Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gimp emerge fails (error logs enclosed)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:37 am    Post subject: gimp emerge fails (error logs enclosed) Reply with quote

here's what happens when i emerge gimp:

Code:

gen2kray root # emerge gimp
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge media-gfx/gimp-1.2.3-r2 to /
>>> md5 ;-) gimp-1.2.3.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking gimp-1.2.3.tar.bz2
patching file Makefile.am
Hunk #1 succeeded at 112 (offset 7 lines).
>>> Reconfiguring package...
 * Reonfigure failed, please attatch the contents of:
 *
 *   /var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/temp/autoreconf.log
 *
 * in your bugreport.

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_unpack, Line -69, Exitcode 1
!!! running autoreconf failed


here are the contents of the mentioned log file:

Code:
autoreconf-2.53a: `aclocal.m4' is updated
configure.in:42: warning: AC_CANONICAL_HOST invoked multiple times
You should update your `aclocal.m4' by running aclocal.
libtoolize: `config.guess' exists: use `--force' to overwrite
libtoolize: `config.sub' exists: use `--force' to overwrite
libtoolize: `ltmain.sh' exists: use `--force' to overwrite
autoreconf-2.53a: `aclocal.m4' is unchanged
configure.in:959: error: possibly undefined macro: AM_GNU_GETTEXT_VERSION
autoreconf-2.53a: autoconf failed with exit status: 1
 at /usr/bin/autoreconf-2.53a line 475
DEBUG: working directory is: /var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/work/gimp-1.2.3


this's never happened before. ive installed gimp numerous times in the past in gentoo... i bought a new hd and attempted to install again and this happens? any ideas? running aclocal as suggested in the log gives me:

Code:
aclocal: configure.ac or configure.in is required.


i'm stumped.
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aclocal would only work if executed from inside the build directory. What version of gettext do you have installed?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no idea, whatever was in the portage tree this morning (fresh install). how can i tell for sure?
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ran aclocal in the build dir and tried to emerge:

Code:
root@gen2kray gimp-1.2.3 # emerge gimp
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge media-gfx/gimp-1.2.3-r2 to /
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 1386, in ?
    mydepgraph.merge(mydepgraph.altlist())
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 937, in merge
    retval=portage.doebuild(y,"merge",myroot,edebug)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.2/site-packages/portage.py", line 1008, in doebuild
    settings["STARTDIR"]=os.getcwd()
OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory


this is fuX0red!
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kraylus wrote:
how can i tell for sure?

Code:
$ emerge -s gettext

_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
*  sys-devel/gettext
      Latest version available: 0.11.5
      Latest version installed: 0.11.1
      Homepage: http://www.gnu.org/software/gettext/gettext.html
      Description: GNU locale utilities

_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you try upgrading gettext? I'm showing that macro defined in a package in there. strace is blowing up on ppc for me, so I can't verify that it's loaded by autoreconf, but let's try that.

EDIT: Oh, BTW - the strange error message you got was probably because your cwd was the build directory, and then you just ran "emerge gimp", which blew away that directory out from under you and portage threw up when it couldn't find the current directory. Should not be a long-term problem.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder


Last edited by rac on Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think ill download it from gimp.org, compile it, install it, and inject it into portage....
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kraylus wrote:
i think ill download it from gimp.org, compile it, install it, and inject it into portage....

You would rather do this than upgrade gettext? Well, OK then.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rac wrote:
Can you try upgrading gettext? I'm showing that macro defined in a package in there. strace is blowing up on ppc for me, so I can't verify that it's loaded by autoreconf, but let's try that.

EDIT: Oh, BTW - the strange error message you got was probably because your cwd was the build directory, and then you just ran "emerge gimp", which blew away that directory out from under you and portage threw up when it couldn't find the current directory. Should not be a long-term problem.


hehe, just got this message when my posted... how do i update gettext? it's the latest version in portage, no? or did the portage tree get updated between now and this morning...
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ran emerge -p gettext and it says it'll update it. so if i update gettext and try to re-emerge gimp... it'll work? should i emerge clean first?
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kraylus wrote:
how do i update gettext?

Code:
# emerge -u gettext

Quote:
it's the latest version in portage, no?

Not according to what you posted of "emerge -s gettext", which says you have 0.11.1 and 0.11.5 is available.

EDIT: and I straced autoreconf on an x86 machine, and it does open /usr/share/aclocal/gettext.m4 for me, which contains the definition of that macro that is causing you problems.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ohhh.... i see what happpened.... i used a stage three tarball. then i rsync'ed... it's all clear now. was just wondering how i could have an older version of gettext when i just installed this morning (used to doing stage1 installs.)

i'll try this out. thanks for the info :mrgreen:
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i updated gettext and got a bit farther... compile failed:

Code:
i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -march=athlon-xp -mcpu=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe -Wall -o gi
emote-1.2 gimp-remote.o -rdynamic  -L/usr/lib -L/usr/X11R6/lib /usr/lib/libg
o /usr/lib/libgdk.so /usr/lib/libgmodule.so /usr/lib/libglib.so -ldl -lXi -l
 -lX11 -lm -lXmu -lXt -lSM -lICE
make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/work/gimp-1.2.3/t
'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/work/gimp-1.2.3/t
'
Making all in intl
make[2]: Entering directory `/var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/work/gimp-1.2.3/
'
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `intl-compat.c', needed by `intl-compat.
 Stop.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/work/gimp-1.2.3/i
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gimp-1.2.3-r2/work/gimp-1.2.3'
make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 48, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)


also said that it couldnt find perl... which is odd, because that was one of the dependencies that im sure was installed....
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kraylus wrote:
make[2]: *** No rule to make target `intl-compat.c', needed by `intl-compat.

I see code in the 1.2.3-r2 ebuild that wipes the intl directory. I assumed that autoreconf would repopulate it. Strange that it is not doing so.
Quote:
also said that it couldnt find perl... which is odd, because that was one of the dependencies that im sure was installed....

What do "emerge -s perl" and "perl -V" have to say on this subject?
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kraylus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 648
Location: ft.worth.tx

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2002 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

blast it all to hell!

anyhoo, perl is in here.
Code:

Summary of my perl5 (revision 5.0 version 6 subversion 1) configuration:
  Platform:
    osname=linux, osvers=2.4.19-gentoo-r9, archname=i686-linux
    uname='linux inventor.gentoo.org 2.4.19-gentoo-r9 #1 tue sep 3 21:10:11 mdt 2002 i686 authenticamd '

  Compile-time options: USE_LARGE_FILES
  Built under linux
  Compiled at Sep 12 2002 06:39:14
  @INC:
    /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.1/i686-linux
    /usr/lib/perl5/5.6.1
    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.6.1/i686-linux
    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.6.1
    /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl


im upset! how can i take my install on my old HD (which runs perfect!) and image it to the new HD (which has the bad install im on now) without using a cdr... can i piggyback them somehow and simply copy the files over? if i did that, would it be bootable?

thanks for your time :)
_________________
I used gentoo BEFORE it was cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tahoe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Oct 2002
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Oct 30, 2002 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:( I get the same problem.

bug report with proposed fix: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8490
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 127
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2002 2:09 pm    Post subject: Same Problem Here! Reply with quote

Same Problem Here!

Identical Error Message about alocal

What'll be the next one before I can get a successful Gentoo install? :x

Link: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=20450
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum