Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Which CFLAGS to you use to install gentoo-x86 on Athlon64 ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
_kal_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 602
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By looking here: http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-3.3/gcc/Optimize-Options.html
It saw that we shouldn't turn on -fomit-frame-pointer when we use -O2 optimisation because it's even included.

So, correct cflags are :
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -fno-ident"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"


But i still don't know if -fno-ident is safe or not :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nxsty
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 1556
Location: .se

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

_kal_ wrote:
By looking here: http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-3.3/gcc/Optimize-Options.html
It saw that we shouldn't turn on -fomit-frame-pointer when we use -O2 optimisation because it's even included.

So, correct cflags are :
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -fno-ident"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"


But i still don't know if -fno-ident is safe or not :?


As I said, -fomit-frame-pointer os not included in -O2 on x86.

-fno-idents is safe but wont gain you anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_kal_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 602
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nxsty wrote:
_kal_ wrote:
By looking here: http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-3.3/gcc/Optimize-Options.html
It saw that we shouldn't turn on -fomit-frame-pointer when we use -O2 optimisation because it's even included.

So, correct cflags are :
Code:
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -fno-ident"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"


But i still don't know if -fno-ident is safe or not :?


As I said, -fomit-frame-pointer os not included in -O2 on x86.

-fno-idents is safe but wont gain you anything.


Ok thank you!
By the way, should i set Athlon64 n my kernel config or Athlon/Duron/K7 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carpman
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 2202
Location: London - UK

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

any suggestions for x86 on amd64 using gcc4.1 glib 2.4?

Just in process of building new system using jackass stage3 which is built using:

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"

CFLAGS="-march=i686"

CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -O2"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fomit-frame-pointer"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -pipe"

CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"

LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--sort-common -s"


cheers
_________________
Work Station - 64bit
Gigabyte GA X48-DQ6 Core2duo E8400
8GB GSkill DDR2-1066
SATA Areca 1210 Raid
BFG OC2 8800 GTS 640mb
--------------------------------
Notebook
Samsung Q45 7100 4gb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monkeh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 1656
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same as for 64-bit. -march=k8 -O2 -pipe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_kal_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 602
Location: Paris

PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still wondering what processor should I set in Kernel Configuration :

Athlon64 or Athlon/Duron/K7 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GhePeU
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 549
Location: Mestre, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

_kal_ wrote:
I'm still wondering what processor should I set in Kernel Configuration :

Athlon64 or Athlon/Duron/K7 ?


same question...
_________________
That is not dead which can eternal lie,
and with strange aeons even death may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RushPL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Poland, Gdansk

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GhePeU wrote:
_kal_ wrote:
I'm still wondering what processor should I set in Kernel Configuration :

Athlon64 or Athlon/Duron/K7 ?


same question...

smae question :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jathlon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Sep 2006
Posts: 88
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:44 am    Post subject: Try it - you might like it. Reply with quote

I haven't tried this, but I'm sure it wouldn't take that long to find out. If you have a 32bit version of Linux installed, will a 32bit version of gcc build a 64bit kernel? If it compiles, does it run? If it runs, is it stable? Make sure you have a stable kernel handy if you need it. A couple of minutes with the docs for grub or lilo will tell you how to install a couple of kernels side by side.

If you do decide to build the 64bit kernel make sure that under;

Executable file formats / Emulations you select;

IA32 Emulation.

Without the IA32 Emulation, I suspect that a 64bit kernel won't run any 32bit code. The first bit of 32bit code that would try to run is 'init'. Right after the kernel finishes booting. No init, no useable system.

I use lilo, but it seems to me that grub isn't any harder to add a second kernel to. This is what my lilo.conf looks like.
Code:

l# more /etc/lilo.conf
lba32
boot = /dev/sda
menu-scheme=Wb
prompt
timeout=30
vga = 0x4
image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-gentoo
        root = /dev/sda7
        label = Gentoo
        read-only
image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18
        root = /dev/sda7
        label = Gentoo-vanilla
        read-only
other = /dev/sda1
        #other = /devices/discs/disc0/part1
        label = WinXP
        table = /dev/sda


I guess what I'm suggesting is that until some guru comes along and gives you "The Truth" you could probably try it and find out for yourself. Shouldn't take more than half an hour if your careful about setting up your bootloader. If you don't know how to use the install CD to restore you're original kernel and bootloader configuration file perhaps you better wait for a guru to give you "The Truth."

Good luck, and if you do try it, let us know the results. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monkeh
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 1656
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RushPL wrote:
GhePeU wrote:
_kal_ wrote:
I'm still wondering what processor should I set in Kernel Configuration :

Athlon64 or Athlon/Duron/K7 ?


same question...

smae question :)


Athlon 64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GhePeU
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2003
Posts: 549
Location: Mestre, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monkeh wrote:
RushPL wrote:
GhePeU wrote:
_kal_ wrote:
I'm still wondering what processor should I set in Kernel Configuration :

Athlon64 or Athlon/Duron/K7 ?


same question...

smae question :)


Athlon 64.


thank you

@jathlon: well, the problem is that I don't own an Athlon64, now, so I couldn't test the options. I'm going to buy one in the next weeks and I'm gathering informations :)
_________________
That is not dead which can eternal lie,
and with strange aeons even death may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RushPL
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Poland, Gdansk

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2006 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Monkeh wrote:

Athlon 64.

Thank you.

GhePeU wrote:

@jathlon: well, the problem is that I don't own an Athlon64, now, so I couldn't test the options. I'm going to buy one in the next weeks and I'm gathering informations :)

Same here. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum