Installing Gentoo on old/slow Laptop
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hairball
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2002 11:48 pm    Post subject: Installing Gentoo on old/slow Laptop Reply with quote

I'm a poor student and someone was generous enough to donate an old laptop of theirs to me so I could play/work with it. I have Gentoo on my desktop machine and I love it. I want to put it on this laptop, but it's a Pentium 100 with only 24mb RAM. It took a decent amount of time to install Gentoo on my P3 550 so I don't think compiling everything from scratch is going to work for me on the laptop (I don't really want to leave it compiling for days). I know portage has the whole install from binary package option and I want to use that, however, I have my make.conf file on my desktop machine optimizing binaries for the i686 architectures and I'm pretty sure that those won't run on a Pentium 100 (which I think is i586). Is there a way to do what I want to do? Also, how do you get the binary package create option to compile all the dependencies too? Any help (or links to other documentation that I haven't yet read) would be appreciated!

I'm open to using another distribution (suggestions?) just to get linux on the laptop, but I'd really like to use Gentoo!
Luder99
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2002 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Took me about 3 weeks total to get my machine up on Gentoo, Pentium 120/32M and that was from stage 3, on and off sort of. You might not have much luck with Gentoo on that, BUT you can compile your stuff on a faster machine if you wanted to.