Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vainser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:01 pm    Post subject: broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255 Reply with quote

i need to use these commands to be able to bridge through my alcatel home dsl pro modem ....


Code:
ifconfig eth0 IP broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255
route add 10.0.0.138 dev eth0
route add default gw 10.0.0.138


in the /etc/conf.d/net script my settings are :

Code:
iface_eth0="IP broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255"

gateway="eth0/10.0.0.138"


this never initializes properly... i'm not much of a script expert at the moment still learning ... i've tried to search for the problem on the boards... thanks for any help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pilla
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 07 Aug 2002
Posts: 7729
Location: Underworld

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:20 pm    Post subject: Re: broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255 Reply with quote

Your broadcast should be something like 10.0.0.255 and your netmask should be something like 255.255.255.0

(probably)

vainser wrote:
i need to use these commands to be able to bridge through my alcatel home dsl pro modem ....


Code:
ifconfig eth0 IP broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255
route add 10.0.0.138 dev eth0
route add default gw 10.0.0.138


in the /etc/conf.d/net script my settings are :

Code:
iface_eth0="IP broadcast 255.255.255.255 netmask 255.255.255.255"

gateway="eth0/10.0.0.138"


this never initializes properly... i'm not much of a script expert at the moment still learning ... i've tried to search for the problem on the boards... thanks for any help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vainser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, well i've configured my ADSL modem to bridge the connection ... can find how it works here if you can read dutch

http://jp.dhs.org/~jp/

the only way i can initialize my card is too type the commands in manualy but that breaks the script (samba and xinetd wont load if /etc/init.d/net.eth0 doesn't initialize properly)

i rebooted my box and see that the problem is in the 2 "route" commands... because if after the reboot i "ifconfig eth0 up" it initiazes with the correct settings...

i need to run

Code:

route add 10.0.0.138 dev eth0
route add default gw 10.0.0.138


in this order but the default init script does it differently... and since it cant run these commands properly it does "ifconfig eth0 down" hope this informs you a bit better of my dillemna :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vainser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2002 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i was thinking of removing gateway from "/etc/conf.d/net"

and adding the route commands to the end of "/etc/conf.d/local.start" will that break my firewall script ? if it runs before local.start ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20067

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2002 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might be able to put a script to /etc/init.d/ and add it with rc-update. If the script comes before your firewall script (in an alphabetical sense), this might do what you need.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vainser
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Sep 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2002 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i commented the gateway settings out /etc/conf.d/net and added them to the local script ... it initializes correctly now ... thanks guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum