Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.6-love1 aka "Welcome to the real world"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS Good news (esp for me) it works !!

I now have nvidia xorg love-kernel.

I really have to get some sleep here but here's my <a href="http://www.piments.com/.config">.config</a> if you want to compare notes.

I used the ~x86 nvidia-kernel and glx versions.

More specifics tommorrow.

Let us know how you get on and post more hardware and system details if you dont get anywhere and I'll tell you more detail of what I did to get it working.

Good luck, good night. 8)

PS if you like chillis , have a look at the site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sawanv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys.....do you reccommend using the x.org server with love-sources? Havent really had time to try out that stuff yet, but if you say its worth while then will make an effort.....is there a slight/significant performance increase?

Sawan
_________________
Eir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Bir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Phatte kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Cartman kahen....."Screw you guys, I am going home !!! "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 7:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dogmeat138 wrote:
PickledOnion wrote:
dogmeat138 wrote:
So the love kernels include bootsplash?

Interesting.....another question, is the love source's avliable through emerge?


Please search before asking - every love-thread has at least two people asking this same question.

Anyway, here is the link for the how-to-love-sources


Mabye I take offense to easily, but i dint read the entire threat before asking, because I dint have the amount of time nessisary to pick through stuff, but really, you dont have to be rude.


And i thought id include, that people whom react like you, shy people away from posting on message boards.


Yes, you are being too sensitive, I put a nice please at the front of the sentence, explained why you need to search and then put the link there anyway as I can't stand people who say 'search for it' and don't help in any way. What more would you actually want - perhaps we should ignore posts asking common questions or politely give the link - your choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ OneofOne or Steel:

There are some updated patches for win4lin if you are interested.

here

They include a newer mki-adapter (1_3_5) and a 2.6.6 kernel patch.

HTH :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gungholady
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2003
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do these Win4Lin patches work with these love-sources? I've never been able to use love-sources because the Win4Lin patches would fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Love has win4lin in it - it works fine here (they have been using the 2.6.5 win4lin patches and so they might want the updated ones for the next love release).

Love has had them for a couple of releases now, have you tried this latest version? Apart from that, if you want to do it by hand, there were a few rejects that needed sorting out by hand but now all that hassle has been taken away by OneofOne and Steel.

Let us know some more details if its not working properly in this release as it should do and does here :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sawanv wrote:
Hey guys.....do you reccommend using the x.org server with love-sources? Havent really had time to try out that stuff yet, but if you say its worth while then will make an effort.....is there a slight/significant performance increase?

Sawan


I was a bit unsure about trying , it sounded like a major change. In fact it when like a dream.

I swapped over seamlessly , it worked first time, no worries at all.

I did not benchmark it but I dont think the issue is speed.

XF86 is not a free as it used to be , so xorg is a fork off the last xfree open source. If you wish to stay opensource it is probably a good idea to swap over now while the two are very similar rather than later when the may be bigger diffs.

You will need steel's Xwrapper. There is a link to a little bit of c code you need to compile. Very easy to follow.

HTH 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 8:59 am    Post subject: Where my DMA gone ?? Reply with quote

First of all thanks for a great release.

I dont know what changed but I now have working GeForce Ti4200 glx etc with 3800 fps on glxears. Brilliant.:D

Slight downside tho' , I no longer have DMA on my VIA chip set and no loing see the option for this chip set.: VIA8322 :?

[EDIT] Found it. PCI IDE was off and I could not see the options. Seems certain things are now turned off as default due to some dodgy h/w issues. They just need reactivating. The thing that threw me was the heading PCI IDE , this is nothing to do with PCI cards for IDE which also exists, it is IDE on PCI based systems .

Devs: Renaming this more clearly may be helpful eg PCI motherboard IDE.

I was going to bin this post but some others may get caught out as well so I'll leave the answer in.
[EDIT]

this was all working fine on all love* upto now.

Has this chipset option been accidentally cut from menuconfig? Or am I just not seeing it .

Thanks to anyone that can point me in the right direction, otherwise this might need fixing. 8)


Last edited by Gentree on Thu May 13, 2004 1:19 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 9:07 am    Post subject: that's better Reply with quote

@gentree

Thanks for posting the config - the major diff seemed to be that you had kernel AGP configured. So I set mine, changed NvAGP from 1 to 3 and... voila!

It's been working patchily over the last few love releases and I wasn't sure why it kept breaking. Hopefully this will sort it out.

MSI KT4V mobo and GeForce 4 MX440 BTW, not so far from your setup
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear youre working, at least provisionally.

It will be interesting to see what you get from the GF4MX, I have read some fairly harsh reviews that say it was a bit of a con calling it s GF4 and its spec and core is really a GF3.

In anycase these a pretty powerful cards and I get the feeling that like me youre not a avid gamer.

For comparison I get 3800 fps off my card and last night I took to the air for the first time with fightgear. The gx are not mind blowing but it was good and smooth (and I didnot crash- too hard.)

Glad I could help. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:

You will need steel's Xwrapper. There is a link to a little bit of c code you need to compile. Very easy to follow.


I set X's priority via kdm, which is much easier than this wrapper.

Code:

# grep nice $KDEDIR/share/config/kdm/Xservers
:0 local@tty1 /bin/nice --adjustment=-10 /usr/X11R6/bin/X vt7

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But won't then all processes started by X have also that priority?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
But won't then all processes started by X have also that priority?


Yes but X doesn't start any other processes. Kdm starts X and kdm starts KDE, but X itself has no children and surely no desktop applications. All my apps are children of kdeinit, or init, not X.

Code:

kdm
  +-X
  +-kdm
     +-startkde
        +-kwrapper
kdeinit
   [most other desktop stuff]
kdesktop
kicker
kmix
firefox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how did you generate the process heirachy? Looks useful. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phranzee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 397
Location: katowice/pl

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
how did you generate the process heirachy? Looks useful. 8)
not the same output, but try ps --forest
_________________
signature fault
post dumped ;]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
how did you generate the process heirachy? Looks useful. 8)


Well I typed it with my keyboard. ;-)
But I got the heirachy from KDE's process monitor (the one you get by pressinig CTRL+ESC).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MadEgg
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Jun 2002
Posts: 678
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or try 'pstree' for something that strongly resembles what he typed.
_________________
Pentium 4 Prescott 3,2 GHz
Asus P4P800 SE, i865PE chipset
1024 MB PC3200 RAM
AOpen Aeolus GeForce 6800 Ultra 256 MB DDR2
Creative Audigy2 ZS
gentoo-sources-2.6.20-r7
nVidia-drivers version 9755
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure how the fsck I should pronounce that one but it did the trick.

Thanks, nice one. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:34 pm    Post subject: and I thought my nvidia problems were over... Reply with quote

Now here's a pretty thing:

Code:
nvidia: no version magic, tainting kernel.
nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
Unable to handle kernel NULL pointer dereference at virtual address 00000000
 printing eip:
c01f41fb
*pde = 00000000
       ___      ______
      0--,|    /OOOOOO\
     {_o  /  /OO plop OO\
       \__\_/OO oh dear OOO\s
          \OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO/
           __XXX__   __XXX__
Oops: 0000 [#1]
CPU:    0
EIP:    0060:[<c01f41fb>]    Tainted: PF  VLI
EFLAGS: 00010203   (2.6.6-love1)
EIP is at vsnprintf+0x43/0x4b9
eax: d11ad37f   ebx: 00000000   ecx: 2ee52c80   edx: 00000000
esi: d11ad380   edi: d1207fc0   ebp: ffffffff   esp: ce9a5e00
ds: 007b   es: 007b   ss: 0068
Process modprobe (pid: 6343, threadinfo=ce9a4000 task=cebb21b0)
Stack: b3bd9e16 00000013 00000000 c12303e8 000000d0 c13c3624 ce9a5e70 00000246
       2ee52c80 d11ad380 00000000 00000000 ce9a5e58 d1207fc0 ce9a5f60 c01f4702
       00000000 d1012fc8 ce9a5e58 d11ad380 ce9a5f70 cedfb200 000041ed 00000246
Call Trace:
 [<c01f4702>] vsprintf+0x12/0x16
 [<d1012fc8>] nv_printf+0x50/0x76 [nvidia]
 [<c01715a3>] sysfs_new_inode+0x53/0x94
 [<c01722d5>] create_dir+0x14f/0x186
 [<c011b88d>] tasklet_action+0x3a/0x58
 [<c011b6d7>] __do_softirq+0x77/0x79
 [<c0141825>] __vunmap+0x8b/0xa4
 [<d100f37c>] nvos_probe_devices+0x281/0x28b [nvidia]
 [<d0d3e000>] nvidia_init_module+0x0/0x2ac [nvidia]
 [<d0d3e078>] nvidia_init_module+0x78/0x2ac [nvidia]
 [<c012a01c>] sys_init_module+0x112/0x1f3
 [<c0105c07>] syscall_call+0x7/0xb

Code: ca 85 c0 0f 88 53 04 00 00 8b 74 24 24 8b 44 24 20 8d 6c 30 ff 89 f0 83 e8 01 39 c5 73 0d 89 f1 bd ff ff ff ff f7 d9 89 4c 24 20 <80> 3a 00 74 25 0f b6 02 3c 25 74 41 39 ee 77 06 88 06 8b 54 24

This happens when I do modprob nvidia. Not on the desktop system I was talking about earlier - that works nicely. No, this happens on my laptop- a Tosh Satellite M30 with GeForce FX graphics.

It doesn't happen with 2.6.4 and with vanilla 2.6.6 nvidia is broken anyway. I don't have a 2.6.5 kernel to hand, but I'll compile one later if I get time
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nate_S
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 414

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:

It will be interesting to see what you get from the GF4MX, I have read some fairly harsh reviews that say it was a bit of a con calling it s GF4 and its spec and core is really a GF3.


OT: that's actually a bit of an understatement, as from what I'd read, they were just souped up GF2s. It's the MX vs the TI series that makes the difference. If you take a quick at the video card section on pricewatch.com, you'll see that even now a GF3 TI 128 goes for $90, but an MX440 128 goes for $47. the same thing in the current FX series: the GF4 TIs are still like $90, as they were very good cards, but the FX 5200 series is like $50. ATI does the same thing, the radeon 9000 was just a cheapened 8500, and the 9200 is worse than the 9000. So the moral of the story is: always read reviews before you buy.


Back on topic again...

Do you need the Xwrapper if your using the Anticipatory Schedualer? Or is it a CFQ only thing? Also, what value are you guys using? Is there a difference between doing -10 and -15 if it's still lower than anything else? I've been using the love kernels with just the default schedualer, and no wrapper script, because I'm lazy, but if it's worth it I'll go for it.

-Nate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nate_S
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 414

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that's the first error message I've ever seen with a turtle. That's awesome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 4:59 pm    Post subject: drfting off topic again... Reply with quote

Regarding the GF4MX, it is indeed somewhat lacking. It makes 650 FPS under glx gears and the latest love, and though I've had it as high as 1200, never much over that. Certainly nowhere near 5000. I've sometimes wondered what I was doing wrong. Oh well, it was part a barebones bundle, and I'm still happy with the overall system.

And just so not to be totally off topic, the turtle is on a couple of bootsplash related threads on the forum. It seems to be nvidia related though, and this defnitely only occurs when I try and insert the nvidia module.

I couldn't find it on google though.
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sawanv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gentree wrote:
sawanv wrote:
Hey guys.....do you reccommend using the x.org server with love-sources? Havent really had time to try out that stuff yet, but if you say its worth while then will make an effort.....is there a slight/significant performance increase?

Sawan


I was a bit unsure about trying , it sounded like a major change. In fact it when like a dream.

I swapped over seamlessly , it worked first time, no worries at all.

I did not benchmark it but I dont think the issue is speed.

XF86 is not a free as it used to be , so xorg is a fork off the last xfree open source. If you wish to stay opensource it is probably a good idea to swap over now while the two are very similar rather than later when the may be bigger diffs.

You will need steel's Xwrapper. There is a link to a little bit of c code you need to compile. Very easy to follow.

HTH 8)


If you just run X with a priority of -10, what happens to the other processes? As the other posters say, their parent isnt X so wont they run with their old priority?

Or is it that all GUI programs calls end up to X, so that is what is doing the REAL drawing on screen and thus giving it a higher priority helps?

Sawan
_________________
Eir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Bir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Phatte kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Cartman kahen....."Screw you guys, I am going home !!! "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentree
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: France, Old Europe

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice turtle! Never seem that one before. Probably should be a penguin shitting itself really . Maybe he could not do penguins.


I did have dumps a bit like that on modprobe nvidia at one stage.

IF I recall correctly it was because I had not recompiled nvidia after each kernel rebuild. Apparently this module (which is inappropriately named nvidia-kernel) is static-linked to the kernel binary. So pretty much any change to the kernel will require at least relinking nvidia module.
(and I assume -glx)

In short do yourself an alias like:
Code:
alias emnv='ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 em nvidia-kernel && em nvidia-glx'


to run after each kernel rebuild.

I only saw this pb once until I realised the score.

Two other issues to check here: dont use the 4K stacks option or the register arguments option. Both will break binaries and nvidia is , at heart, just that in an emerge wrapper.

Maybe you should diff your two .config files and make sure all differences are related to the different h'w on the Tosh.

HTH.
8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boroshan
l33t
l33t


Joined: 16 Apr 2003
Posts: 730
Location: upside down

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All jolly sensible ideas. I have the recompile convered, kernel and glx, unstable versions of each. And I checked that 4K was off

Didn't realise the register arguments option was a potential cause of trouble - I don't remember setting it, but it seems nevertheless to be set in the config files for both systems, including the one that works. I suppose it may go some way to explaining why things have seemed so unstable.

I'm trying a build now based upon my desktop config with only necessary changes. I'll report back.
_________________
Don't let THEM immanentize the Eschaton!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum