Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Do you use 3ddesktop ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Titeuf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 759
Location: Middelkerke, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 10:10 am    Post subject: Do you use 3ddesktop ? Reply with quote

Yesterday, I've installed 3ddesktop (http://desk3d.sourceforge.net/index.php, and it's really cool (and useless :D)
You can see some screenshots here: http://desk3d.sourceforge.net/screenshots.php
If you use kde, there is a new pager for it at: http://sourceforge.net/projects/k3ddesktop/
Now I was wondering who all uses 3ddesktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to use it. It was what go me to use multiple workspaces in the first place. I used to not use them (I didn't want the pager in the GNOME panel) but then I learned how awesome it was. However, Fluxbox gave me the option of desktop wheeling so I dropped it like a bad habit. lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gnuageux
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 1201

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Flux w/ virtual desktops and love it too!
_________________
The realOTW: http://forums.realotw.org/index.php

Registered Linux user#364538
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John5788
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 2125
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i use 3ddesktop :) i rebound my fluxbox keys so when i press alt + f# itll switch me to my # desktop :)
_________________
John5788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingPunk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 442
Location: Utica, New York, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John5788 wrote:
i use 3ddesktop :) i rebound my fluxbox keys so when i press alt + f# itll switch me to my # desktop :)


would you care to post a simple guide on how that was done, thats why
i am here, i was looking for something to do that.. and it doesn't exist
it seems. lol.

the 3ddesk thing, is totally useless, UNLESS you can bind it to switch for you
ie. when you scroll your wheel on the desktop in flux, etc. or use your
alt+f# keys..

thanks in advance!
_________________
When the FBI/CIA/NSA/FDA/and other three-letter government agencies come looking, you don't know me, you never saw me, never heard of me. get it? got it? good!
also: ALL YOUR POLLITICAL BASE ARE BELONG TO HILLARY IN '08!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stormy Eyes
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 1064
Location: Watching God spit-shine my boots.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use it, but I'm thinking of chucking it; I use Openbox because it's fast, and 3ddesk detracts from that even on a good nVidia card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
will_in_wi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I liked it, but it reduced any opengl games to a crawl. If the game ran fast then 3ddesk ran at a crawl.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adastra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried it for a while. Too slow even on my GeForce4 MX440. Seemed to defeat the purpose of "fast desktop switching" which I use very very often.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Titeuf
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 759
Location: Middelkerke, Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use this anymore. It worked pretty well, but I don't need all those animations when I switch my desktop :D
And I also almost never use virtual desktops :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nrl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been aware of it for sometime but it just looks like useless eye candy to me. :roll:
_________________
"Madness is something rare in individuals - but in groups, parties, peoples, ages it is the rule." -- Nietzsche
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingPunk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 442
Location: Utica, New York, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

everything is useless eyecandy. if you don't like "eye candy" then use twm..
no bloat, no uselessness, pure efficency!

no gtk/gtk2 themes, no styles, no wallpaper, no nothing, pure twm..
oh tasty.

/end rant
_________________
When the FBI/CIA/NSA/FDA/and other three-letter government agencies come looking, you don't know me, you never saw me, never heard of me. get it? got it? good!
also: ALL YOUR POLLITICAL BASE ARE BELONG TO HILLARY IN '08!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fernandotcl
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Nov 2003
Posts: 1396
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KingPunk wrote:
everything is useless eyecandy.

Wrong. If eye-candy's requirements aren't heavier than its benefits, it may be worth. Gtk2 themes are light enough and make desktop experience better. 3d desktops are too heavy for my tastes (WMI user :roll:).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nrl
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2003
Posts: 446
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are more usable (and, except in extreme cases, usability is far more important than how much resources a program consumes these days anyway) alternatives to TWM and since I have a pretty fast system I am happy to use them (IIRC TWM isn't as efficient as you might expect for something so ugly anyway). This program adds nothing in terms of usability, in fact it will increase the time it takes to switch desktops, and all I get in return is "eye candy" -- and by the looks of it it's a flavour of eye candy that I don't even like the taste of.

I would equate this with pseudo-transparent terminal windows which make the text less readable for the return of something that some people consider visually appealing.

PS. This is just my personal reasons for not using this program myself; I won't hold it against you if you like it. We all have different tastes after all. :)
_________________
"Madness is something rare in individuals - but in groups, parties, peoples, ages it is the rule." -- Nietzsche
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingPunk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 442
Location: Utica, New York, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

all of the points are very well taken,
however.. if you don't like it, dont use it. its that simple :|
but other than that, im just interested, in trying to bind my mouse wheel
or my alt+f# keys, to the 3ddesk application.

i use fluxbox, and having the 3ddesk program configured the way i like it,
is quite nice. now, its totally useless, until i can bind my mouse wheel or
my function keys to it. so if i could get pointed in the right direction,
ie. to a howto or guide on this specific issue, or tips/tircks .. i'd greatly
appreciate it. thanks much!

~TheKing
_________________
When the FBI/CIA/NSA/FDA/and other three-letter government agencies come looking, you don't know me, you never saw me, never heard of me. get it? got it? good!
also: ALL YOUR POLLITICAL BASE ARE BELONG TO HILLARY IN '08!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wi1d
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 282
Location: USA, Iowa

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the idea of binding my mouse wheel to the prog. I might even use it. At the moment I've got it binded to win+q and I rarely use it because because I habitually switch w/ alt+f* or a spin of the mouse wheel. Either way it's nice eye candy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingPunk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 442
Location: Utica, New York, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

agreed, it is quite nice. but im even clueless on how to bind it.
regaurdless to whatever key combo.. i don't know where to begin.
nor what to specify regaurding the wheel mouse, or the alt+f# keys.
so bleh..
any input would be nice!
_________________
When the FBI/CIA/NSA/FDA/and other three-letter government agencies come looking, you don't know me, you never saw me, never heard of me. get it? got it? good!
also: ALL YOUR POLLITICAL BASE ARE BELONG TO HILLARY IN '08!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ap viper
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Feb 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope. I use openbox, so I use either the mouse wheel, ctrl+alt+left/right, or the pager on pypanel.
_________________
why the heck are you reading this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miqorz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 1170
Location: Pissing into the wind.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3dDesktop isn't JUST useless eye candy..

It's just plain useless... It's the worst kind of pager I've found..

It's slow and never refreshes the snapshot for each desktop (or so I've found HERE.)

I really wish fbpager worked in OB3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wi1d
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 282
Location: USA, Iowa

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

errrr. I can't get the binding to work either. my .fluxbox/keys looks like:

Mod1 F1 :ExecCommand 3ddesk --goto=1
Mod1 F2 :ExecCommand 3ddesk --goto=2

*edit*
geez. That works. I edited keys.bak intead of keys. :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stormy Eyes
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 1064
Location: Watching God spit-shine my boots.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

miqorz wrote:
I really wish fbpager worked in OB3.


If you use gdesklets and the psi displays, try using the psi-pager. that works in Openbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miqorz
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 04 Apr 2004
Posts: 1170
Location: Pissing into the wind.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stormy Eyes wrote:
miqorz wrote:
I really wish fbpager worked in OB3.


If you use gdesklets and the psi displays, try using the psi-pager. that works in Openbox.


I loathe gdesklets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlieg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Jul 2002
Posts: 2149
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you like this, what about Sun's 3D desktop (as opposed to desktop switcher) called Project Looking Glass.

Now that's Eye Candy!
_________________
Want Free games?
Free Gamer - open source games list & commentary

Open source web-enabled rich UI platform: Vexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adastra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't wait for that to be done? Try Metisse.

forums
homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedDawn
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 368
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

miqorz wrote:
3dDesktop isn't JUST useless eye candy..

It's just plain useless... It's the worst kind of pager I've found..

It's slow and never refreshes the snapshot for each desktop (or so I've found HERE.)

I really wish fbpager worked in OB3.



NOBODY IS FORCING YOU TO USE IT!!

AND YES IT DOES REFRESH THE SNAPSHOTS!
ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS ( RESEARCH AND HACK )

PS: (stewie voice) i just plain dont like you! (/stewie voice)

YOU BITCH TO MUCH!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason, all this stuff looks like it would be extremely annoying. No offense to people who like this "eye candy", but I personally couldn't live with project looking glass or metisse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum