qmail - "User over quota" problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mmclean
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:19 am    Post subject: qmail - "User over quota" problem Reply with quote

I've been running qmail now for over 5 months now and have recently startied encountering what appears to be a random problem.

Every now a then when a user receives an email a bounce message is sent back to the sender indicating that the user is over quota, and thus giving the sender the impression that the message did not get through. However, this is not the case, as the message still gets through, every time.

There is also no quota set on the amount of hard drive space a user may use. In fact this problem is affecting users with disk usages between 20MB and 140MB, but not everyone is being affected.

After doing a little research I found a couple of similar posts. One of them indicated that the Maildir directory was not created properly. However, in my case the folders were created correctly and had been working for a couple of months before this problem started. One suggested solution was that there needs to be a .qmail file in every user's directory, but this problem is affecting both those with and without the .qmail files. Technically, if a .qmail file isn't present, the default is used instead.

Another person had a similar problem, but eventually said that he had fixed it and that the problem was due to a config problem, but failed to mention what the fix was.

Does someone know what causes this "User over quota" problem. It is really starting to get annoying, espescially to those outside that keep getting the bounce messages.

Thanks
adaptr
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote