Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
openoffice cannot launch mozilla
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: openoffice cannot launch mozilla Reply with quote

When openoffice tries to launch the mozilla browser (for example when the menu entry Help -> Registration is selected) an error message is written to stdout:
Quote:
/usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher: unknown browser

and nothing else happens.

The reason seems to be that /usr/bin/mozilla is just a symlink. I could work around this problem with a little script
Code:
#! /bin/bash
exec /usr/bin/mozilla "$@"

and changing the settings in menu Tools->Options: OpenOffice.org / External Programs / HTTP to execute this script instead of mozilla.

Anybody else observing this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gareth
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Nov 2003
Posts: 234
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 21, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 'mozilla' file is a link to '/usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher'. That file is a script that checks what filename it was called as (e.g. mozilla or firefox etc) and calls the required binary.

Unfortunately, openOffice resolves the symlink name to the 'proper' name before executing it, therefore calls the 'mozilla-launcher' script as that, and not as 'mozilla' or 'firefox' as it should.

The hack that I've carried out is as follows (as root):-

Remove the symlink 'firefox' that points to 'mozilla-launcher'

'cd' into '/usr/libexec' and create a copy of 'mozilla-launcher' called 'firefox'

'cd' to '/usr/bin/' and create a new symlink called 'firefox' pointing to 'usr/libexec/firefox'

Now, when openOffice runs, it resolves the 'firefox' symlink to a scipt called 'firefox'. It finds that it's called 'firefox' instead of 'mozilla-launcher' and carries out the correct action.

Hope this helps, but your answer is probably simpler !!

Gareth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjnenc
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Aug 2004
Posts: 1599
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks,

another fix that came to my mind in the meantime is to replace the symlink /usr/bin/mozilla by a hardlink to /usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher. As root:
Code:
cd /usr/bin
rm -f mozilla
ln /usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher mozilla

Hmm, I guess I will stick to my original workaround as it has good potential to survive reinstallations of openoffice or mozilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martinoc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have logged a bug for this

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=78890

and also have included a decent fix

see bug report for patches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem in Poseidon for UML. I have copied the integral script directly in place of the firefox symlink. mozilla-launcher bad design is now fixed :wink: ... until the next emerge of it :( . Oh well. I guess it will be time to learn how to use the "provide" feature in Portage, or push hard in the butt of the developpers to make it right. :roll:
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wawellski
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Cracow Poland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2005 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem but only idea of making new script helped me. Removing symlink and creating new one (symlink or hardlink) doesn't solve the problem in my case. Anyway hyperlinks now work fine in my OOo.
_________________
If words are silver, silence is .... hymmmm. I've been a fond of silver so far ;P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum