Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo 64 at last! a couple of problems... ***SOLVED***
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eldados
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:33 am    Post subject: gentoo 64 at last! a couple of problems... ***SOLVED*** Reply with quote

I'm writing in my new and fresh Gentoo64 :D Thanks for all the help guys(one of the reasons I use Gentoo)
I have a couple of "little" problems:
when I boot it says that could not find root and to specify a root, so I type /dev/hde3 and all goes well... this is my fstab:
Code:

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hde1      /boot      ext2      defaults,noatime      1 2
/dev/hde3      /      ext3      noatime         0 1
/dev/hde2      none      swap      sw         0 0
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0   /mnt/cdrom   iso9660      noauto,ro      0 0
/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto         0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
none         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
#  use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this:

none         /dev/shm   tmpfs      defaults      0 0
none         /proc      proc      defaults      0 0
#none         /proc/bus/usb   usbfs      defaults      0 0


and this is my grub.conf:
Code:
default 0
timeout 30
#splashimage=(hd4,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo 2.6.7-r14
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r14 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root /dev/hde3
initrd /initrd-2.6.7-gentoo-r14


My second problem is really bad, I have nvidia 6800 and emerged nvidia-glx, changed the xorg.conf but I have funny colours on my kde (and gnome) and the nvidia splash does not come up, when I rub glxgears it complains about rgb something not found... this is my xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "extmod"
   #Load  "dri"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "speedo"
   Load  "type1"
   Load  "freetype"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/mouse"
        Option       "ZAxisMapping"  "4m5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "DigitalVibrance"       # <i>
        #Option     "NoFlip"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac8Bit"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoLogo"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "UBB"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Stereo"                # <i>
        #Option     "SWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "HWcursor"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VideoKey"              # <i>
        #Option     "NvAGP"                 # <i>
        #Option     "IgnoreEDID"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoDDC"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ConnectedMonitor"      # <str>
        #Option     "ConnectedMonitors"     # <str>
        #Option     "TVStandard"            # <str>
        #Option     "TVOutFormat"           # <str>
        #Option     "RenderAccel"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CursorShadow"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CursorShadowAlpha"     # <i>
        #Option     "CursorShadowXOffset"    # <i>
        #Option     "CursorShadowYOffset"    # <i>
        #Option     "UseEdidFreqs"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "FlatPanelProperties"    # <str>
        #Option     "TwinView"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TwinViewOrientation"    # <str>
        #Option     "SecondMonitorHorizSync"    # <str>
        #Option     "SecondMonitorVertRefresh"    # <str>
        #Option     "MetaModes"             # <str>
        #Option     "UseInt10Module"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoRenderExtension"     # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Overlay"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CIOverlay"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ForceEmulatedOverlay"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TransparentIndex"      # <i>
        #Option     "OverlayDefaultVisual"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NvEmulate"             # <i>
        #Option     "NoBandWidthTest"       # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CustomEDID-CRT-0"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-CRT-1"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-DFP-0"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-DFP-1"      # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-TV-0"       # <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID-TV-1"       # <str>
        #Option     "TVOverScan"            # <f>
        #Option     "IgnoreDisplayDevices"    # <str>
        #Option     "MultisampleCompatibility"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "RegistryDwords"        # <str>
        #Option     "NoPowerConnectorCheck"    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AllowDFPStereo"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "XvMCUsesTextures"      # [<bool>]
        #Option     "HorizSync"             # <str>
        #Option     "VertRefresh"           # <str>
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "Unknown Board"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     15
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection


Sorry about the long post :) I really want to get this right... Thanks heaps


Last edited by eldados on Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drbobguy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2003
Posts: 12
Location: Houston, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had that same problem with the colors on my 5200FX. Try getting rid of all the entries besides the 24 bit ones, and add a defaultdepth option. Here's mine:

Code:

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth 24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siefried12
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 1:30 am    Post subject: you are missing '=' Reply with quote

You missed '=' in grub.conf

kernel /kernel-2.6.7-gentoo-r14 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hde3

and I think your "real_root /dev/hde3" is separated from "kernel /kernel-2.6.~~~~" line. Check it.
_________________
AMD64 3000+, MSI K8T Neo, MSI Geforce FX 5900XT,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eldados
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After playing around with the xorg.conf I got it to work :) thanks for the input.
now need to find out why my net dropped :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silent1Mark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2004
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure your /etc/conf.d/net is set right

I was having a problem with it setting both it and my fstab back to the "defualt" setting .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum