Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Acer Aspire 1501/1511LMI
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
t0mcat
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2004
Posts: 111
Location: Catania, Italy

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

update for the wlan in Gentoo AMD64:
i'm writing from my garden, without any wires, just after installed ndiswrapper 1.0 rc3 (manually compiled from SF archive) and Windows 64-bit beta Broadcom drivers.
:D
here are some links:

ndiswrapper 1.0rc3

Broadcom WinXP64bit driver

;)
_________________
il gattaccio
a.k.a etienne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which nb do you have? I have 1501LMi but it seems that I can't turn my wifi on. On Windows, it connects to other computer (ad-hoc, not access point), however I can't find that computer on linux (iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc; iwlist scan). Everything seems to be OK, channel number etc. The button that turns wifi on/off on Windows doesn't work in linux: it seems that it is handled by a windows program that turns on/off broadcom wifi itself. I already tried iwpriv - it shows cca 10 ioctls but ndis_reset did nothing and the second one I tried freezed the computer.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thaldyron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 227
Location: On Earth

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To monitor the temperature of your harddisk with hddtemp (works for Aspire 1501LMi) add the following lines to
/usr/share/hddtemp/hddtemp.db
after emerging hddtemp:
Code:
"HITACHI_DK23FA-60" 194 C "HITACHI_DK23FA-60"


Now you can monitor your temperature with:
Code:

>> hddtemp /dev/hda
/dev/hda: HITACHI_DK23FA-60: 59 C
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techko
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Location: Presov - Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:44 pm    Post subject: new bios is out Reply with quote

I found new bios for my baby:)I haven't noticed much changes after upgrade(didn't spend too much time looking for it btw..)...check it out anyway...


ftp://ftp.support.acer-euro.com/notebook/aspire_1510/bios/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MagicTom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Nancy, France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

t0mcat wrote:
update for the wlan in Gentoo AMD64:
i'm writing from my garden, without any wires, just after installed ndiswrapper 1.0 rc3 (manually compiled from SF archive) and Windows 64-bit beta Broadcom drivers.
:D


t0mcat, I just LOVE you !
If I hadn't read this message I wouldn't have tried ndiswrapper for months. And now I've just unplugged my RJ-45 wire and I'm still connected...
THANKS :!:
:D
_________________
There's no place like ::1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Albert_Alligator
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2004
Posts: 193
Location: Okefenokee Swamp

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The driver won't download from that site....is there anywhere else I can get a driver from....god I hate Broadcom.....worse than Microsoft....because Microsoft has a reason for being twits.
_________________
As Socrates once said "I drank what?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frocksii
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Nov 2003
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Albert_Alligator wrote:
The driver won't download from that site....is there anywhere else I can get a driver from....god I hate Broadcom.....worse than Microsoft....because Microsoft has a reason for being twits.


here it worked (and the wifi driver works fine here too...), so pm me and i will mail the driver, it's not very big.

frocksii
_________________
Acer Aspire 1511 : AMD64 3000+ (1.8 ghz 1024 kb)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thaldyron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 227
Location: On Earth

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone got IRDA working yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried to but it looks like the driver needed for our chip on a 1500 series aspire is not 64bit-stable. don't remember the module's name right now but some examples listed on tuxmobile say which driver is needed for a 32bit install. This driver is not available on a 64bit install cause it has a dependency on ISA which is not available too. Don't know if it will ever be useable, haven't tried too much but would be interested too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigelhannam
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2003
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The wbsd module for the Winbond MMC / SD reader that was added to the kernel recently also now requires ISA (in the 2.6.11 rlease candidates).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Mon Feb 28, 2005 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this will change in a future release, for now changing the dependency manually in drivers/mmc/Kconfig is a simple solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stelinux
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Irda driver is nsc-ircc and you must set isa on arch/Kconfig
I try to use and only one time I obtained replay from irattach.
_________________
stelinux on i7 950 12GB 1600 8/8/8
gentoo 10.0/desktop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thaldyron
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 227
Location: On Earth

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In case anyone is planning to do a memory upgrade on this machine, I strongly suggest to use Kingston Memory which is certified for the Aspire 1500 series. I was trying a few other brands first, all of which led to an unstable system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have upgraded to 1gb of ram using two one-sided Apacer memory modules (some guy wrote that one-sided modules are needed, see http://www.geocities.com/alabronzazaame/ACER1502LMi.html section Upgrade) and they are working perfectly. 1gb is quite enough if you don't use Poseidon (a Java UML modeller eating up to 400mb of memory :-) at least it works on linux)
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bverheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Vlaanderen

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 11:51 am    Post subject: MMC/SD card reader Reply with quote

Did anyone get the MMC/SD card reader working on the Aspire 1500 series?

I succesfully compiled the Winbond wbsd module included in the gentoo-sources 2.6.12-r4. But on loading the module I get the response 'killed'. And dmesg shows the following output:
Code:
wbsd: Winbond W83L51xD SD/MMC card interface driver, 1.2
wbsd: Copyright(c) Pierre Ossman
Unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at 0000000000000000 RIP:
<ffffffff880f9a00>{:wbsd:wbsd_request_dma+144}
PGD 132de067 PUD 13238067 PMD 0
Oops: 0000 [1] PREEMPT
CPU 0
Modules linked in: wbsd mmc_core snd_pcm_oss snd_mixer_oss snd_seq_oss snd_seq_midi_event snd_seq evdev usbhid usbmouse powernow_k8 thermal processor battery snd_via82xx snd_ac97_codec snd_pcm snd_timer snd_page_alloc snd_mpu401_uart snd_rawmidi snd_seq_device snd soundcore uhci_hcd usbcore tg3
Pid: 8396, comm: modprobe Not tainted 2.6.12-gentoo-r4
RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff880f9a00>] <ffffffff880f9a00>{:wbsd:wbsd_request_dma+144}
RSP: 0018:ffff810013145dd8  EFLAGS: 00010293
RAX: 0000000000000000 RBX: ffff810013218cd8 RCX: ffff8100004b0000
RDX: 00000000004c0000 RSI: ffff8100166aba10 RDI: 0000000000000001
RBP: 00000000004b0000 R08: ffff81001feed4a0 R09: ffff81001feed4b0
R10: 0000000000000004 R11: 0000000000000000 R12: 0000000000000002
R13: 0000000000000002 R14: 0000000000000006 R15: 0000000000000000
FS:  00002aaaaade3ae0(0000) GS:ffffffff804a37c0(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000
CS:  0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
CR2: 0000000000000000 CR3: 00000000132ef000 CR4: 00000000000006e0
Process modprobe (pid: 8396, threadinfo ffff810013144000, task ffff81001e1490b0)Stack: ffff810013218cd8 0000000000000006 0000000000000002 ffffffff880f9c5c
       0000000000000000 ffff8100166aba10 ffff810013218cd8 ffffffff880f9f8a
       ffff810013218c00 ffffffff880fb980
Call Trace:<ffffffff880f9c5c>{:wbsd:wbsd_request_resources+60}
       <ffffffff880f9f8a>{:wbsd:wbsd_init+138} <ffffffff80273a0d>{driver_probe_device+77}
       <ffffffff80273a93>{device_attach+83} <ffffffff80273dbd>{bus_add_device+109}
       <ffffffff80272b05>{device_add+165} <ffffffff8027588c>{platform_device_register+236}
       <ffffffff80275a11>{platform_device_register_simple+161}
       <ffffffff880fd047>{:wbsd:wbsd_drv_init+71} <ffffffff8014a4ad>{sys_init_module+301}
       <ffffffff8010d7fa>{system_call+126}

Code: 48 8b 00 48 f7 d0 48 85 d0 74 05 e8 00 54 01 f8 48 89 6b 50
RIP <ffffffff880f9a00>{:wbsd:wbsd_request_dma+144} RSP <ffff810013145dd8>
CR2: 0000000000000000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pagaman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 25
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2005 7:40 pm    Post subject: Re: MMC/SD card reader Reply with quote

bverheg wrote:
Did anyone get the MMC/SD card reader working on the Aspire 1500 series?


I've got an aspire 1520, if the MMC/sd card reader is the same as mine, you need to use the yenta pcmcia kernel
Thing....
It should the appear as a generic SCSI device.
_________________
History only remembers great people by forgetting their mistakes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dangertools
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 278
Location: Saalfelden, Austria

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:02 pm    Post subject: Re: MMC/SD card reader Reply with quote

bverheg wrote:
Did anyone get the MMC/SD card reader working on the Aspire 1500 series?


didn't try pierre ossman's patches against 2.6.12 but the driver included in the kernel works. i have used the sd-patched driver before with 2.6.11 which worked like a charm. only one thing is a bit nasty: acer didn't connect the dma-pin so transfers are only in PIO-mode possible and so cpu load raises up to 100% during transfer. when you have problems patching the kernel read my howto, it's linked on the wbsd projectpage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bverheg
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Sep 2002
Posts: 39
Location: Vlaanderen

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the kernel OOPS with the driver included in 2.6.12.
As I understand it, the problem is related with DMA-mode not being available.

After enabling PNP and PNPACPI in the kernel config, the problems with the wbsd module were gone.
I still get this message after loading the module:
Code:
wbsd: PnP active but chip not configured! You probably have a buggy BIOS. Configuring chip manually.

but everything seems to work. Now I can get the images from my digital camera without having to use the USB cable.

dangertools: Maybe you can add a hint about enabling PNP/PNPACPI in your (great) howto? Also, where you talk about manual creation of the device nodes, you use the major 254. On my system the device nodes were auto-created with major 253 (probably because 254 was already taken).
Creating them manually with the commands in your howto would not have worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trickey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Location: ile de france, France

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2006 11:43 am    Post subject: Acer 1501Lmi overheating problem Reply with quote

Hey there,

During new OS installations my laptop "Acer 1501LMi" overheats and shutsdown be it a MSwindows or Gentoo installation. I have updated the bios with version 1.07 but still doesnt seem to help much... any idees how to solve the heating prob ? I have alos tried activating ACPI when booting from cd wich seemed to work a little better but after executing "emerge gentoo-source" it overheated again and shutdown...


greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trickey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Location: ile de france, France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could some1 post a copy of there kernel made on a acer 1501Lmi ??? as i am not able to compile without this darn laptop overheating...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voyageur
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 342
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ACPI itself won't help much with overheating, the interesting one is cpufreq, which will slow down the CPU (and prevent overheating), when used with the powersave governor for exemple (there is also a daemon that can monitor your acpi temperature and switch governors to slow down the proc and prevent overheating).

(sorry I can't be more specific on kernel options, at work ATM)
_________________
Routinely breaking NX, GNUstep, net-ftp, miscellaneous (llvm, filezilla, rdesktop, chromium, ...) packages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Trickey
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Location: ile de france, France

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's ALIVE muhahahaha.... *lol*

I have finaly managed to get gentoo up and running... with the livecd I used the "gentoo-nofb doapm" option and took my laptop outside on our cement balcony where it was windy and freaking cold round about -4 degrees i reacon. After compiling the kernel and stepping the CPU down to 800MHZ i was able to compile Xorg and KDE inside room tempreture without the laptop overheating =D

greetz Trickey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vyzivus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 173
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trickey wrote:
It's ALIVE muhahahaha.... *lol*

I have finaly managed to get gentoo up and running... with the livecd I used the "gentoo-nofb doapm" option and took my laptop outside on our cement balcony where it was windy and freaking cold round about -4 degrees i reacon. After compiling the kernel and stepping the CPU down to 800MHZ i was able to compile Xorg and KDE inside room tempreture without the laptop overheating =D

greetz Trickey

Interesting. My 1501LMi overheated when the cooling paths were filled with dust. When compiling something, CPU went easily over 95C (you can use gkrellm to measure the temperatures, no need for lm_sensors to be installed, just have ACPI support, Processor and Thermal Zone compiled in the kernel), the fan went crazy and the CPU switched itself to 800mhz. You may blow into the air vents to clean them a bit. You may aswell dismount the front panel and clean the fan. Normally, you should not get temperatures greater than 80C (at 1,8Ghz 100% CPU usage) and when the CPU is at 800Mhz 0% usage the average temperature should be near 50C.
You may check https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-245197.html on how to keep your notebook even cooler, with no performance drop.
_________________
I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lawprier
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Feb 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: howto Reply with quote

I made a howto of installing gentoo in acer aspire 1522 wlmi one year ago when bought it.
Ndiswrapper is masked in portage, but i emerged it with ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" and it works perfectly. Repeating keys happens also in this model, and changing in KDE as told here before dont seem to change it. Pcmcia works too. At the link there you can get xorg.conf .config and all other interesting config files.
Hope this helps someone.
_________________
... y ella se juntan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hardcoded
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a aspire 1511LMI,

Can someone post the config.opts script.
My PCMCIA doesnt work.
This is what cardmgr says:

localhost ~ # cardmgr
cardmgr[7197]: watching 1 socket
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: IO ports 0xc00-0xcff: Input/output error
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: IO ports 0x800-0x8ff: Input/output error
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: IO ports 0x100-0x4ff: Input/output error
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: memory 0xc0000-0xfffff: Input/output error
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: memory 0x60000000-0x60ffffff: Input/output error
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: memory 0xa0000000-0xa0ffffff: Input/output error
cardmgr[7197]: could not adjust resource: IO ports 0xa00-0xaff: Input/output error
localhost ~ #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum