Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gensplash-How-to with progressbar!!!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25 ... 27, 28, 29  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PseudoRE
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

im having the same problem as fryfrog so if anyone knows a way to fix that it would be nice :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eandry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something I just discovered...

Although I specify "silent" in my kernel boot parameters, proc shows otherwise different:

Quote:
gundam /# cat /boot/grub/grub.conf | grep -v '#' | less

splashimage (hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

timeout 30

default 0

fallback 1

title GNU/Linux 2.6.11-gentoo-r4-20050329 softlevel=network IDE CDRW
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r4-20050329 root=/dev/hda4 video=radeonfb:128
0x1024-32@75 splash=silent,theme:emergence gentoo=nodevfs devfs=nomount acpi=on
softlevel=network
initrd (hd0,0)/fbsplash-emergence-1280x1024


yet...

Quote:
gundam / # cat /proc/fbsplash
Framebuffer splash v0.9, mode: verbose


Interesting.

I also lost my progress bar on the shutdown screen when I turned off splash in /etc/init.d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rshadow
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just can't figure out what I"m doing wrong. Previously I had gensplash working fine.. I decied to put gensplash on the new amd64 notebook.. but it just isn't working.

I never get /proc/fbsplash .. and the initrd image is never shown.. I know the framebuffer is working because I get my 1024x768 sized screen.. just no initrd image.

using 2.6.11 (Gentoo Sources) .. all the kernel options are compiiled in

can't figure this one out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been trying and trying also. Not hit it real hard to solve it, but having it working fine on the x86 box.
The amd64 just isn't working correctly.

Mine pretty much does this:

1) Boot up, get the small text with linux penguin logo (have tried without logo also).
2) Nothing but the small text until about the time /etc/conf.d/local.start starts, then the verbose splash starts for that brief moment.
3) When reboot or shutdown, the silent splash with full progress bar working comes up and works perfectly.

Weird, works when quiting, not when booting.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eandry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decibels wrote:
1) Boot up, get the small text with linux penguin logo (have tried without logo also).


I have small text too and without the penguin logo and still no splash screen appears. Just an FYI if you were going to try.

Decibels wrote:
2) Nothing but the small text until about the time /etc/conf.d/local.start starts, then the verbose splash starts for that brief moment.


Do you mean you get a background on your console and then it goes away? Mine stays.

Decibels wrote:
3) When reboot or shutdown, the silent splash with full progress bar working comes up and works perfectly.

Weird, works when quiting, not when booting.


That's how mine works too. Correction to my previous post...I do get a progress bar on shutdown. I didn't see it before because I recently started using [G|X]DM and on shutdown the shutdown splash image is corrupted. If I don't use GDM I get the nice pretty picture.

Are you using vesafb-ng? I was going to try and see if this helped for me. If doesn't make a difference for ATI RADEON video cards I won't bother.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eandry wrote:
Decibels wrote:
2) Nothing but the small text until about the time /etc/conf.d/local.start starts, then the verbose splash starts for that brief moment.

Do you mean you get a background on your console and then it goes away? Mine stays.

In the background of the console while still showing the boot messages. Looks just like the verbose splash. Has the Gentoo big G in the background of the boot console.
**Update: It starts right after /etc/conf.d/local.start the message on the boot screen is: Setting framebuffer console images.
eandry wrote:
Decibels wrote:
3) When reboot or shutdown, the silent splash with full progress bar working comes up and works perfectly.

Weird, works when quiting, not when booting.

That's how mine works too. Correction to my previous post...I do get a progress bar on shutdown. I didn't see it before because I recently started using [G|X]DM and on shutdown the shutdown splash image is corrupted. If I don't use GDM I get the nice pretty picture.

I am using KDM. Ya, it works just like it does in my x86 system on same computer. Except that it is only the same during shutdown: ie silent splash with progressbar.
eandry wrote:
Are you using vesafb-ng? I was going to try and see if this helped for me. If doesn't make a difference for ATI RADEON video cards I won't bother.

Don't have that choice in any of my kernels for amd64. Only get the vesafb:
Code:
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG is not set

It shows the vesafb_tng in the config, but you never get it with the gentoo-sources anymore, at least not with amd64. Must be something wrong with it. But others have it working with the standard vesafb.

Now in my x86 system I do have it, but it was available in that kernel:
Code:
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="1024x768@65"

It has to be something sneaky, but not covered in the howto.

Later: If check dmesgs, only see one error, but rest looks like working:
Code:
vesafb: framebuffer at 0xf0000000, mapped to 0xffffc20000100000, using 3072k, total 131072k
vesafb: mode is 1024x768x16, linelength=2048, pages=1
vesafb: scrolling: redraw
vesafb: Truecolor: size=0:5:6:5, shift=0:11:5:0
ioctl32(splash_helper:853): Unknown cmd fd(0) cmd(c0084619){00} arg(ffffddcc) on /dev/fbsplash
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device
fbsplash: console 0 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 0
fbsplash: console 1 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 1
fbsplash: console 2 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 2
fbsplash: console 3 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 3
fbsplash: console 4 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 4
fbsplash: console 5 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 5
fbsplash: console 6 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 6
fbsplash: console 7 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 7
fbsplash: console 8 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 8
fbsplash: console 9 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 9
fbsplash: console 10 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 10
fbsplash: console 11 using theme 'GoGentooGo'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 11

_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddaasspp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello everybody,

I've just finished installing my Gentoo system (using the 2005.0 Stage1/3 guide) and I have a problem with fbsplah: the splash image is displayed only at the end of the booting process. I did
Code:
 rc-update add splash boot
instead of adding to default and now it shows a couple of seconds earlier, but still at the end. What is wrong ? Where should I look ?

- I'm using kernel 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 and splashutils 0.9.1
- I don't have any error messages in dmesg related to vesafb or fbsplash
- my grub.conf info:
Code:
 kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-gentoo-r6 ro root=/dev/hda7 vga=0x317 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap splash=verbose,theme:emergence
initrd /fbsplash-emergence-1024x768


Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read above, we have been dealing with that problem for a bit. Still no answer.
I would guess your doing this on an amd64?
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eandry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ddaasspp wrote:
Hello everybody,

I've just finished installing my Gentoo system (using the 2005.0 Stage1/3 guide) and I have a problem with fbsplah: the splash image is displayed only at the end of the booting process. I did
Code:
 rc-update add splash boot
instead of adding to default and now it shows a couple of seconds earlier, but still at the end. What is wrong ? Where should I look ?

- I'm using kernel 2.6.11-gentoo-r6 and splashutils 0.9.1
- I don't have any error messages in dmesg related to vesafb or fbsplash
- my grub.conf info:
Code:
 kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-gentoo-r6 ro root=/dev/hda7 vga=0x317 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap splash=verbose,theme:emergence
initrd /fbsplash-emergence-1024x768


Thanks.


You are closer than most of us if the splash image is being displayed! :)


Try changing your grub.conf from "splash=verbose,theme:emergence" to "splash=silent,theme:emergence" which should show a splash image instead of the usual boot messages.

Also check what you have in /proc:

Quote:
$ cat /proc/fbsplash


It should tell you the version and what mode it's in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddaasspp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decibels wrote:
Read above, we have been dealing with that problem for a bit. Still no answer.
I would guess your doing this on an amd64?

No, I'm on x86 ! (Pentium4)

eandry wrote:
Try changing your grub.conf from "splash=verbose,theme:emergence" to "splash=silent,theme:emergence" which should show a splash image instead of the usual boot messages.

With silent, fb is initialised with no splash, then it displays the silent splash image with the progress bar working until about 30%, then it switches again to fb with no splash and before login it says smth like "Loading FrameBuffer Image" and the splash image is set.
So i'm guessing the splash service is working correctly, and the problem has smth to do with the generated initrd or with the kernel ?!
Code:
$ cat /proc/fbsplash

is working correctly.

Thanks for your answers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eandry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ddaasspp wrote:
With silent, fb is initialised with no splash, then it displays the silent splash image with the progress bar working until about 30%, then it switches again to fb with no splash and before login it says smth like "Loading FrameBuffer Image" and the splash image is set.


Could you post the relevant portion of your 'dmesg' that shows that message you get? Seems at least your splash image is trying to load but then gets cut off by something else.

ddaasspp wrote:
Code:
$ cat /proc/fbsplash

is working correctly.


So what does it say? Same as my output or different? I double-checked the syntax and it seems to ignore what I use. It says the mode is verbose even though I set splash=silent in my kernel command-line paramters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddaasspp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eandry wrote:
Could you post the relevant portion of your 'dmesg' that shows that message you get? Seems at least your splash image is trying to load but then gets cut off by something else.

For silent mode:
Code:

Kernel command line: ro root=/dev/hda7 elevator=cfq vga=0x317 video=vesafb:mtrr,ywrap,pmipal splash=silent,theme:emergence
fbsplash: silent
fbsplash: theme emergence

vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd8000000, mapped to 0xd8880000, using 3072k, total 32768k
vesafb: mode is 1024x768x16, linelength=2048, pages=0
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:bff0
vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00cc035, set palette = c00cc0ba
vesafb: pmi: ports = 3b4 3b5 3ba 3c0 3c1 3c4 3c5 3c6 3c7 3c8 3c9 3cc 3ce 3cf 3d0 3d1 3d2 3d3 3d4 3d5 3da
vesafb: scrolling: ywrap using protected mode interface, yres_virtual=1536
vesafb: Truecolor: size=0:5:6:5, shift=0:11:5:0
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device

fbsplash: switching to verbose mode                                ----> ??
Real Time Clock Driver v1.12
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
fbsplash: console 0 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 0
fbsplash: console 1 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 1
fbsplash: console 2 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 2
fbsplash: console 3 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 3
fbsplash: console 4 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 4
fbsplash: console 5 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 5
fbsplash: console 6 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 6
fbsplash: console 7 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 7
fbsplash: console 8 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 8
fbsplash: console 9 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 9
fbsplash: console 10 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 10
fbsplash: console 11 using theme 'emergence'
fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 11

Strangely, it says "switching to verbose mode".

The silent splash image is displayed later, only after init is started and it disappeares after ~10s with the message
Code:
putfont: PIO_FONT: Invalid argument
(the message doesn't appear when using verbose mode). After another ~10s, just before the login, the verbose splash image is displayed by the splash service and from that moment all is good.

eandry wrote:
ddaasspp wrote:
Code:
$ cat /proc/fbsplash

is working correctly.

So what does it say? Same as my output or different? I double-checked the syntax and it seems to ignore what I use. It says the mode is verbose even though I set splash=silent in my kernel command-line paramters.

You're right, it says verbose even if I boot in silent mode.

At shutdown all is working well, either with verbose or with silent & progress bar.

P.S. I tried vesafb-tng and it's the same, only that the framebuffer is not set instantly after I choose an entry in the grub menu, but after ~1s (which is normal) and instead of "vga=" I can use directly the resolution I want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 10:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, happening on your x86 also. I was beginning to think this only on Shutdown was happening to us amd64 users.
I'll be able to look more tomorrow at my x86 system and maybe find something for ya.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
diamondsw
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 5:21 am    Post subject: Splash working! Reply with quote

Well, I got it working, but you're not going to like my methods. I ended up formatting and reinstalling Gentoo 2005.0 from the CD.

Yuck.

However, now it all appears to work as expected. I have the proper kernel settings, I created the initrd according to directions, and grub.conf is happy. I am using the 1.1.9.3 splashutils (they're masked), not the 0.9.1 ones.

I did have a boot where it never switched from the "silent" picture over to the "verbose" picture at the end (now I just run verbose). I also had one disturbing boot where it crashed immediately after "Ok, uncompressing the kernel...". No resolution change or anything, just a hang. 8O

Here is what it looks like, and here is the fbsplash (based heavily on the LiveCD 2005.0 one).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 773
Location: Płońsk, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I posted my problem on the support thread, but it seems nobody's there for quite a log time.
Here it is.
_________________
p3k4

Seize the time, Meribor. Live now; make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again...
Jean-Luc Picard, Star Trek TNG - The Inner Light
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eandry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

peka wrote:
Hi,
I posted my problem on the support thread, but it seems nobody's there for quite a log time.
Here it is.


I forgot I had the thread watched until you posted! :)

This thread's title suggests it's config/how-to/setup for fbsplash with progress-bar whereas the other thread was for support of the older bootsplash.

Your post actually compelled me to re-read both threads which has helped me resolve most of the issues with fbsplash. I recommend others do the same.

Now I'm just down to getting the progress bars working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddaasspp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eandry wrote:

Your post actually compelled me to re-read both threads which has helped me resolve most of the issues with fbsplash. I recommend others do the same.

So what did you do wrong in the first place ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eandry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ddaasspp wrote:
So what did you do wrong in the first place ?

I'd reference you to the answers if I knew how to link directly to posts. :)

The answers are in this thread starting around page 6.

Two things I needed to have set in /etc/conf.d/splash:

1)
Quote:
# on which ttys should fbsplash be enabled? defaults to RC_TTY_NUMBER
SPLASH_TTYS="0 1 2 3 4 5"

SPLASH_TTYS...line should be uncommented and set

2)
Quote:
# should we drop to verbose mode on initscript errors? (yes/no)
SPLASH_VERBOSE_ON_ERRORS="no"

By default this is commented and set to "yes". Guess the defaults are verbose dispite the funky logic.

If you set this to "no" then errors and warnings like DMA can't be set or BIOS settings can't be read are ignored.

Also it's very important that the image size that you are using from the splash theme matches EXACTLY your kernel command-line option. If it doesn't you will get errors from fbsplash.

Quote:
title GNU/Linux 2.6.11-gentoo-r6-20050409 Network IDE CDRW (emergence theme)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-linux-2.6.11-gentoo-r6-20050409 root=/dev/hda4 video=vesafb-tng:ywrap,mtrr,1400x1050-32@60 splash=silent,theme:emergence gentoo=nodevfs devfs=nomount acpi=on softlevel=network hdc=ide
initrd /fbsplash-emergence-1400x1050


1400x1050 is the max. resolution of my laptop screen. It's chosen everytime and seems that my video option for changing the size are ignored. I tried this with another theme that didn't have 1400x1050 and it complained when it shutdown because the theme was missing a 1400x1050 sized image.

Again, direct postings in this thread describe all of this.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 773
Location: Płońsk, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

peka wrote:
Hi,
I posted my problem on the support thread, but it seems nobody's there for quite a log time.
Here it is.


Well my problem was that I used splashutils version 1.1 which I emerge under running mm-sources b/c the stable version 0.9 failed to compile.
Now when I run gentoo-sources I could emerge the stable version and now it works!
_________________
p3k4

Seize the time, Meribor. Live now; make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again...
Jean-Luc Picard, Star Trek TNG - The Inner Light
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, has anyone that previously only had GenSplash working only during shutdown and not
correctly during bootup
, seen any action on this?

Not sure anyone remembers, but mine (and others) having to use the standard vesa framebuffer
and not vesafb-tng, get the small text, logo if want, but not a silent with progress bar during bootup.
Only during shutdown. Works perfect during shutdown. No Splash during boot, but just near the end
get the verbose splash in the background. Actually haven't been able to get the verbose during bootup
execpt at the very last moment, before login comes up.

Verbose works fine on Ahorn's livecd, but that isn't using a stock Gentoo Kernel either.

I still think it just isn't working in stock amd64 with Gentoo. But wouldn't count out that I skipped something?!
The weird part is that it works so normal during shutdown.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright


Last edited by Decibels on Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 773
Location: Płońsk, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Decibels,

You have the same problem I had - If I understood you correctly, anyway...
In my case downgrading the splahutils helped.
_________________
p3k4

Seize the time, Meribor. Live now; make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again...
Jean-Luc Picard, Star Trek TNG - The Inner Light
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, what version? I think when tried to emerge without keywords it didn't emerge.
Let me know and will try. 8)
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 773
Location: Płońsk, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First I tries masked by package.mash 1.1.9.3 version. But it got to to where you are.
Then I downgraded to stable 0.9.1 version and it works!
_________________
p3k4

Seize the time, Meribor. Live now; make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again...
Jean-Luc Picard, Star Trek TNG - The Inner Light
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Decibels
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 16 Aug 2002
Posts: 1589
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ya, I just tried 1.1.9.3 version while waiting and added CONSOLE=/dev/vc/1 and it worked, but the percentage
keeps resetting, and then after a bit the boot messages started overwriting the screen. Then wiped out the
splash screen and continued booting.

Going to try what you did later today and let you know. Building another computer and the person is
coming over in a built to help.
_________________
Support bacteria – they’re the only culture some people have.”

– Steven Wright
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peka
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 773
Location: Płońsk, Poland

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My kernel was also complaining about not having the CONSOLE= option. Iy still didn't work when I added this.
Take a look a my post here. I described what I was getting - well, at least I've tried.
_________________
p3k4

Seize the time, Meribor. Live now; make now always the most precious time. Now will never come again...
Jean-Luc Picard, Star Trek TNG - The Inner Light
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 23, 24, 25 ... 27, 28, 29  Next
Page 24 of 29

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum