Wireless card dies during 'emerge sync'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
phidias
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2002 12:45 am    Post subject: Wireless card dies during 'emerge sync' Reply with quote

This is my first time with Gentoo, though I've used other flavors of Linux (and a couple BSDs) for a few years. I'm trying to do an install of 1.4rc1 from stage 1. My machine has two NICs: a 3com 10/100 ethernet nic which isn't currently in use, and a linksys wireless PCI card (I don't remember the model number offhand; I doubt that it's very important?). The linksys card is only a couple months old, and has worked flawlessly for me in winXP.

When I boot off the cd ifconfig only lists eth0, my 3com card, and lo. I do 'modprobe orinoco_pci', and then 'pci-setup', and eth1 shows up in ifconfig. I then run 'iwconfig eth1 essid "mynetworkname"'. Running 'iwconfig' at this point reports a working connection to the wireless network.

I then run net-setup and configure appropriately. After this I have a fully functional net connection. Everything in the install works great up until 'emerge sync'. This hangs as a different point in the sync each time I try it, and when I investigate I discover that I've lost all networking. At this point if I try to re-set my essid or the like with iwconfig it reports that "device or resource is busy". It also no longer lists a channel or essid when I type 'iwconfig eth1'. 'ifconfig eth1' lists several hundred thousand TX errors. If I type 'ifconfig eth1 down' it takes the interface down without complaining, but then typing 'ifconfig eth1 up' returns "SIOCSIFFLAGS: Device or resource busy".