Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OUCH /etc/init.d/net.etho is empty
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
linuxbum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 131
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:03 pm    Post subject: OUCH /etc/init.d/net.etho is empty Reply with quote

OK
So after todays emerge -world
I reboot and the eth0 is not functional.
I thoght I told etc-update to leave it alone maybe not. :-(
Mine only contains:
#!/sbin/runscript

Anyway can some one post their /etc/init.d/net.eth0 ?

I would try PP0 but it may not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(from sys-apps/baselayout-1.9.3)
Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2004 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/init.d/net.eth0,v 1.41 2004/05/10 14:16:35 agriffis Exp $

#NB: Config is in /etc/conf.d/net

if [[ -n $NET_DEBUG ]]; then
   set -x
   devnull=/dev/stderr
else
   devnull=/dev/null
fi

# For pcmcia users. note that pcmcia must be added to the same
# runlevel as the net.* script that needs it.
depend() {
   use hotplug pcmcia
}

checkconfig() {
   if [[ -z "${ifconfig_IFACE}" ]]; then
      eerror "Please make sure that /etc/conf.d/net has \$ifconfig_$IFACE set"
      eerror "(or \$iface_$IFACE for old-style configuration)"
      return 1
   fi
   if [[ -n "${vlans_IFACE}" && ! -x /sbin/vconfig ]]; then
      eerror "For VLAN (802.1q) support, emerge net-misc/vconfig"
      return 1
   fi
}

# Fix bug 50039 (init.d/net.eth0 localization)
# Some other commands in this script might need to be wrapped, but
# we'll get them one-by-one.  Note that LC_ALL trumps LC_anything_else
# according to locale(7)
ifconfig() {
   LC_ALL=C /sbin/ifconfig "$@"
}

# setup_vars: setup variables based on $1 and content of /etc/conf.d/net
# The following variables are set, which should be declared local by
# the calling routine.
#   status_IFACE         (up or '')
#   vlans_IFACE            (space-separated list)
#   ifconfig_IFACE         (array of ifconfig lines, replaces iface_IFACE)
#   dhcpcd_IFACE         (command-line args for dhcpcd)
#   routes_IFACE         (array of route lines)
#   inet6_IFACE            (array of inet6 lines)
#   ifconfig_fallback_IFACE   (fallback ifconfig if dhcp fails)
setup_vars() {
   local i iface="${1//\./_}"

   status_IFACE="$(ifconfig ${1} 2>${devnull} | gawk '$1 == "UP" {print "up"}')"
   eval vlans_IFACE=\"\$\{iface_${iface}_vlans\}\"
   eval ifconfig_IFACE=( \"\$\{ifconfig_$iface\[@\]\}\" )
   eval dhcpcd_IFACE=\"\$\{dhcpcd_$iface\}\"
   eval routes_IFACE=( \"\$\{routes_$iface\[@\]\}\" )
   eval inet6_IFACE=( \"\$\{inet6_$iface\[@\]\}\" )
   eval ifconfig_fallback_IFACE=( \"\$\{ifconfig_fallback_$iface\[@\]\}\" )

   # BACKWARD COMPATIBILITY: populate the ifconfig_IFACE array
   # if iface_IFACE is set (fex. iface_eth0 instead of ifconfig_eth0)
   eval local iface_IFACE=\"\$\{iface_$iface\}\"
   if [[ -n ${iface_IFACE} && -z ${ifconfig_IFACE} ]]; then
      # Make sure these get evaluated as arrays
      local -a aliases broadcasts netmasks

      # Start with the primary interface
      ifconfig_IFACE=( "${iface_IFACE}" )

      # ..then add aliases
      eval aliases=( \$\{alias_$iface\} )
      eval broadcasts=( \$\{broadcast_$iface\} )
      eval netmasks=( \$\{netmask_$iface\} )
      for ((i = 0; i < ${#aliases[@]}; i = i + 1)); do
         ifconfig_IFACE[i+1]="${aliases[i]} ${broadcasts[i]:+broadcast ${broadcasts[i]}} ${netmasks[i]:+netmask ${netmasks[i]}}"
      done
   fi

   # BACKWARD COMPATIBILITY: check for space-separated inet6 addresses
   if [[ ${#inet6_IFACE[@]} == 1 && ${inet6_IFACE} == *' '* ]]; then
      inet6_IFACE=( ${inet6_IFACE} )
   fi
}

iface_start() {
   local IFACE=${1} i x retval
   checkconfig || return 1

   if [[ ${ifconfig_IFACE} != dhcp ]]; then
      # Show the address, but catch if this interface will be inet6 only
      i=${ifconfig_IFACE%% *}
      if [[ ${i} == *.*.*.* ]]; then
         ebegin "Bringing ${IFACE} up (${i})"
      else
         ebegin "Bringing ${IFACE} up"
      fi
      # ifconfig does not always return failure ..
      ifconfig ${IFACE} ${ifconfig_IFACE} >${devnull} && \
      ifconfig ${IFACE} up &>${devnull}
      eend $? || return $?
   else
      # Check that eth0 was not brought up by the kernel ...
      if [[ ${status_IFACE} == up ]]; then
         einfo "Keeping kernel configuration for ${IFACE}"
      else
         ebegin "Bringing ${IFACE} up via DHCP"
         /sbin/dhcpcd ${dhcpcd_IFACE} ${IFACE}
         retval=$?
         eend $retval
         if [[ $retval == 0 ]]; then
            # DHCP succeeded, show address retrieved
            i=$(ifconfig ${IFACE} | grep -m1 -o 'inet addr:[^ ]*' |
               cut -d: -f2)
            [[ -n ${i} ]] && einfo "  ${IFACE} received address ${i}"
         elif [[ -n "${ifconfig_fallback_IFACE}" ]]; then
            # DHCP failed, try fallback.
            # Show the address, but catch if this interface will be inet6 only
            i=${ifconfig_fallback_IFACE%% *}
            if [[ ${i} == *.*.*.* ]]; then
               ebegin "Using fallback configuration (${i}) for ${IFACE}"
            else
               ebegin "Using fallback configuration for ${IFACE}"
            fi
            ifconfig ${IFACE} ${ifconfig_fallback_IFACE} >${devnull} && \
            ifconfig ${IFACE} up &>${devnull}
            eend $? || return $?
         else
            return $retval
         fi
      fi
   fi

   if [[ ${#ifconfig_IFACE[@]} -gt 1 ]]; then
      einfo "  Adding aliases"
      for ((i = 1; i < ${#ifconfig_IFACE[@]}; i = i + 1)); do
         ebegin "    ${IFACE}:${i} (${ifconfig_IFACE[i]%% *})"
         ifconfig ${IFACE}:${i} ${ifconfig_IFACE[i]}
         eend $?
      done
   fi

   if [[ -n ${inet6_IFACE} ]]; then
      einfo "  Adding inet6 addresses"
      for ((i = 0; i < ${#inet6_IFACE[@]}; i = i + 1)); do
         ebegin "    ${IFACE} inet6 add ${inet6_IFACE[i]}"
         ifconfig ${IFACE} inet6 add ${inet6_IFACE[i]} >${devnull}
         eend $?
      done
   fi

   # Set static routes
   if [[ -n ${routes_IFACE} ]]; then
      einfo "  Adding routes"
      for ((i = 0; i < ${#routes_IFACE[@]}; i = i + 1)); do
         ebegin "    ${routes_IFACE[i]}"
         /sbin/route add ${routes_IFACE[i]}
         eend $?
      done
   fi

   # Set default route if applicable to this interface
   if [[ ${gateway} == ${IFACE}/* ]]; then
      local ogw=$(/bin/netstat -rn | awk '$1 == "0.0.0.0" {print $2}')
      local gw=${gateway#*/}
      if [[ ${ogw} != ${gw} ]]; then
         ebegin "  Setting default gateway ($gw)"

         # First delete any existing route if it was setup by kernel...
         /sbin/route del default dev ${IFACE} &>${devnull}

         # Second delete old gateway if it was set...
         /sbin/route del default gw ${ogw} &>${devnull}

         # Third add our new default gateway
         /sbin/route add default gw ${gw} >${devnull}
         eend $? || {
            true # need to have some command in here
            # Note: This originally called stop, which is obviously
            # wrong since it's calling with a local version of IFACE.
            # The below code works correctly to abort configuration of
            # the interface, but is commented because we're assuming
            # that default route failure should not cause the interface
            # to be unconfigured.
            #local error=$?
            #ewarn "Aborting configuration of ${IFACE}"
            #iface_stop ${IFACE}
            #return ${error}
         }
      fi
   fi

   # Enabling rp_filter causes wacky packets to be auto-dropped by
   # the kernel.  Note that we only do this if it is not set via
   # /etc/sysctl.conf ...
   if [[ -e /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/${IFACE}/rp_filter && \
         -z "$(grep -s '^[^#]*rp_filter' /etc/sysctl.conf)" ]]; then
      echo -n 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf/${IFACE}/rp_filter
   fi
}

# iface_stop: bring down an interface.  Don't trust information in
# /etc/conf.d/net since the configuration might have changed since
# iface_start ran.  Instead query for current configuration and bring
# down the interface.
iface_stop() {
   local IFACE=${1} i x aliases inet6 count

   # Try to do a simple down (no aliases, no inet6, no dhcp)
   aliases="$(ifconfig | grep -o "^$IFACE:[0-9]*" | tac)"
   inet6="$(ifconfig ${IFACE} | awk '$1 == "inet6" {print $2}')"
   if [[ -z ${aliases} && -z ${inet6} && ! -e /var/run/dhcpcd-${IFACE}.pid ]]; then
      ebegin "Bringing ${IFACE} down"
      ifconfig ${IFACE} down &>/dev/null
      eend 0
      return 0
   fi

   einfo "Bringing ${IFACE} down"

   # Stop aliases before primary interface.
   # Note this must be done in reverse order, since ifconfig eth0:1
   # will remove eth0:2, etc.  It might be sufficient to simply remove
   # the base interface but we're being safe here.
   for i in ${aliases} ${IFACE}; do

      # Delete all the inet6 addresses for this interface
      inet6="$(ifconfig ${i} | awk '$1 == "inet6" {print $3}')"
      if [[ -n ${inet6} ]]; then
         einfo "  Removing inet6 addresses"
         for x in ${inet6}; do
            ebegin "    ${IFACE} inet6 del ${x}"
            ifconfig ${i} inet6 del ${x}
            eend $?
         done
      fi

      # Stop DHCP (should be N/A for aliases)
      # Don't trust current configuration... investigate ourselves
      if /sbin/dhcpcd -z ${i} &>${devnull}; then
         ebegin "  Releasing DHCP lease for ${IFACE}"
         for ((count = 0; count < 9; count = count + 1)); do
            /sbin/dhcpcd -z ${i} &>${devnull} || break
            sleep 1
         done
         [[ ${count} -lt 9 ]]
         eend $? "Timed out"
      fi
      ebegin "  Stopping ${i}"
      ifconfig ${i} down &>${devnull}
      eend 0
   done

   return 0
}

start() {
   # These variables are set by setup_vars
   local status_IFACE vlans_IFACE dhcpcd_IFACE
   local -a ifconfig_IFACE routes_IFACE inet6_IFACE

   # Call user-defined preup function if it exists
   if [[ $(type -t preup) == function ]]; then
      einfo "Running preup function"
      preup ${IFACE} || {
         eerror "preup ${IFACE} failed"
         return 1
      }
   fi

   # Start the primary interface and aliases
   setup_vars ${IFACE}
   iface_start ${IFACE} || return 1

   # Start vlans
   local vlan
   for vlan in ${vlans_IFACE}; do
      /sbin/vconfig add ${IFACE} ${vlan} >${devnull}
      setup_vars ${IFACE}.${vlan}
      iface_start ${IFACE}.${vlan}
   done

   # Call user-defined postup function if it exists
   if [[ $(type -t postup) == function ]]; then
      einfo "Running postup function"
      postup ${IFACE}
   fi
}

stop() {
   # Call user-defined predown function if it exists
   if [[ $(type -t predown) == function ]]; then
      einfo "Running predown function"
      predown ${IFACE}
   fi

   # Don't depend on setup_vars since configuration might have changed.
   # Investigate current configuration instead.
   local vlan
   for vlan in $(ifconfig | grep -o "^${IFACE}\.[^ ]*"); do
      iface_stop ${vlan}
      /sbin/vconfig rem ${vlan} >${devnull}
   done

   iface_stop ${IFACE} || return 1  # always succeeds, btw

   # Call user-defined postdown function if it exists
   if [[ $(type -t postdown) == function ]]; then
      einfo "Running postdown function"
      postdown ${IFACE}
   fi
}

# vim:ts=4


Note: You might have to remove the spaces from the end of each line that ends in a backslash or a quote.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alternatively, grab http://gentoo.oregonstate.edu/distfiles/rc-scripts-1.4.14.tar.bz2 and extract it from there.
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxbum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 131
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moocha

That was the emerge that broke it !!!

Thanks

Bryan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moocha
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 5722
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2004 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird, mine went without a hitch... Perhaps you accidentally mistyped a number in etc-update and it turned evil on you? Happened to me a few times - so I switched to dispatch-conf, which rocks (search forum for documentation on it).
_________________
Military Commissions Act of 2006: http://tinyurl.com/jrcto

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
-- attributed to Benjamin Franklin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linuxbum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 131
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moocha

Yea I suspect I type wrong response to etc-update :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ladynik0n
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Apr 2004
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 10:08 pm    Post subject: odd.. Reply with quote

I was intalling gentoo 2004.1 on my p4 laptop and I had a similar problem.. I didnt reboot i was doing a emerge ati-drivers... X emerged ok but when it went to the next thing to emerge it said that there was no route to host. I typed ifconfig and eth0 was down. I had to do a manual setup to get the networking working again.. but it was odd how it just disappeared.

Any other oddities? :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum