Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.9-nitro2 "Now with wings"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kohno
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sibov wrote:
link to win4lin patch seems to be broken for me :oops:

can anybody please check it? or post a new link if it is really broken?


thanx :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tatesworld
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

diti last post, mee too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chunderbunny
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2004
Posts: 1281
Location: 51°24'27" N, 0°57'15" W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only problem I'm having so far is that whenever I boot I get a message sayin "CONFIG_HOTPLUG is not set", even though it is. Hotplugging still works fine though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravensix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, this is great, nitro1 was nice n fast and stable, im not trying nitro2 with a risk, im setting the kernel cflags with my cflags
Code:
-Os -march=athlon-tbird -fomit-frame-pointer
        -pipe -frerun-cse-after-loop -frerun-loop-opt -fexpensive-optimizations
         -falign-functions=4 -mmmx -m3dnow


and so far things are going smoothly. Seems like things compile under alot less load, for example, compiling alsa (for some reason i don't like using the kernel tree alsa) used to bring me to a load of like 1.90 now with nitro2+kernelopts it seems to stay on 1.40.
I know its not wise to use extra CFLAGS, but i wanted to see how it goes.
_________________
Gentoo Powered:Reiser4|2.6 bootstrapped|NPTL|UDEV|2.6.11-nitro2+gnome
Linux registered user #366983
ravensix[at]gmail[dot]com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Williamsport, PA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:00 pm    Post subject: Lock-ups Reply with quote

Hello,
I've been using the nitro kernels for a while, and love it. Right now I'm still using 2.6.9-rc1-nitro4. all the times after this when I try upgrading, I get the same problem. As listed before about the preempt stuff with SMP. I disabled preempt in the kernel, and it still locks up on me... When I first rebooted, I got to where I compiled madwifi, atidrivers, and then started a recompile on the kernel to remove the preempt so I didn't get any errors. It locked up. when I recompiled it w/o preempt, it froze during boot (right before it does /etc/init.d/local.start). Does anyone have any ideas on this??? My system specs are:
P4 3.2g Extreme Edition with HT
1gig Ram
2 60gig HDDs
Radeon 9700 Pro
If I can help anymore, let me know. I don't have anything in logs due to Reiser4 not saving the files right away, so I lost the logs with all that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravensix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you remember exactly what it said upon freezing? any errors?
_________________
Gentoo Powered:Reiser4|2.6 bootstrapped|NPTL|UDEV|2.6.11-nitro2+gnome
Linux registered user #366983
ravensix[at]gmail[dot]com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Williamsport, PA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.. it just locks.. I remember I could switch consoles... but when I tried to login.. it did nothing... when I did a sysrc+b.. it said "SysRq: rebooting..." which i've never even seen before.. I know when I went to F12 for the current log... it had the smp_preempt with a program name and PID, if you look a few posts back they have a link to another article listing these errors, plus I think someone posted it on the first page. I've noticed this since the rc2 nito release(s).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravensix
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2004
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, never had that error ;\

But i noticed something with this kernel, it may be because i used extra optimizations, but my sound now skips ahead a few seconds when using BMP.
_________________
Gentoo Powered:Reiser4|2.6 bootstrapped|NPTL|UDEV|2.6.11-nitro2+gnome
Linux registered user #366983
ravensix[at]gmail[dot]com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thubble
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 May 2003
Posts: 119
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sedorox: I've been having the same lockup problems with previous -nitros (P4 2.8Ghz). It could be a Staircase problem - Staircase has had problems with hyperthreading for a while now, but it was supposedly fixed. Hopefully I'll get around to trying this version eventually, but you might want to try disabling hyperthreading in your BIOS if possible. (I tried recompiling a kernel without SMP support, it still hung, so completely disabling hyperthreading is the only other thing I can think of.) It could also be Reiser4, unless I hear of someone getting lockups with a different FS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bollucks
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:34 am    Post subject: Not hyperthreading Reply with quote

thubble wrote:
Staircase has had problems with hyperthreading for a while now, but it was supposedly fixed.


No, CK uses hyperthreading himself so that is well developed. The only staircase instability ever was versions 8.2->8.B and were not hyperthreading specific. It's almost certainly something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Williamsport, PA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KK... I'll give disabling it a try and I'll let you all know... I'll edit this post... see what happens...

[Edit]
Sure enough... disbaled hyperthreading and I was able to compile alsa-drivers without a problem (got another one.. but I know what that is.. the FB stuff mixed with the radeon drivers... anyway... not a problem).... Soo... I wonder if the other people who had this problem were also using hyper threading.....?? ANyone confirm?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bollucks
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Oct 2004
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sedorox wrote:
KK... I'll give disabling it a try and I'll let you all know... I'll edit this post... see what happens...

[Edit]
Sure enough... disbaled hyperthreading and I was able to compile alsa-drivers without a problem (got another one.. but I know what that is.. the FB stuff mixed with the radeon drivers... anyway... not a problem).... Soo... I wonder if the other people who had this problem were also using hyper threading.....?? ANyone confirm?


Did you disable it in bios or did you disable smp in the config or smt in the config?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sedorox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Williamsport, PA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still have SMP enabled in the kernel, but I disabled HT in the Bios.. haven't tried removing the SMP and keeping it on. I'll mess with that tomorrow... passed midnight (getting my Logitech Z-5500 Digital's working with spdif out in all aspects, yay). So I'll let you all know what I come up with tomorrow... but I've been up for this long compiling, recompiling, and God knows what else, without any freezing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blueillusion
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i havent tried the win4lin patches (since i use vmware) or the software suspend patches, but to me everything runs a lot lot more smoother than 2.6.9-nitro1 my sound isnt skipping under cedega anymore so that makes me happy ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kohno
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TecHunter wrote:
I just tried. But the vesafb-tng didn't work, back to r1 now.
anyone has the same problem?

Same problem here, there's no signal to my monitor at all. However, I was able to login and type reboot. :wink:

btw r1 works very well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 6:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, where is the bt8xx video driver? I need it.
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SKLP
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 May 2004
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pumpkins wrote:
mirko_3 wrote:


Well, lirc for one requires a kernel patch and the userspace tools, so it's not redundant or anything...


wrong, the 0.7pre serie can build modules with 2.6 kernel without any patch needed.:wink:
I'm currently using it with a ck kernel...

I'm not sure, but I think it goes the same way for lufs.
yeah, lufs works fine from portage, but https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=67212 works better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jubo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am trying to compile the lirc stuff directly with this version of nitro and I get this:
Code:

  LD      drivers/char/lirc/built-in.o
  CC [M]  drivers/char/lirc/lirc_dev.o
  CC [M]  drivers/char/lirc/lirc_gpio.o
  CC [M]  drivers/char/lirc/lirc_i2c.o
drivers/char/lirc/lirc_i2c.c: In function `add_to_buf_haup':
drivers/char/lirc/lirc_i2c.c:170: error: structure has no member named `c'
make[3]: *** [drivers/char/lirc/lirc_i2c.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [drivers/char/lirc] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/char] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2


when I try to compile. Anybody see this before. Also if I try to use lirc's latest snapshot from their website to create modules, I get a segfault when I try to insmod on lirc_i2c although lirc_dev gets loaded just fine. In general should I try the lirc support in the kernel or through this external module?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sibov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kohno wrote:
TecHunter wrote:
I just tried. But the vesafb-tng didn't work, back to r1 now.
anyone has the same problem?

Same problem here, there's no signal to my monitor at all. However, I was able to login and type reboot. :wink:

btw r1 works very well.


me 2, but without win4lin patch vesafb-tng works and fbsplash didn't after
patching win4lin vesafb-tng didn't work anymore.

:roll:
_________________
Gentoo 2.6.17-gentoo-r5 with dmraid Raid0 Dualboot
AMD64 X2 3800+, 4x512MB DDR PC3200Pro Corsair Geforce EN6600GT silencer @ 256MB
4x250GB SATAII Samsung SP120, Asus A8N Premium, Plextor PX712SA DVDRW
Logitech Dinovo, SB Audigy4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kohno
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reemerged without win4lin patch, now working fine.
hmm... it seems the problem can be attributed to the win4lin patch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rainmaker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 1650
Location: /home/NL/ehv/

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xconfig is broken again:

Code:
  HOSTLD  scripts/kconfig/qconf
/usr/qt/3/lib/./libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_register_cancel@GLIBC_2.3.3'
/usr/qt/3/lib/./libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_unregister_cancel@GLIBC_2.3.3'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [scripts/kconfig/qconf] Error 1
make: *** [xconfig] Error


Patchset looks GREAT. Gonna make menuconfig, see if I can get this baby working.
_________________
If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phlogiston. wrote:
Hello, where is the bt8xx video driver? I need it.


No clue? I thougt that this driver is normally also in the vanilla sources?

from: http://linux.bytesex.org/v4l2/bttv.html

Quote:

bttv 0.9.x

This is the current, actively maintained version of the bttv driver. It supports the v4l2 API and is included in the 2.6.x kernels.


Am I blind or is the bttv driver really no in it?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
()
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rainmaker wrote:
xconfig is broken again:

Code:
  HOSTLD  scripts/kconfig/qconf
/usr/qt/3/lib/./libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_register_cancel@GLIBC_2.3.3'
/usr/qt/3/lib/./libqt-mt.so: undefined reference to `__pthread_unregister_cancel@GLIBC_2.3.3'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [scripts/kconfig/qconf] Error 1
make: *** [xconfig] Error


Patchset looks GREAT. Gonna make menuconfig, see if I can get this baby working.
I think you need to remerqe Qt, there's some libc breakage.
_________________
to be concerned is good
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxpayne
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

error when compiling - i incl. both, the win4lin & swsusp2 patches.

any ideas what to enable / disable?

Code:
  CC      arch/i386/power/suspend2.o
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c: In function `fix_processor_context':
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:132: error: `per_cpu__init_tss' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:132: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:132: error: for each function it appears in.)
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:135: error: `per_cpu__cpu_gdt_table' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c: At top level:
arch/i386/power/suspend2.c:239: warning: `loop' defined but not used
make[1]: *** [arch/i386/power/suspend2.o] Error 1
make: *** [arch/i386/power] Error 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tad
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Location: Portland, OR (5-to-tha-Izzo-3)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thubble wrote:
sedorox: I've been having the same lockup problems with previous -nitros (P4 2.8Ghz). It could be a Staircase problem - Staircase has had problems with hyperthreading for a while now, but it was supposedly fixed. Hopefully I'll get around to trying this version eventually, but you might want to try disabling hyperthreading in your BIOS if possible. (I tried recompiling a kernel without SMP support, it still hung, so completely disabling hyperthreading is the only other thing I can think of.) It could also be Reiser4, unless I hear of someone getting lockups with a different FS.


I've just used 2.6.9-nitro2 on a fresh install, and I am getting the same lockups with Reiser4. It seems to happen with any disk-intensive task, like compiling or copying between drives. I run an Athlon-XP, so I doubt HT is part of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 3 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum