Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.6-love1 aka "Welcome to the real world"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Evil Dark Archon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 562
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

love reverses the patch.
_________________
This post has been over explained for newb-informing purposes.

Registered Linux user 347334
Abit AV8-3rd eye, AMD Athlon64 3500+ 90nm, ATI Radeon x850 pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snakattak3
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Dec 2002
Posts: 468
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eNTi wrote:
no option for turning off 4k-stacks in 2.6.6-mm1 any more. don't know if it's the same with love1, but nvidia drivers will wether not load or lock X.


I had that option in 2.6.6-love1. I also don't seem to have any X lockups using nvidia and 4k-stacks. I am using Xorg though, would that be a difference?

Also..Everything seems to work fine except for bootsplash with this kernel. Keep Supermount comming!! I love it.
_________________
Ban Reality TV!
Adopt an Unanswered Post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why Love source not included in portage :( it is much more easy to instal using emerge than just copy and pach apply.
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VolcomPimp
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 135
Location: Newark, CA

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

come on ppl the questions been answered a million times...
search the forum!

Besides, are you that lazy that you don't know how 2 use
a portage overlay directory and emerge like you normally do?
It's not that hard...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phranzee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 397
Location: katowice/pl

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OneOfOne wrote:
@phranzee you need 2.6.6-mm1
ok, i though it was already included. now it works fine.
waiting for bootsplash :)
thanks
_________________
signature fault
post dumped ;]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Smoothhound
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 6:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cwt137 wrote:
what is the custom dsdt table?

Differentiated System Description Table, it's a system description used by APIC implementations, some DSDT's are buggy so this patch allows you to debug the DSDT and then have your system use the debugged version. See this topic for excellent coverage.

:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blue.sca
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 680
Location: Mainz, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

running smoothly, no problems at all...

any hint, where i can find out, what a patch does (of course except from googling :)), because i'd like to find more information about my kernel ;)

good work anyways....
_________________
geek by nature, linux by choice
i want my avatar back... thank you
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phranzee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 397
Location: katowice/pl

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

one more thing:
"patch-2.4.x-vesafb-rrc.bz2| vesafb refresh hack"
i run scripts/vesa_modeline_gen.pl, enter proper values but i still have 60hz in 1024x768x16 console.
i use the same values for xorg and i get 85hz.
any ideas ? :)
_________________
signature fault
post dumped ;]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

phranzee wrote:
one more thing:
"patch-2.4.x-vesafb-rrc.bz2| vesafb refresh hack"
i run scripts/vesa_modeline_gen.pl, enter proper values but i still have 60hz in 1024x768x16 console.
i use the same values for xorg and i get 85hz.
any ideas ? :)


try checking out the vesafb_hack thread
_________________
proud to be a scout and a chronic penguin hugger
Legion of Lore - site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phranzee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 397
Location: katowice/pl

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neenee wrote:
try checking out the vesafb_hack thread
vga=0x518 not 0x317 :)
thanks
_________________
signature fault
post dumped ;]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trumee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 461
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this work with nvidia and XFree86?
2.6.6-mm1 sure has problems, what about this one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mudrii
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 789
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

  CC [M]  fs/supermount/file.o
fs/supermount/file.c: In function `supermount_release':
fs/supermount/file.c:553: warning: unused variable `bug'
  CC [M]  fs/supermount/filemap.o


:(
_________________
www.gentoo.ro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Evil Dark Archon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002
Posts: 562
Location: Santa Rosa, CA

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that is a meaningless warning, supermount will still work, but i personally have dropped supermount for udev/dbus/hal/gnome-volume-manager and it works great.
_________________
This post has been over explained for newb-informing purposes.

Registered Linux user 347334
Abit AV8-3rd eye, AMD Athlon64 3500+ 90nm, ATI Radeon x850 pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fallow
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 08 Jan 2004
Posts: 2206
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="poloso"
Just a little correction: your signature might be "deprisa deprisa a rumbo pERdido" :o)[/quote]

ooo :oops: :oops: :oops: ...thanks a lot for correction ;)

well , an error in source text on local website...

greetings:)
_________________
"Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived" J-L. Picard ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpu
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 122
Location: POLAND/ZG

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So for clear situation:
All patches for nForce/nF2 are applied in vanilla - I mean I can enable APIC now ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*sigh* Why can't people read... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpu
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 122
Location: POLAND/ZG

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
*sigh* Why can't people read... :(


Because I don't see any clerance in this:
Quote:
<len.brown@intel.com>
[ACPI] workaround for nForce2 BIOS bug: XT-PIC timer in IOAPIC mode
"acpi_skip_timer_override" boot parameter
dmi_scan for common platforms, may be replaced with PCI-ID in future.
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1203


Quote:
<B.Zolnierkiewicz@elka.pw.edu.pl>
[PATCH] fixup for C1 Halt Disconnect problem on nForce2 chipsets

Based on information provided by "Allen Martin" <AMartin@nvidia.com>:

A hang is caused when the CPU generates a very fast CONNECT/HALT cycle
sequence. Workaround is to set the SYSTEM_IDLE_TIMEOUT to 80 ns.
This allows the state-machine and timer to return to a proper state within
80 ns of the CONNECT and probe appearing together. Since the CPU will not
issue another HALT within 80 ns of the initial HALT, the failure condition
is avoided.


And in relase love1 relase notes:
Quote:
nforce2-idleC1halt-rd-2.6.5.patch| idleC1halt for nforce2 (kernel boot param: idle=C1halt)
nforce2-ioapic-rd-2.6.5.patch| not sure
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Read my comments on last page...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpu
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 122
Location: POLAND/ZG

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
Read my comments on last page...

So I'll wait for love2 - I have some scsi errors acpi too during make bzImage and there is no need to put any nForce patches from now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_benj_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

run smoothly here, no probs like my rc3-love4 which fills my memory after 4days of uptime :? 8O
_________________
we are microsoft: what you are experiencing is an undocumented feature, not a bug.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xa0n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 11:03 am    Post subject: no problems here... Reply with quote

kernel is running fast and no problems here !

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
primero.gentoo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Dec 2003
Posts: 402

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all :)
I'm compiling 2.6.6-love 1 right now ... but i have two questions ...

what about bootsplash patch? i've read is broken but what does it mean? can i hope to have my nice bootsplash on again in some times or not?

And about Nick Cpu Scheduler , is it enabled by default or have i to enable it ? in second case i'm not able to find the option in menuconfig ... some hint?

Thx a lot
bye
_________________
"Linux, the choice of a GNU generation"
==Micro$oft - just say NO==
(L#USER 353039)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trumee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 461
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

can somebody tell me if nvidia is working here with Xfree?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ziquet
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it possible to get the orinoco monitor patch back ? Or perhaps get the updated driver from http://www.nongnu.org/orinoco/ (currently version 0.15rc1 or from CVS) that as support from monitor mode and scanning ?

I've tested version 0.15rc1 on my laptop and it seems to run fine :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blue.sca
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 680
Location: Mainz, Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2004 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trumee wrote:
can somebody tell me if nvidia is working here with Xfree?

Thanks


works like a charm...
_________________
geek by nature, linux by choice
i want my avatar back... thank you
:wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 2 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum