Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub ataraid (hardware raid)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2002 12:43 am    Post subject: Grub ataraid (hardware raid) Reply with quote

i have only tested it only with Promise controller but i think it work with Highpoint controller

SOLUTION 1) use kernel driver

gentoo install guide leaks some consideration for this configuration:

1) Boot disc
i have used livecd basic 1.2 due bugged promise driver on kernel used on
livecd-basic-1.4_rc1-r1.iso i dont know if it was fixed on livecd-basic-1.4_rc1-r2.iso

2) Kernel
use gentoo kernel 2.4.19-r10 or higher, kernel 2.4.19 (vanilla) from kernel.org have a bug for promise controller and not recognize disc attached to it

3) menu.lst
under /boot/grub/menu.lst use
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/ataraid/dXpY
instead
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/ataraid/discX/partY

Quote:

Code listing 16.12: Grub.conf for GRUB

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=My example Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3

#Below is for setup using hardware RAID
title=My Gentoo Linux on RAID
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/ataraid/dXpY

# Below needed only for people who dual-boot
title=Windows NT Workstation
root (hd0,5)
chainloader +1


Attention
under /etc/fstab use this format
/dev/ataraid/discX/partY


4) GRUB (big problem for me)
if u have problem to setup with hd0, use map command exchanges the order of disc

my configuration
promise pdc20276 (fasttrak133)
with 2 disc (raid0)
after some test i have found my real raid0 disc is under grub hd2, and hd0 hd1 are the fisical disc

Quote:

grub> map (hd0) (hd2)
grub> map (hd2) (hd0)
grub> root (hd2,0)
grub> setup (hd2)
grub> quit


5) Sorry for my poor english :D


SOLUTION 2) Use promise driver

recompile kernel without any promise driver (promise, fasttrack ...)
compile the partial source code from promise driver
use initrd image and boot options

Quote:
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/sdXY (where X is disk & Y partition number /dev/sda1 for example)
initrd /boot/initrd.img


change the device in /etc/fstab

some things are missed, before try it read the documentation:
http://www.promise.com/support/file/driver/1_ftsrc-b25.tgz


Last edited by kali on Tue Feb 04, 2003 6:06 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jowilly
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2002
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 5:46 pm    Post subject: BE CAREFULL ! GRUB DISTROYED MY RAID Reply with quote

I have the same config on a highpoint controller (Abit Be7 Raid motherboard).

Last week I have tried to install gentoo on this raid, I struggled to find a way to install grub on the mbr. Every time it rebooted at startup instead of loading grub.

This, until I tried:
Code:
grub> find /boot/bzImage


This gave me hd2. So I did setup hd2.

:!: THIS DISTROYED MY RAID !!!! :evil:

On reboot, it told me that the second disk was not there, the only choice I had was to Discard the raid and rebuild a new one.
(even with the gentoo boot CD hde and hdg where there, but the partitions where not, as the HW raid was not up)

On this raid I had gentoo + windows + 2 Partitions with 100+ GB data !

Everything is lost !

I reinstalled windows and gentoo, put grub on the boot partion, not the mbr; and on the mbr I put XOSL (http://www.xosl.org) which is a nice framebuffer booter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CowMike
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 52
Location: Ede, NL

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Promise raid controller with two disks (raid1). I'm trying to get Gentoo installed. Booted with 1.2 cd (modules on 1.4_rc2.iso aren't working)..

How can I get Grub working? Installing the rest was piece of cake, but Grub is the problem :(
Code:
grub> find /boot/bzImage
Doesn't work (after copy-ing bzImage of course :P), booting with floppy and then install the MBR doesn't work either :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2003 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make a floppy bootdisk according gentoo install howto
boot with this floppy
go in grub console

i have found my real disk just trying "root" command under grub
grub> root (hd0,0)
i got error, same using hd1, with hd2 no error was reported and file system are corretly reported

after u have found your real disk

grub> map (hd0) (hd2)
grub> map (hd2) (hd0)
grub> root (hd2,0)
grub> setup (hd2)
grub> quit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krazo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would one go about doing this on a REAL hardware raid controller such as the 3ware Escalade or Promise SX6000?
_________________
Hey--hey how are ya?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swingarm
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jun 2002
Posts: 627
Location: Northern Colorado

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2003 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have the exact same Raid controller as the original poster and it worked without a hitch. The only thing different is I didn't have to map hd2 to hd0(I tried hd1 to hd7, always got errors). I also did this in a dual boot configuration(WinXP).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry
plz remove this spam :D


Last edited by kali on Tue Feb 04, 2003 6:08 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2003 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Info: You can edit your posts to add updates/make changes.
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
impressme
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2003
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 5:42 am    Post subject: Highpoint RAID Native Setup Reply with quote

Kali what kernel source did you use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kali
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

atm gentoo-sources 2.4.20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MooktaKiNG
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact raid as the thread maker.

I have a sperate /boot which is on hd0,0 .

I already use this for my current gentoo, but i want to use it again for the gentoo raid.

I mounted it when i installed.

I compiled promise raid and the software fastrak thing in kernel.

I have root=/dev/ataraid/d0p1

and grub doesn't know its there.

in the post above i don't undertstand this bit:

Quote:

grub> map (hd0) (hd2)
grub> map (hd2) (hd0)
grub> root (hd2,0)
grub> setup (hd2)
grub> quit


what is hd0 at first? and what is hd2 at first?

when you do root (hd2,0), this means /boot is on there, but i have a seperate /boot in hd0,0.

When i installed gentoo everything went fine. everything was fast as expected. The only problem happened when i rebooted to grub.


Also the SOlution 2 i just don't know how you can make initrd.img . the stupid readme file is no good at all.

I don't mind how i do this i just want to able to boot to my gentoo raid system.

I have 4 HD's. One hda, one hdb, and the other two in raod striping.
_________________
http://www.mooktakim.com
Athlon XP 2001, Giga-Byte GA-7VRXP MB, 640Mb DDR RAM 333MHz, MSI Geforce 4800SE 128Mb DDR, 40x12x48 Liteon CDRW drive, Flower Cooler, ADSL Router
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rottie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2002
Posts: 10
Location: vancouver, canada

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 3:58 pm    Post subject: promise raid and grub issues. Reply with quote

Ok I just installed gentoo .. it went fine .. Here is my problem:
I have a windows partition on /dev/ataraid/disc0/part1
my gentoo boot is on /dev/ataraid/disc0/part2
swap ... /part3
/ ... part4

If I grub > setup (hd0,0) it fails with unknown partition type.
If I grub > setup (hd0,1) it reads the stages and seems to work.
When I reboot it goes to windows ... I know grub is to write to the MBR
but if I can't specify (hd0,0) then how do I write to the MBR to stop windows from loading ?

Thanks,
rottie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum