Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moz Firefox 0.9 (all versions) general discussion thread.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fanatic wrote:
Anyone wanna post a screenshot of the new Firefox?


The outward appearance isn't any different except the different default theme.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1604
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's some screen caps of both looks, default and plastikfox.

Default theme, w/ font prefs

PlastiKfox theme with theme, download, and extension manager showing.

Plastikfox fixes the backwards buttons too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepalesque
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:25 pm    Post subject: Thanks jlward4th Reply with quote

Thanks jlward4th,

Your instructions on making an overlay ebuild worked great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepalesque
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:46 pm    Post subject: Extensions Reply with quote

Does anyone know if there are any extensions that work with firefox .9_rc1 yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2004 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Extensions and themes that work with 0.9rc. BTW 0.9 release is expected monday.
I also do binary builds that include SVG (official builds don't) optimized for i486 or AthlonXP, which can be downloaded from http://pryan.org/mozilla/firefox/lokean/aviary/
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firephoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 29 Oct 2003
Posts: 1604
Location: +48° 5' 23.40", -119° 48' 30.00"

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone having troubles launching urls from some app, here's some things I've figured out.
This is using the default script or the one attached to this bug report.
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=177996#c79
I replaced the /opt/firefox/firefox script and /usr/bin/firefox links to it. The original script with the .9rc install does work with these methods but the /usr/bin/firefox script (gentoo) needs to be changed to a link and point to /opt/firefox/firefox (or your source install location) no matter what way you do it. :)

KDE apps will just need to know that "firefox" is the program to use to launch urls. I use:
Code:
/usr/bin/firefox %u


Thunderbird needs this line in the file user.js
Code:
$ cat .thunderbird/default/8chrctrs.slt/user.js
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.http", "/usr/bin/firefox");


Anything else should be able to use one of these codes if the above doesn't work. This is from my X-chat url handler settings.
Code:

firefox -a firefox -remote 'openURL(%s,new-window)'
firefox -a firefox -remote 'openURL(%s,new-tab)'
firefox -a firefox -remote 'openURL(%s)'


And from the command line for example Gentoo in a new tab:
Code:
firefox -a firefox -remote 'openURL(http://www.gentoo.org,new-tab)'


The "window not found" or other error must be related to the url launcher not knowing to use "firefox" to launch the address. I'm guessing that this is what the "-a firefox" is telling it.

I put the script I am using into debug mode to figure this out because all my urls were lauching fine from most apps but some people were having the "window" error when trying to launch urls from the command line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silicondecay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Mar 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox 0.9 RULES!!!!

it is so FAST starting up....firefox baby, I love you!
_________________
I wanted to be a pimp when I grew up. Turns out I became a computer nerd. Go figure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 210
Location: TgMures, RO

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I the only one, with b0rked install? :(

I started with a download of the gtk2+xft w/ installer package, and used the installer as root. Probably I didn't close all my windows apps before continuing with the installation 8) , since it's just not working at all as a normal user.

I tried:
    running as a non-root user the installation above.
    doing a separate instalation for the non-root user with the installer
    unmerging 8.0-r2, and using the bugzilla ebuild for 0.9 (prior to that I downloaded the gtk2+xft w/o installer package.) still nada.
    just unpacking and running as a non-root user the installer-less version


All these with the same result: it works for root, but for non-root user it just exits silently, w/o any complaint, error message, or else.

To be more accurate, it does say: No running windows found
but then again it says the exactly same thing for root as well ... like 1 sec before starting ... :(

Oh, if I have firefox started by root, and try to run it as non-root user (mozilla-launcher-1.12 - that was a prerequisite requred by the bugzilla ebuild), it says:
Code:
/opt/firefox/mozilla-xremote-client: Error: Failed to find a running server.
No running windows found

And then still nothing, exits as if nothing would've had happened...
_________________
"The future masters of technology will have to be lighthearted and intelligent. The machine easily masters the grim and the dumb."
Marshall McLuhan, 1969
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My friend was having the same problem with Firefox and I think he had to switch to 0.8 using gtk1 in order to make it work. However, the bright side is that 0.9 final is out now. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 210
Location: TgMures, RO

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pwnz3r wrote:
My friend was having the same problem with Firefox and I think he had to switch to 0.8 using gtk1 in order to make it work. However, the bright side is that 0.9 final is out now. :D


:( I'm not really planning on downgrading now ... :? I remember, as 0.8 came out, I had some issues with that one as well ... They'll just go away sooner or later :D

BTW. All this was/is happening to me with the final version ... only some *grin* nice */grin* Admins decided, that there were too many topics on firefox, so they closed the topic with firefox 0.9.

So I guess this one counts as the "official topic" for 0.9 final as well :(
_________________
"The future masters of technology will have to be lighthearted and intelligent. The machine easily masters the grim and the dumb."
Marshall McLuhan, 1969
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyMullins
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Location: Coventry, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The new theme is absolutely beautiful to my eyes. The old theme was ameaturish and flat, whereas the new one looks polished and clear.

Screenshot:

http://www.dcs.warwick.ac.uk/~andy/myscreen.gif
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dav1d
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 31 Dec 2003
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As 0.9 final is out, shall I be the first with the obligatory comment - any ebuild? (or has that already been posted)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AndyMullins wrote:
The new theme is absolutely beautiful to my eyes. The old theme was ameaturish and flat, whereas the new one looks polished and clear.

Screenshot:

http://www.dcs.warwick.ac.uk/~andy/myscreen.gif
AW! That looks abolutely gorgeous! Thanks for sharing, Andy!
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dav1d wrote:
As 0.9 final is out, shall I be the first with the obligatory comment - any ebuild? (or has that already been posted)
I asked for an RC ebuild, but yea...
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dav1d wrote:
As 0.9 final is out, shall I be the first with the obligatory comment - any ebuild? (or has that already been posted)


no i beleve i was first, but aparently my thread is a dup of this one, i dont think so, and this didn't show up in a search for firefox 0.9.


https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=1244275#1244275
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Posts: 210
Location: TgMures, RO

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's an ebuild on bugzilla ( https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=53961 ).

As for my problem - :oops: - and if anybody ecounters it: you should not run is as root the first time after installing. after emerge, make sure you run it first with a non-root user.
_________________
"The future masters of technology will have to be lighthearted and intelligent. The machine easily masters the grim and the dumb."
Marshall McLuhan, 1969
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes DSD added it, it doesn't work but still, comment #3 is funny, MAKE YOUR OWN ICON THEN!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syscrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 541

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't seem to compile for me, same error as the one posted on bugzilla.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Al_bin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Large forest: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here.. it should be possible to compile it from cvs.
_________________
Life is like a rpm system, dependency hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
placeholder
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 2500

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heh. Firefox isn't just evolving itself but it's slowly beginning to take over the web browser market. My source for that is here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Al_bin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Large forest: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyone i know uses Firefox or Opera, IE is not a option anymore. :twisted:
_________________
Life is like a rpm system, dependency hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syscrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 541

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that it isn't our fault for firefox not building.
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=246881
The source tarball is missing a directory :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Al_bin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Large forest: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope they fix it soon becouse i want to build it NOW. :wink:
_________________
Life is like a rpm system, dependency hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codergeek42
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 05 Apr 2004
Posts: 5142
Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Al_bin wrote:
I hope they fix it soon becouse i want to build it NOW. :wink:
Same here...

No working Firefox 0.9 ebuild makes me :cry: ...
_________________
~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Al_bin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Large forest: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you can use the bin-ebuild.
_________________
Life is like a rpm system, dependency hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 2 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum