Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
phpmyadmin 2.5.7_p1 & apache2 howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kc8tbe
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 135
Location: Cleveland, OH USA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 3:42 pm    Post subject: phpmyadmin 2.5.7_p1 & apache2 howto Reply with quote

The first thing I noticed after emerging phpmyadmin 2.5.7_p1 (yes, that's the latest stable version under x86) was that it didn't work out of the box. We can all recall that 2.5.6 integrated nicely with apache2, and that the ebuild gave the user specific instructions on how to set it up. Perhaps I'm just missing something... anyways, here's how I got 2.5.7_p1 to work.

1. Install apache2
# USE="apache2" emerge apache
2. Install phpmyadmin with "emerge phpmyadmin".
# emerge phpmyadmin
3. Symlink phpmyadmin from /usr/share/webapps (what's it doing there?) to /var/www/localhost
# ln -s /usr/share/webapps/phpmyadmin/2.5.7_p1/htdocs /var/www/localhost/htdocs/phpmyadmin
4. Optionally (but reccommended), secure phpmyadmin in some fashion. Start by reading https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=4770.
5. Don't forget to modify /etc/conf.d/apache2 to use php! Here's an example: APACHE2_OPTS="-D PHP4"
6. Make sure mysqld is running.
# /etc/init.d/mysql start
6. Now we need to give phpmyadmin the permissions it needs to run.
# mysql -u root -p < /usr/share/webapps/phpmyadmin/2.5.7_p1/sqlscripts/mysql/2.5.7_p1_create.sql
7. Enjoy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Big Thx very usefull
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drspewfy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 125
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i have installed
phpmyadmin 2.6.0_p2 and,,
i cant find the /usr/share/webapps/phpmyadmin/2.5.7_p1/sqlscripts/mysql/2.5.7_p1_create.sql

but that is not the problem...

i did the same as you, make the symlink, but when i try to enter to phpmyadmin i get and prompt /login/password, Like if i was using a .htaccess authentication.. i dont what user/passwd to use,

if the mysql passwd or the .htacces passwd<-- this one i didnt configure anything i dont know why is askking for a passwd,,

here is my config.inc.php



Code:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host']          = 'localhost'; // MySQL hostname or IP address
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['port']          = '';          // MySQL port - leave blank for default port
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket']        = '';          // Path to the socket - leave blank for default socket
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type']  = 'tcp';       // How to connect to MySQL server ('tcp' or 'socket')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension']     = 'mysql';     // The php MySQL extension to use ('mysql' or 'mysqli')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress']      = FALSE;       // Use compressed protocol for the MySQL connection
                                                    // (requires PHP >= 4.3.0)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser']   = 'pma';       // MySQL control user settings
                                                    // (this user must have read-only
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass']   = '6668258832464310208';
                                                    // access to the "mysql/user"
                                                    // and "mysql/db" tables).
                                                    // The controluser is also
                                                    // used for all relational
                                                    // features (pmadb)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type']     = 'http';      // Authentication method (config, http or cookie based)?
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user']          = 'root';      // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password']      = 'rr330pzm';          // MySQL password (only needed
                                                    // with 'config' auth_type)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['only_db']       = '';          // If set to a db-name, only
                                                    // this db is displayed in left frame
                                                    // It may also be an array of db-names,





So, i pasted the most important of config.inc.php cuz, maybe is that..

what to do, i cant join to phpmyadmin!!

thanks!!

HELP PEople i need it..

from mexico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drspewfy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Dec 2003
Posts: 125
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i have installed
phpmyadmin 2.6.0_p2 and,,
i cant find the /usr/share/webapps/phpmyadmin/2.5.7_p1/sqlscripts/mysql/2.5.7_p1_create.sql

but that is not the problem...

i did the same as you, make the symlink, but when i try to enter to phpmyadmin i get and prompt /login/password, Like if i was using a .htaccess authentication.. i dont what user/passwd to use,

if the mysql passwd or the .htacces passwd<-- this one i didnt configure anything i dont know why is askking for a passwd,,

here is my config.inc.php



Code:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host']          = 'localhost'; // MySQL hostname or IP address
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['port']          = '';          // MySQL port - leave blank for default port
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['socket']        = '';          // Path to the socket - leave blank for default socket
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type']  = 'tcp';       // How to connect to MySQL server ('tcp' or 'socket')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension']     = 'mysql';     // The php MySQL extension to use ('mysql' or 'mysqli')
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress']      = FALSE;       // Use compressed protocol for the MySQL connection
                                                    // (requires PHP >= 4.3.0)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser']   = 'pma';       // MySQL control user settings
                                                    // (this user must have read-only
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass']   = '6668258832464310208';
                                                    // access to the "mysql/user"
                                                    // and "mysql/db" tables).
                                                    // The controluser is also
                                                    // used for all relational
                                                    // features (pmadb)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type']     = 'http';      // Authentication method (config, http or cookie based)?
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user']          = 'root';      // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password']      = 'rr330pzm';          // MySQL password (only needed
                                                    // with 'config' auth_type)
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['only_db']       = '';          // If set to a db-name, only
                                                    // this db is displayed in left frame
                                                    // It may also be an array of db-names,





So, i pasted the most important of config.inc.php cuz, maybe is that..

what to do, i cant join to phpmyadmin!!

thanks!!

HELP PEople i need it..

from mexico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tlepo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Sep 2003
Posts: 131
Location: Elouges (Belg.)

PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works very well. I am also using phpmyadmin 2.5.7_p1.

many thanks kc8tbe :D

T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thecooptoo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 1353
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2004 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive been having some problems getting phpmyadmin sorted out (but i;ve got access with the MySQL modules of webmin)

Having gone through this I get asked for a username/password when i try and log into phpmyadmin.
Which password is it wanting ? - ie the file that stores it..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
insaan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Oct 2004
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: It does not work Reply with quote

It works now, what all I had to do, was
http://IP_Adr/phpmyadmin/index.php instead of http://IP_Adr/phpmyadmin

Now I have login problems. Lets see, ....

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum