Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem emerging iputils-021109-r3 during stage 2 install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ggroube
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 4:36 am    Post subject: Problem emerging iputils-021109-r3 during stage 2 install Reply with quote

Hi all. This is my first post in these forums, so please forgive any unintended lapses in forum etiquette, failure to conduct exhaustive searches, lack of sufficient relevant information or other stupidity about the way things are done here!

My problem seems simple. I'm doing a stage 2 install (having just done a stage 1 bootstrap) and I get the following when I try to emerge iputils-021109-r3: :?
Quote:

bison -d -p __libyy policy_parse.y
{clipped gcc output}
mv y.tab.c policy_parse.c
mv: cannot stat `y.tab.c': No such file or directory
make: *** [policy_parse.c] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

!!! ERROR: net-misc/iputils-021109-r3 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 63, Exitcode 2
!!! libipsec failed


It turns out that the Makefile in the iputils/libipsec directory has a piece of code that looks like this
Code:

  policy_parse.c policy_parse.h: policy_parse.y
     yacc -d -p __libyy policy_parse.y
     mv y.tab.c policy_parse.c
     mv y.tab.h policy_parse.h



Yacc isn't installed, but as can be seen in the emerge output, bison is instead. An ls of /var/tmp/portage/iputils-021109-r3/work/iputils/libipsec shows that y.tab.[ch] don't exist, but policy_parse.tab.[ch] do. Deleteing policy_parse.tab.[ch] and running
Code:
bison  -d -p __libyy policy_parse.y
and policy_parse.tab.[ch] return.

So, off into nano, and with a quick edit to the makefile this code becomes:
Code:

  policy_parse.c policy_parse.h: policy_parse.y
     yacc -d -p __libyy policy_parse.y
     mv policy_parse.tab.c policy_parse.c
     mv policy_parse.tab.h policy_parse.h


which now makes. :D

Of course, I can unpack iputils-021109.tar.bx2, make this change and re-compress, but that changes the hash code for the archive and emerge (rightly) won't have anything to do with it. :(

I have also tried the following:

    *emerge sync, followed by emegre iputils
    *searching the forums for problems with iputils-021109-r3
    *searching gentoo-bugs for problems with iputils-021109-r3
    *google

all without success.

I am installing from the 2004.2 LiveCD, with a stage1 install. I'm emerging from the web, and not using pre-downloaded stagefiles.

I am following the Gentoo Linux/AMD64 Handbook, and the only variation to the handbook is that I have not added 'cdr' to my USE setting, because this system doesn't have a CDR. I have read the Installation Technotes for AMD64.

A quick rundown of my system, for completeness (I doubt that this is part of the issue):
Athlon64 3400+, 1GB, Asus K8V Deluxe (bios 1007), 80GB WD Pata, 200GB WD Sata, PowerColor Raedon 9800 Pro 128MB.

And finally, this is my first (ever) Gentoo install. Yep, a godforsaken newbie!!! (Figured it was time to finally explore after having used Slackware, Redhat, Fedora, Mandrake and, most recently, YOper.) So far, I'm impressed.

If someone helps me with this problem, I'll be very impressed!

---

If I have forgotten something simple, or need to provide more info, please let me know (nicely)!

-- G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timmy334
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 69
Location: Montgomery, AL

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on an Athlon 2000+ box and I'm having the EXACT same error. I've tried using -O0, -O1, -O2, and -O3 for my cflags just to see if it would work and nothing. unfortunately i can't really finish my install without it...
_________________
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion,
It is by the beans of Java my thoughts acquire speed,
My hands acquire shaking, the shaking becomes a warning,
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggroube
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, already discovered it isn't AMD64 specific. Shaman has found it too
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=206070&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=

He must have posted as I was writing my magnus opus!

Maybe someone who knows how could re-post this thread somewhere more appropriate? :?:

G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hunky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 827
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just got the error too doing a emerge -e system after trying to add nptl as a USE. I had gone through all the steps outlined on a thread about updating a system to use nptl, except I already had a working system. It was just poor performing. My error happened at around 60 of 89 compiles. After making the fix, I tried emerge -e system again and it completely started over. So I'm going to bed without knowing if it will work or not. Find out in the morn!

cheers, Jim (thanks for that fix - what a joy to paste the error into the search box and find something that may work right off.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Snooper
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 May 2004
Posts: 182
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyone here having that issue using the gcc34-arch-2004.2 profile?

I'm also having the same issue, I had it all compiled a few days ago and have just been messing around trying different things and know it's broke in the ChangeLog there was one patch added on the 1st so i figure thats what broke it because it was compiling before that... Has anyone posted the issue on bugzilla?
_________________
ftp://lila-project.ath.cx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frytol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

--> Solution <--

add this line :

sed -i 's:y.tab:policy_parse.tab:' libipsec/Makefile

to :

usr/portage/net-misc/iputils/iputils-021109-r3.ebuild

cheers
frytol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stantheman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

--------------------------------------------------------------

add this line :

sed -i 's:y.tab:policy_parse.tab:' libipsec/Makefile

---------------------------------------------------------------

At which line?

ta

Stan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frytol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, forgot to mention about it ;]

in src_unpack()

for exampke you may add it under this ->

sed -i 's:yacc:bison:' libipsec/Makefile #59191

line ;]

greets
frytol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggroube
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snooper,

No, I haven't posted a bug as I wanted to make sure it wasn't something I'd overlooked/misunderstood/done silly. Also (from being a dev) I didn't want to dive straight into bugs until I'd had a chance to familliarize myself with the protocols on bug posting, etc.

I also wanted to ensure that my analysis of the makefile was correct (can anyone tell me if it is?)

The offer goes out to you (or anyone else out there who is happy to) to post this as a bug though.



Frytol,

Thanks, I'm trying your workaround.

One question. Where do you suggest that your sed line should go in the iputils-021109-r3.ebuild file? I'm going to try what I think works (line 55, just after the line reading sed -i 's:yacc:bison: libipsec/Makefile'), but for the benefit of those who don't work (or fool around!) with code for a living, it would be helpful to have your precise recommendation.

(Oh, I see you already have! :D )

Only until the bug itself is repaired, of course. This probably needs to be fixed in the cvs tree (if it hasn't been already).

Thanks to all,

G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggroube
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Frytol,

Big Thumb Up (we need an emoticon for that) on your workaround. I'm building again!!!

:D

Thanks,

G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hunky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 827
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Everyone here having that issue using the gcc34-arch-2004.2 profile?


Newb here.. How do I check this? I did a gcc --version and got this:
gcc (GCC) 3.3.3 20040412 (Gentoo Linux 3.3.3-r6, ssp-3.3.2-2, pie-8.7.6)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShadowHawkBV
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That means you're using the gcc-3.3.3 version. The gcc-3.4.1 looks like this:
Code:
 #gcc --version
gcc (GCC) 3.4.1  (Gentoo Linux 3.4.1, ssp-3.4-2, pie-8.7.6.3)


you can also check it by doing an ls -l /etc/make.profile
Code:
#ls -l /etc/make.profile
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 43 Aug  2 22:10 /etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/gcc34-amd64-2004.1/

_________________
This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.

Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel i7-1065G7
Intel i7-8565U
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Pure 64bit frustration :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggroube
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Snooper,

Quote:
Everyone here having that issue using the gcc34-arch-2004.2 profile?

No, I'm using the default-amd64-2004.2 profile

G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jean-michel
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Somewhere East of the Atlantic

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:39 pm    Post subject: NOT ONLY AMD64, NOT ONLY GCC 3.4.1 Reply with quote

I've seen this problem on both 32bit and 64bit boxes, with both gcc 3.3.3-r6 and gcc 3.4.1 (the latter tested on AMD64 only).

This is definitely not unique to AMD64, nor to GCC 3.4.1, nor the gcc 3.4.1 profiles.
_________________
The Struggle for the Future of Human Evolution Begins: Autonomy the SciFi Series!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
avenj
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 495
Location: New Hampshire

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I committed a fix for this earlier today. See https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=59414
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ggroube
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:20 am    Post subject: Problem emerging iputils-021109-r3 during stage 2 (Resolved) Reply with quote

:D

Great big thanks to everyone here for the assist.

Also to Jon and Mike Gilbert over on bugs. Even SpanKY, 'cause I've done the same thing myself on occasions (more occasions than I care to remember, or like to admit!)

iputils works again. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chuck Milam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Hopkinsville, KY USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 18, 2004 6:07 pm    Post subject: So how do I "get the fix?" Reply with quote

avenj wrote:
I committed a fix for this earlier today. See https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=59414


I've had trouble emerging iputils for most of the month now. I've tried the workarounds posted here, but no luck. How do I get the fix that's been committed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chuck Milam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Hopkinsville, KY USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Re: So how do I "get the fix?" Reply with quote

Chuck Milam wrote:
I've had trouble emerging iputils for most of the month now. I've tried the workarounds posted here, but no luck. How do I get the fix that's been committed?


*Bump* Still no ping on my eMachines M6809. Ugh. :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chuck Milam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Hopkinsville, KY USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:29 pm    Post subject: Re: So how do I "get the fix?" Reply with quote

I found the fix: Apparently, I managed to have the 2.4 kernel headers installed on a machine that has never run a 2.4 kernel. Not sure how that happened. :oops:

Once I un-emerged the 2.4 headers and re-emerged the 2.6 headers, iputils compiled without a hitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seventhguardian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 May 2004
Posts: 261
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

i guess there is no major problem about that. 2.4 headers are the gentoo default, even if you have a 2.6 kernel, and they worked for me for a long time. Never had 2.4 kernel.

I switched to 2.6 headers a few weeks ago, enabled nptl, and so. The system got a bit broken, and i've been cleaning things up for a while...... Apps not compiled by me don't work, i guess because they should use the default linuxthreads instead of nptl, but the system doesn't allow them to do that.... :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum