I just bought an ultra 10
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lagrima
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:01 am    Post subject: I just bought an ultra 10 Reply with quote

I just got an sun ultra 10 in ebay. Im new to sun/sparc systems and im wondering if this system i got from ebay is working/has no problems. It doesnt have a hard drive and it says this message at boot up as far as the seller is saying. what kind of hard drive do i need to get the system up and running? also what does it mean when they say its a "creator 3d"? I need to get a keyboard and a mouse for it, which type of sun keyboard and mouse should i get since i notice there are varrying sun keyboard numbers? what other things should i do to check if it is a working system?

http://i10.ebayimg.com/03/i/02/5f/4e/89_1.JPG
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for a hard drive, if you are only going to be using Linux on it, you can put any old IDE hard drive in there for the most part. There is a size limit of somewhere around 130 GB that the onboard IDE controler can handle if I recall correctly.

You can get any Sun keyboard and mouse as long as they are not USB and have the mini-din connector. The types to look for are type5 or type6 (though there can be type 6 usb keyboards so double check).

As for the firmware password, you'll need to reset OBP to factory defaults. To do this, you'll need to set the NVRAM jumpter to allow writing to NVRAM. You can find a document for your specific UltraSPARC at http://sunsolve.sun.com. Once you've changed the jumper to allow writing, power the machine on and hold down the Stop and N keys. This will reset the firmware to factory defaults and should clean out the firmware password.
dkaplowitz
Guru
Guru