Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gaim-0.59.6 Compile error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pdptrojan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2002
Posts: 25
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2002 10:02 pm    Post subject: gaim-0.59.6 Compile error Reply with quote

Hey everyone, whenever I try to update to gaim-0.59.6,
the compile eventually gives this error...

make[2]: *** [iconaway.so] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
/bin/sh ../libtool --silent --mode=link i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -march=i686 -O3 -pipe -I/usr/local/include -I/opt/include -I.. -I/include -I/usr/include/gnome-1.0 -DNEED_GNOMESUPPORT_H -I/usr/lib/gnome-libs/include -I/usr/include/glib-1.2 -I/usr/lib/glib/include -I/usr/include/orbit-1.0 -I/usr/include/gtk-1.2 -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/include/gtk-1.2 -I/usr/include/glib-1.2 -I/usr/lib/glib/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/include/gdk-pixbuf-1.0 -I/usr/include/gtk-1.2 -I/usr/include/glib-1.2 -I/usr/lib/glib/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/kde/3/include/artsc -I\.. -I\../src -DVERSION=\"0.59.6\" -o libtmpspellchk.so.la -rpath /usr/lib/gaim tmpspellchk.so.lo -lnsl -module -avoid-version
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage-build/portage/gaim-0.59.6/work/gaim-0.59.6/plugins'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/portage-build/portage/gaim-0.59.6/work/gaim-0.59.6'
make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2

!!! ERROR: net-im/gaim-0.59.6 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line -107, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)



any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Parabola
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2002
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm seeing the same thing
_________________
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rajendra82
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sun Nov 24, 2002 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was getting a very similar error. I tried unsuccesfully to:
Code:
# USE="gtk2" emerge gaim

Tonight, gaim emerged. I put gtk2 into my USE varialbe in /etc/make.conf. In addition, I've recently update glib and gtk+ that emerge -pu world wanted to upgrade. Not sure which factor solved the problem.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vert
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 214
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2002 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had the same problem, and putting gtk2 in the USE variable worked. When emerging gaim after that, it emerged these packages first before gaim itself.

pkgconfig-0.14.0
glib-2.0.7
pango-1.0.5
atk-1.0.3-r1
gtk+-2.0.8

I guess one (or more) are needed by gaim.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HunterCo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Nov 2002
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2002 6:14 am    Post subject: Same problem here... Reply with quote

I was getting the same error, but I already have those packages you referenced installed (same versions, even).

So, I threw "gtk2" into the USE variable anyhow, and it compiled. So there is more to it then needing those packages installed.
An underlying problem of magnificent proportions!

THIS IS A JOB FOR MIGHTY MOUSE!

Or, simply a file editor such as nano.
:roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xyverz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2002 11:31 pm    Post subject: same problems Reply with quote

I'm having this problem as well. I've usually been able to avoid a muckup by compiling this way:

Code:
USE="-gnome" emerge gaim


But it's not working this time. putting "gtk2 -gnome" in that use statement doesn't work for me either.

Any suggestions? Or should I downgrade to .5?

Oh, one thing I noted is that atk-1.1.1 is available now. Will try again with the newer version of that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrostig
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 3152
Location: Orlando, Fl

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2002 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had no problems compiling Gaim 0.59.6.
I have been using it for a while without problems.

My use-flags: (probably an issue realted to them)
USE="X gtk gnome -alsa -nas sse sse2 kde arts gtk2 jpeg mozilla ncurses opengl perl python qt quicktime readline tcltk xml2 truetype svga ssl sdl avi dga mbox motif mpeg oggvorbis pam png svg"

Erik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xyverz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2002 11:52 pm    Post subject: Got it working... Reply with quote

I added "-nls -alsa -gnome" to my in-line USE string and it compiled for me. Go figure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 2:59 am    Post subject: Re: same problems Reply with quote

xyverz wrote:
I'm having this problem as well. I've usually been able to avoid a muckup by compiling this way:

Code:
USE="-gnome" emerge gaim


But it's not working this time.
This is the situation I posted about. I don't know why, but putting gtk2 in the make.conf file USE variable worked, whereas USE="-gnome" emerge gaim would not.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qnx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jun 2002
Posts: 638
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge gaim-cvs works fine for me.
_________________
Registred Linux user #191143!
Abit NF7-S rev. 2.00 (BIOS v. 2.7)
AMD AthlonXP 2500+ (Barton)
PATA Seagate ST3120022A
SATA Seagate ST3200822AS & Silicon Image 3112 chipset
Gentoo Linux :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zez
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 256
Location: Oregon, United States

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2002 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a problem that looked similar to this. After removing gnome from my USE variable, it emerged fine. I dunno why...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xyverz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Thu Dec 19, 2002 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tended to have bad luck in the past compiling gaim unless I explicitly configure with "--without-gnome" or "--disable-gnome" (been a while, I forget which it is anymore). I think my problems were due to the fact that I don't install gnome or kde at all.

Go minamalism!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jana
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Blacksburg, VA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2002 5:21 pm    Post subject: how long is your USE list? Reply with quote

Newbie Portage question!

So is it better to have a very complete USE list... or to have an empty one and just add in programs as needed for individual ebuilds? Or is all just a matter of style?

thanks,
- j
_________________
"That does not make sense to me. But, you are very small."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sebastiaan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2003
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the same problem, also openoffice wont compile even if i put gtk or gtk2 in my use line. Do I have to execute some command after that btw?

this is my use line:
Code:
USE="X gtk gtk2 qt kde -alsa"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xyverz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2002
Posts: 24
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2003 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jana: I've found it better to set your use line the way you want it, and use the inline USE settings when you need per-instance setting changes.

Sebastian: OpenOffice.org is very finicky in it's compile options and whatnot. I generally emerge openoffice-bin when I need to install it under gentoo. Apparently there are instructions in the following thread:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=24533&highlight=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum