Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Mozilla Firefox 1.0 PR release candidate
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:26 pm    Post subject: Mozilla Firefox 1.0 PR release candidate Reply with quote

Asa Dotzler wrote:
We had to take one more important change into the builds last night, moving from a blacklist to a whitelist for external protocol handlers, so today's builds are the new candidate 1.0PR builds.

If all goes well with these builds, they'll become the official Firefox 1.0 Preview Release builds on Tuesday morning. Please help us test these bits and if you find any major regressions, please file bugs and nominate those as PR blockers with the bug flag "blocking-aviary1.0PR" so that the Aviary team will see.

From Asa Dotzler's blog, also being reported at mozillaZine.

Downloads here.
firefox-1.0PRrc-i686-linux-gtk2+xft-installer.tar.gz
firefox-1.0PRrc-i686-linux-gtk2+xft.tar.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
golloza
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ebuild, anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2584
Location: userland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

golloza wrote:
Ebuild, anyone?

For a branch build? Not really...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drewgrange
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2003
Posts: 483
Location: Ohio, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm interested to see what people think of this. Is it running any faster?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you've already been using nightly builds, then it's nothing you haven't already seen.

For those using 0.9.3:
1. Typing (with find as you type enabled) or hitting Ctrl+F makes a search bar appear at the bottom, which replaces the "Find on this page..." dialog box. Some people prefer the old dialog box and find as you type behavior, but there's no way to revert back to it. The cool thing is the new bar lets you highlight all instances and searches as you type the search phase.
2. Find as you type searchs everything, not just links.
3. RSS support (I haven't tried it).
4. When it blocks a popup, a yellow bar appears at the top. It's annoying, but can be turned off. It's very similar to the way IE 6 (with service pack 2) does it.
5. I can't remember if Firefox Update is new since 0.9.3... it can check for updates to firefox and your themes/extensions.
6. Some of your themes and extensions might not be compatible with 1.0 PR. If you use the installer, it'll tell you which ones and give you the option to have it try to download newer 1.0 compatible versions for you.

That's all I can think of for now. It sorta feels faster, but not markedly so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kavau
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:51 pm    Post subject: Extensions window Reply with quote

The Extensions window in Firefox 0.9.3 is excruciatingly slow (at least for me). Have they fixed that in 1.0RC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentbob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 159
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StringCheesian wrote:
2. Find as you type searchs everything, not just links.

This has always been an option, look under Preferences -> Advanced -> Accessibility -> "Use Find as you type" - [ ] "To Search Links Only" and uncheck it.
_________________
My Gentoo Linux Stuff | Get FireFox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

silentbob wrote:
This has always been an option, look under Preferences -> Advanced -> Accessibility -> "Use Find as you type" - [ ] "To Search Links Only" and uncheck it.

Not any more. There's no "To Search Links Only" option there or anywhere in Preferences with this release candidate, but it's probably still somewhere in about:config.
EDIT: Yes, it is: accessibility.typeaheadfind.linksonly


Last edited by StringCheesian on Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roguelazer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But it's default now...

BTW: Find-As-You-Type is the greatest feature. I use it in BeOS tracker more than I use the scrollbar. :P
_________________
Registered Linux User #263260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drewgrange
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Mar 2003
Posts: 483
Location: Ohio, US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could also always just start typing with / to designate a full search.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seemed to achieve b0rking my extensions in 0.9.3 and not running. However, that's about it. Well, I'm off to redo my profile now. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rush_ad
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2004
Posts: 863
Location: New Jersey, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

stable?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StringCheesian
l33t
l33t


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rush_ad wrote:
stable?

Very stable here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lews_Therin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 657
Location: Banned

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there somewhere I can go to make suggestions? There was an annoying feature I thought was a bug, but apparently isn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
igrat
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 40
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:39 am    Post subject: search bar doesn't work?? Reply with quote

hi there,
just tried the mozilla-firefox-1.0_pre ebuild.

searching with the new search bar doesn't work!

if you enter searchterm, then klick "find next","find prev" or press enter nothing happens. highlighting works (at least ;-))

did anyone experience this behaviour?

greetings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fourhead
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 875
Location: Cologne, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, I just installed 1.0-pre and it runs damn fast! Don't know if it is Firefox itself or gcc-4.3.2 though :-) But I love it, everythings much more responsive and faster. I have the same issue with the "find-in-page" feature.

Firefox is just the best!!

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fanatic
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Stocktown

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't install themes anymore with 1.0rc :/

Otherwise it's a good release 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Won't install themes

Won't install extensions

Passwords and usernames gone.

Search bar feature not working (I use this a lot as I search documents for research purposes).

Yes I know it is PR release but surely the basics should be available? At best I would call this one a beta-release of a newer version.

I'm not sure what the classification of a 'good release' is but if it includes the category 'can show a webpage and not much else' then yes it is a good one :P
_________________
usefuljaja.com - VPS Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1375
Location: Bamboo Creek

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

search bar worked for me once I started with a new fresh profile, ie I deleted my old one. suddenly firefox comes ot life, the bookmarking issue is mildly annoying (it doesn't create book marks where you tell it to in the manager) and adding "new folder" to the bookmark toolbar dumps it somewhere else
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kamagurka
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Posts: 1026
Location: /germany/munich

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:47 pm    Post subject: Re: search bar doesn't work?? Reply with quote

igrat wrote:
hi there,
just tried the mozilla-firefox-1.0_pre ebuild.

searching with the new search bar doesn't work!

if you enter searchterm, then klick "find next","find prev" or press enter nothing happens. highlighting works (at least ;-))

did anyone experience this behaviour?



yes, this is pretty annoying. is this a bug or a "feature"? somehow, i'm not too sure anymore.
_________________
If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asiobob
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1375
Location: Bamboo Creek

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arggg its all broken now, its not finding or highlighting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

themes and extensions install here - i had to give the sites
permission, find only hilights, it does not find next or previous.

for the rest it seems to work fine here.
_________________
proud to be a scout and a chronic penguin hugger
Legion of Lore - site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jeremy_Z
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 671
Location: Shanghai

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Search is broken ... really a shame since it is a most useful feature.
Deleted old profile already, solved many issues but not THIS one .. arggg.

EDIT : after a restart, it worked .. somehow. It search as i type but the "find-next" is still broken. With 0.9 i used to type a string then hit F3 to search for more occurences. This still not work.
_________________
"Because two groups of consumers drive the absolute high end of home computing: the gamers and the porn surfers." /.
My gentoo projects, Kelogviewer and a QT4 gui for etc-proposals
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry if this offends anyone but what the fuck are the dev's playing at?

We all agree this is a PR release.

We all agree many items do not work for people (important items like search & bookmarks to name a few - just see the many threads about it, not just this one).

We all agree it needs some (read: a lot of) work.

So what do the devs do? They mark is STABLE ffs!

I've just done a sync, and it is now marked x86 so every update I try to do wants to install it. So I have to adjust my package. files to mask it, then keep an eye out for when it is possibly usable.

I know there is a security issue with 9.3 but this is bloody ridiculous.

Not impressed. :evil:
_________________
usefuljaja.com - VPS Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowWolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PickledOnion wrote:
I'm sorry if this offends anyone but what the fuck are the dev's playing at?

We all agree this is a PR release.

We all agree many items do not work for people (important items like search & bookmarks to name a few - just see the many threads about it, not just this one).

We all agree it needs some (read: a lot of) work.

So what do the devs do? They mark is STABLE ffs!

I've just done a sync, and it is now marked x86 so every update I try to do wants to install it. So I have to adjust my package. files to mask it, then keep an eye out for when it is possibly usable.

I know there is a security issue with 9.3 but this is bloody ridiculous.

Not impressed. :evil:


yeah, I've been waiting to see if it actually is any better and seeing what I'm seeing, I'll wait till the full release...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum