View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 11:49 am Post subject: Problems emerging Eclipse |
|
|
Ages ago I emerged eclipse and then found that one of my plugins didn't work so I just deleted the /opt/eclipse directory and replaced it with another I had backed up with the plugin installed and working. It worked perfectly and obviously the shortcut in the Gnome application menu carried on working, maybe not a perfect solution - but it worked I was quite content to leave it like this really.
However, I recently began getting this error;
Code: | JVM terminated. Exit code=1
/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/bin/java
-cp /opt/eclipse/startup.jar org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main
-os linux
-ws gtk
-arch x86
-showsplash /opt/eclipse/eclipse -showsplash 600 |
Perhaps blackdown got installed sometime in the past couple of weeks (I just start 'emerge --upgradeonly world' and go to bed - dialup is a pain in the arse.) So I figured that if something had changed perhaps it was time to upgrade anyway and I ran 'emerge eclipse-sdk', which failed due to some motif build error that I corrected by altering my USE flags. Anyway, I got it all compiled and whatnot and decided to give it a quick test-run to see if anything had changed, but as soon as I fire it up I get this;
Code: | JVM terminated. Exit code=1
/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/bin/java
-cp /usr/lib/eclipse-2/startup.jar org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main
-os linux
-ws gtk
-arch x86
-showsplash /usr/lib/eclipse-2/eclipse-gtk -showsplash 600 |
Which is remarkably similar to the older error
Is this some problem with Blackdown? To be honest I have no idea how to switch to using Sun's VM. This is a pain, I really like Eclipse Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DaNIsH Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jan 2003 Posts: 197 Location: Melbourne, Australia.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hrm, they say "Fixed in GTK >= 2.3.5-1" yet I have GTK+ 2.4.1, I could try upgrading my version of Eclipse, maybe try out Eclipse 3.
Yeah the jar definately exists;
Code: | ahri@megatron ahri $ ls /usr/lib/eclipse-2/startup.jar -lh
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 17K Jul 6 12:34 /usr/lib/eclipse-2/startup.jar |
In the hopes of getting a more verbose error message I ran eclipse-2 from the console;
Code: | Local Time = Tue Jul 6 15:44:40 2004
Elapsed Time = 2
#
# The exception above was detected in native code outside the VM
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (Blackdown-1.4.1-01 mixed mode)
#
# An error report file has been saved as hs_err_pid11397.log.
# Please refer to the file for further information.
#
(eclipse-gtk:11366): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "redmond95",
(eclipse-gtk:11366): Gtk-WARNING **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "redmond95", |
And that specified file is here if that helps at all
Incidentally ~/workspace/.metadata/.log is not created (someone asked for it in the 2nd bug report you directed me to.) Thanks a lot for helping me out! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I downloaded one of the precompiled GTK Eclipse 3 zips (specifically eclipse-platform-SDK-3.0RC3-linux-gtk.zip, extracted in /opt) and although it runs, it exists with a similar looking error again whenever I try to save a file:
Code: | JVM terminated. Exit code=1
/opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/bin/java
-cp /opt/eclipse/startup.jar org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main
-os linux
-ws gtk
-arch x86
-showsplash /opt/eclipse/eclipse -showsplash 600
-exitdata /opt/eclipse/eclipse -exitdata 310019
-vm /opt/blackdown-jdk-1.4.1/bin/java
-vmargs
-cp /opt/eclipse/startup.jar org.eclipse.core.launcher.Main |
It also generates a log file linked here.
I had tried recompiling GTK+ but that had no effect, and with this latest attempt, using a precompiled GTK+ version of Eclipse 3 I have doubts that GTK is the issue.
I'll assume for now through elimination that Blackdown is the problem; how can I switch to using Sun's Java VM without breaking things?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
DaNIsH Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jan 2003 Posts: 197 Location: Melbourne, Australia.
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ahri wrote: | I'll assume for now through elimination that Blackdown is the problem; how can I switch to using Sun's Java VM without breaking things?  |
emerge java-config
emerge sun-jdk
java-config -L
java-config -S <VM name listed above (in []'s)> _________________ Adopt an unanswered post today |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot! I don't recall coming across java-config before, I'll have to look into it.
Ugh 34MB to download, I'll give it a go later when I get free net access, though it'll take a while on my good old 56k connection  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jonnevers Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003 Posts: 1594 Location: Gentoo64 land
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yes, try ditching blackdown. Their JRE is okay for day to day Java usage. But their JDK/SDK is seriously lacking when you are doing java development. Try Sun's... if I'm not mistaken you'll have to download the sun-java tarball seperatly then emerge it (license issue).
-Jon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah good, this sounds promising then. I'll be sure to let you know if it works later! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ahri Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Apr 2004 Posts: 126 Location: Manchester/UK
|
Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well it took a while as I had to hack up my own ebuild for the newer version of the JDK I downloaded (that'll teach me to check the available ebuilds next time!), but after a lot of banging my head against the desk I got it installed!
Even better; Eclipse 3 is now working perfectly! So it was definately Blackdown that was screwing things up :\ Ah well, it's now 3am, perhaps if I get the ebuild etc into a nicer state tomorrow I'll submit them - if there's any point? It's j2sdk-1_4_2_05-linux-i586.bin I downloaded, and j2sdk-1_4_2_04-linux-i586.bin is the one the ebuild was expecting  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
trad511 n00b

Joined: 29 Nov 2003 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same error upgrading in the 3.0 version. After monkeying around with java-config with no success I that the /home/<myhome>/.eclipse directory was causing the problem. Remove it and relaunch Eclipse. All should be well.
Code: | rm -rf /home/<myhome>/.eclipse |
Or, if you're really worried:
Code: | mv /home/<myhome>/.eclipse /home/<myhome>/.eclipse.old |
This file apparently contains user config information and either the content or format changed between versions. _________________ Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm. - Winston Churchill |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
aloha99 n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Sat Jul 10, 2004 10:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks trad511!
I upgraded from 3.0RC1 to 3.0 (final), then after I spent an hour on this problem, I followed your advice and all works well! Now I can get on to doing something interesting ... _________________ When I was 14, I couldn't believe how stupid my father was.
When I was 21, I couldn't believe how much he'd learned in only 7 years.
-- Mark Twain |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|