=cset@1.1988.74.25
_________________
http://th30z.netsons.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Avenger902
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jun 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 8:20 pm    Post subject: Azureus Reply with quote

I like this kernel... its my first time with nitro... Can't get Azureus to stay up though... it keeps crashing.... Anyone able to run Azureus ok with nitro2? or is there a way I can work around it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 4 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum