Gentoo vs. Solaris Performance?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
antw
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:11 pm    Post subject: Gentoo vs. Solaris Performance? Reply with quote

Hiyas,

I'm a sysadmin for a site currently running Solaris, AIX and just beginning to look into Linux. I'm interested if anyone has compared the performance of Linux (specifically gentoo) on Sun hardware compared to Solaris 9 or 10. If no-one has any information I'll be running some tests on three systems anyway. I'm mostly interested in the performance of dedicated servers such as a system acting as a database, web or mail server. I'm also interested in the performance running BEA weblogic. Advice on fair performance tests are also welcome.

The reason we're looking into Gentoo is as an option to have a single method of updating all our platforms and consolidating OS sysadmin know-how and tools. We'll also be testing the PowerPC on some IBM servers at a later date, so tools that also work on PPC would be useful.

The systems I'm interested in testing on are the following:

System 1 (Last generation)
System Configuration: Sun Microsystems sun4u 8-slot Sun Enterprise 4000/5000
System clock frequency: 84 MHz
Memory size: 12288Mb
CPU: 12 x 336MHz

System 2 (Current generation Small)
System Configuration: Sun Microsystems sun4u Sun Fire 880
System clock frequency: 150 MHz
Memory size: 16384 Megabytes
CPU: 4 x 750MHz

System 3 (Current generation Large)
System Configuration: Sun Microsystems sun4u Sun Fire 6800
System clock frequency: 150 MHz
Memory size: 81920 Megabytes
CPU: 20 x 900MHz