View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Marshall
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 5:25 am    Post subject: Fluxbox task bar Reply with quote

I haev STFW and RTFM but to no avail so hopefully someone here can help me.

In Fluxbox is there a way to get the 'taskbar' to have show all the apps you have open at one particular time with each one taking up a equal amount of space ala windows task bar? At the moment whatever has focus on the desktop takes up the whole task bar and you have to switch by alt+tab, the arrows or by the middle click menu.

DMK
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 2:06 pm    Post subject: fluxbox taskbar? Reply with quote

im new to fluxbox too, but i dont think there is something like a taskbar...
(perhaps you could start the kde-taskbar)
but you can drag the tabs into groups with your middlemousebutton.. (click with center-mousebutton on the tab and drag it onto another tab)

then you have there a tab-group which is very useful...

DMK
timmfin
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am relitively new to fluxbox as well, but I'm pretty sure that functionality is not built into fluxbox. I'm thinking about messing with the code and adding a few things like that. When/If I get around to it I'll post a patch.

Did you know that if you minimize the windows they appear in the taskbar as you describe? I just wish they were all automatically done that way. It just makes it easier to get the overlapped windows.

timmfin
KiTaSuMbA
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote