Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.9-rc1-nitro4 "It works better if you plug it in&
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
seppe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 431
Location: Hove, Antwerp, Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raku wrote:
does this kernel support write-barriers?
with
Code:

#/dev/hda6               /home                  reiser4         noatime,barrier=flush           0 0


my /home won't mount


Yes it does, it seems like write barriers are already in 2.6.9-rc1. When I tried to add the patch, it said that its already in.
_________________
nitro-sources, because between stable and experimental there exists only speed

Latest release I made: 2.6.13.2-nitro1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raku
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 2375
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, why I got this then?
Code:

reiser4[mount(5016)]: parse_options (fs/reiser4/vfs_ops.c:844)[nikita-2307]:
WARNING: Unrecognized option: "barrier=flush"


you've already seen my fstab, I use reiser4progs 1.0.1, what else should I show you from my config?
_________________
raku

Powered by Archlinux ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaMouse
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cagnulein wrote:
DaMouse wrote:
any specific pi program? if its super_pi i'd say thats not reallly a fair benchmark as its probably not in the 2.6 headers

-DaMouse


super_pi for linux si pi (read the super_pi file ;) )

why is so fair?


Its binary iirc?

-DaMouse
_________________
I am the dark lord DaMouse I eat souls and wear the dressing gown of evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cagnulein
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 861
Location: Modena, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeppa, but it's the same binary for all my version kernel tested :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaMouse
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cagnulein wrote:
yeppa, but it's the same binary for all my version kernel tested :)


Surely something compiled against the 2.6 headers that came with the kernel would be a better guideline?

-DaMouse
_________________
I am the dark lord DaMouse I eat souls and wear the dressing gown of evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nikore
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 May 2004
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pleusicles wrote:
Nikore wrote:
I just decided to try this kernel out and i'm haveing a simular probelm to nuzzy. When my computer boots it goes to get the ip address for eth0 (dhcp) and the computer just locks up there. I am useing an Intel PRO/1000 CT (built in too my mobo), it works fine under windows and my back up kernel (2.6.9 rc1 MM2). Any ideas why its not working under this kernel verstion?


I've also had such problems: the booting process stopped while starting lo (or in other case, pci-hotplug). By setting RC_PARALLEL_STARTUP to "no" in /etc/conf.d/rc, however, I was finally able to boot the machine. Of course, it may have been pure luck...


Well I tryied that and it didnt work but now with the new GCC upgrade (i run with ~x86 all the time) I cant even compile this kernel it fails to build my network card driver

Code:

make[1]: `arch/i386/kernel/asm-offsets.s' is up to date.
  CHK     include/linux/compile.h
  CC      drivers/net/e1000/e1000_main.o
drivers/net/e1000/e1000_main.c: In function `e1000_up':
drivers/net/e1000/e1000_main.c:132: sorry, unimplemented: inlining failed in call to 'e1000_irq_enable': function body not available
drivers/net/e1000/e1000_main.c:277: sorry, unimplemented: called from here
make[3]: *** [drivers/net/e1000/e1000_main.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** [drivers/net/e1000] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/net] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2


I would love any idaes on how to fix it (or at lest why its doing this)

thanks,

Nikore
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaMouse
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raku wrote:
so, why I got this then?
Code:

reiser4[mount(5016)]: parse_options (fs/reiser4/vfs_ops.c:844)[nikita-2307]:
WARNING: Unrecognized option: "barrier=flush"


you've already seen my fstab, I use reiser4progs 1.0.1, what else should I show you from my config?


Perhaps because reiser4 doesn't support OR need barriers?

ONLY reiserfs 3.6 and ext3 have barrier support ONLY! rarg :)

-DaMouse
_________________
I am the dark lord DaMouse I eat souls and wear the dressing gown of evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meqif
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Mar 2003
Posts: 103
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is anyone else having problems burning cds? K3b has this in the debugging output:
Code:
System
-----------------------
K3b Version:0.11.14
KDE Version: 3.3.0
QT Version: 3.3.3

cdrecord
-----------------------
Cdrecord-Clone 2.01a28 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2004 Jörg Schilling
TOC Type: 0 = CD-DA
Using libscg version 'schily-0.8'.
Driveropts: 'burnfree'
scsidev: '/dev/hdc'
devname: '/dev/hdc'
scsibus: -2 target: -2 lun: -2
Warning: Open by 'devname' is unintentional and not supported.
Linux sg driver version: 3.5.27
SCSI buffer size: 64512
/usr/bin/cdrecord: Cannot allocate memory. Cannot get SCSI I/O buffer.

...


EDIT: And yes, I can burn cds as root... Looks like the cddvd patch isn't having any effect... Probably anything else related to cd burning was changed... :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TierMann
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reiser4 is allready atomic.
Reiser3 and ext3 you can use barriers to make it atomic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zordas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:08 pm    Post subject: AMD64 workks well Reply with quote

Just a quick note: This is the first release of ANY nitro source that I have been able to get to cleanly compile and make work on a AMD64 platform. AND IT ROCKS !! cfq -- nvidia 6111 drivers --- ACPI -- the works. Excellect kernel. Keep up the great work !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raku
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 28 Feb 2004
Posts: 2375
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TierMann & DaMouse: thanks for explanation.
_________________
raku

Powered by Archlinux ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zbyte64
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: orinoco Reply with quote

only thing missing is the orinoco patches, i rlly hope they include it in the next release.

btw, awesome job. I am considering moving from love-sources....
_________________
Im not creative enough to come up with a witty signature.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomm1111
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a stupid question...When I run this ebuild I get a cannot find linux-2.6.9.tar.bz2 error on the ebuild digest command. Any idea's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomm1111
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a stupid question...When I run this ebuild I get a cannot find linux-2.6.9.tar.bz2 error on the ebuild digest command. Any idea's.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrApples
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2002
Posts: 511

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i believe that would mean that you failed to download it
_________________
http://www.whatsinyourbox.org -- Technology discussion, news, and more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomm1111
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tell me where "linux-2.6.9.tar.bz2" is and I will be golden.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sobers_2002
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there is no such thing as linux-2.6.9.tar.bz2.......hence it can't find it.......are u sure u didn't modify the ebuild???........just throwing it in portage overlay(or portage if u don't wanna keep it forever) and then
Code:
emerge nitro-sources -av --digest
is enough........nywayz check ur ebuild again.......thats the problem.
_________________
Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mile_slo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 91
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Meqif

same error here with K3B :( , did you find any solution?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jewps
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Mar 2004
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's a known problem with k3b, i recall seeing that problem asked in #love-sources as I don't use it myself. Try out bashburn in the mean time, it's quite nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seppe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 431
Location: Hove, Antwerp, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird, k3b works perfectly here with this nitro.
_________________
nitro-sources, because between stable and experimental there exists only speed

Latest release I made: 2.6.13.2-nitro1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mile_slo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 91
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same error with bashburn.. i think cdecord has problem with this kernel version

@seppe

which cdrecord version do you use?


Last edited by mile_slo on Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seppe
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 431
Location: Hove, Antwerp, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2004 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seppe@Helios ~/Imaget $ cdrecord -version
Cdrecord-Clone 2.01a37 (i686-pc-linux-gnu) Copyright (C) 1995-2004 Jörg Schilling
cdrecord: Warning: Running on Linux-2.6.9-rc1-nitro4
cdrecord: There are unsettled issues with Linux-2.5 and newer.
cdrecord: If you have unexpected problems, please try Linux-2.4 or Solaris.


It works for me, as a matter of fact .. I'm burning a cd right now :)
_________________
nitro-sources, because between stable and experimental there exists only speed

Latest release I made: 2.6.13.2-nitro1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lamekain
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 331
Location: Helsinki, Finland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everyone. moving from love to nitro and trying to get this working on my laptop..
I patched the kernel with swsusp2 (it went ok) and then tried make. This is what i got:
Code:
arch/i386/kernel/io_apic.c: In function `balanced_irq':
arch/i386/kernel/io_apic.c:567: error: `PF_SYNCTHREAD' undeclared (first use in this function)
arch/i386/kernel/io_apic.c:567: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
arch/i386/kernel/io_apic.c:567: error: for each function it appears in.)
make[1]: *** [arch/i386/kernel/io_apic.o] Error 1
make: *** [arch/i386/kernel] Error 2


Any ideas? the same thing happened with the previous nitro.. Can swsusp2 be used at all with nitro?
_________________
"Only when the last tree has died, the last river been poisoned,
and the last fish been caught, will we realize we cannot eat money"

-Global Terrorism.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seppe wrote:
Weird, k3b works perfectly here with this nitro.


and k3b uses cdrecord by default.

I have only done DVD+RW with k3b but that was fine on nitro.

8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomm1111 wrote:
This is a stupid question...When I run this ebuild I get a cannot find linux-2.6.9.tar.bz2 error on the ebuild digest command. Any idea's.


The output is misleading , if it fails the md5 it says so but then two lines later says the file does not exist.

See the first error line which gives the full path then cut and paste it to rm !

Portage will then reget the file and all should make sense.

Sometimes I even get this if I interupt the download. Othertimes it takes up where I stopped it.

HTH 8)
_________________
Linux, because I'd rather own a free OS than steal one that's not worth paying for.

AthlonXP-M on A7N8X @ 2.6/2.4GHz (winter/summer)
2.6.32-hh1 : portage ~x86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum