Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Which networking brand do you trust the most?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Best networking hardware brand?
Linksys
61%
 61%  [ 21 ]
Netgear
17%
 17%  [ 6 ]
Belkin
2%
 2%  [ 1 ]
I like (add option here) better!
17%
 17%  [ 6 ]
Total Votes : 34

Author Message
kcy29581
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 9:57 pm    Post subject: Which networking brand do you trust the most? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have had mixed experiences with the three big networking hardware brands: Linksys, Netgear and Belkin.

I'd like to know your experiences/expertise/knowledge about them on two questions:
- Realiabilty and effectiveness (ie does the hardware die after a few months)
- Linux compatibility (both native drivers and ndiswrapper-wise, although native drivers would obviously be best)

Please feel free to comment on indicidual hardware, ie their wireless-g stuff works but their bluetooth is a pile of "£$%!.

note: By the way, I havent added D-Link because I have had nothing but problems with their products. Same at university. I understand they have better Linux support (true???) but I'd rather have something I can trust.
_________________
There is no spoon...

Oh, and it's WINDOWS not Winblowz for those who can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kai Hvatum
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Location: Traveling around the US

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intel has actually always worked very well for me as far as network cards goes.
_________________
Still using Gentoo, just too busy for forums these days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
papal_authority
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 1823
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where's cisco or 3com?
_________________
The free market gave me gonorrhea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcy29581
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

isn't cisco = linksys these days?

about 3com... no idea
_________________
There is no spoon...

Oh, and it's WINDOWS not Winblowz for those who can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freelight
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jun 2004
Posts: 295
Location: NYC, NY, USA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linksys is Cisco's consumer products divison. Cisco makes more high-end stuff.

Also, I've never had any problems with my D-Link network cards, and that's all the networking hardware I can comment on, as I don't have a router or switch. Cisco's routers have a reputation for being pretty solid though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
acasto
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2004
Posts: 236
Location: Durka-Durka-Stan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kcy29581 wrote:
isn't cisco = linksys these days?


Pretty much for this category of hardware. You pretty much just talking about stuff you can walk into Best Buy or Staples and get, right? I've used hubs and switches from all those brands and have never had a single problem with them. As for broadband routers and wireless, I've had some issues with the Linksys wireless routers, though I do like their regular access points. I like Netgear (wireless) routers the best. I've used many Linksys nics and haven't had any problems yet.

As for Linux compatability, I just stick with the traditional stuff (no speed boost or anything like that) and haven't had any problems. I wish they had more just plain 802.11b still out so I could build cheap access points (yeah, I'm sure I could just order it off ebay). 11Mbps has always been plenty for most things I would be using wireless for. If I needed more then I would much rather build a bridged wireless connection using something fast that can do bridging, then run ethernet to the devices.
_________________
Leerrroooooyyyyyyyy JENKINS!!!!1111...................

"You know the Nazi's had pieces of flare.. that they made the Jews wear."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcy29581
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I am atlking about the stuff you can buy at places like Staples! :)

Routers, network cards (desktop, pcmcia), etc, basically all the things that can make your home a wireless haven.

thanks for the responses guys
_________________
There is no spoon...

Oh, and it's WINDOWS not Winblowz for those who can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deadstar
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 319
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm absolutely pissing fed up with my router! It's an MRi cheap piece of crap my boss gave me. Keeps resetting itself and won;t save settings for more that a week.

Anyone recommend a replacement? I usually go for Netgear stuff but my budget is quite low at the moment.
_________________
Hysteriagaming.co.uk is now DOT COM! New design, forum, articles, the works! http://www.hysteriagaming.com

(\ /)
(O.o)
(> <)
This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plastic
l33t
l33t


Joined: 24 Mar 2004
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linksys, because I have had the most experience with them and I never had problems with any of their products. My home router/server has two Linksys NICs in it, and they both function well with the tulip driver. OTOH, didn't they once have a product with a backdoor password?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Warped_Dragon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 143
Location: Canada Eh?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I generally go with Linksys, all my personal equipment is from them. I like it.

Though, I was at my fathers recently, and he had a cheap D-link router. Looking around in it's configuration options, it seemed -far- more flexible, as far as setting up forwarding rules, opening/forwarding ports and port ranges, etc, then my current linksys router, a BEFSX41. Mine has a set number of rules you can create, and that's it. From the looks of that D-Link, you could create as many as you wanted. That'd be hugely useful for me.

But then, the BEFSX41 is a few years old, so maybe the newer linksys stuff is as configurable as the D-Link I looked at. I don't really know.
_________________
I could put my system specs in my sig, but I'm not a plonker, so...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ma3oxuct
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Apr 2003
Posts: 523

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Linksys has worked perfectly for me for a long time; its my networking product of choice. Cisco definitly does not wish to tarnish its own reputation by outputting crappy cards through thier Linksys division.

I can tell you all one thing: every D-Link product that I have ever had has failed sooner or later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homeobocks
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 345
Location: I'm from Canada, and they say I'm a little slow . . . eh?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 2 D-Link network cards and a D-Link DI-604 Router for a couple years and all's been well. Cheap ones, too.
_________________
HOW DO I SHOT WEB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chammer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 43
Location: Newport News, VA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

linksys has always struck me as toy networking hardware (no offense to those that use/like them). that said i've always been a netgear person for routers/switches and up until recently smc for nic's. for the past year i've been on a netgear gigabit switch with my two main systems on intel pro/1000 gigabit nics. couldnt be happier with the performance.
_________________
http://www.thezengarden.net
echo '[q]sa[ln0=aln256%Pln256/snlbx]sb3135071790101768542287578439snlbxq' | dc
echo '16i[q]sa[ln0=aln100%Pln100/snlbx]sbA0D4D465452snlbxq' |dc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcy29581
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, definately mixed feelings about all this!

well I never said what I use. I have always mainly used Linksys. However I got their pcmcia card a year back (the model number eludes me right now... i thing the wmp54g?) and found out it wasn't compatible with linux. I got dissapointed and recently I bought a belkin replacement, after someone told me that their chipset is supported by the kernel. But they forgot to tell me that it's not "just ready yet". I think the latest kernel works, but that means I'll have to wait for the next Ubuntu...

Why aren't things a bit easier? :wink:
_________________
There is no spoon...

Oh, and it's WINDOWS not Winblowz for those who can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arainach
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Jul 2004
Posts: 609

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

3Com. Without a doubt.
_________________
Gentoo: Stage3 w/ NPTL & udev, gcc 3.4.4 full rebuild
Kernel: 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 w/ 1G-Lowmem Patch
System: Athlon XP 2.2Ghz/1GB Corsair Value/160GB, 250GB WD IDE/128MB GeForce 6800/Sony 17" Trinitron G200 @ 1280x1024x75Hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frippz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Aug 2002
Posts: 460
Location: Malmö, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Netgear router does a good job so far, but I wouldn't buy Belkin again even if a gun was held to my head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nothings_found
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Meh, linksys makes some nice SOHO routers etc. With the exception on them freezing or dying more than once in my home. Intel network cards are i think the best i have never ever had a problem with and Intel Network card not being detected by either Linux or Windows. I mean they are just great.

Cisco man Cisco is like the God of networking supplies, I have 7 Catalyst 2950 switches and i coudent be happier with the performance and the configurabily options it provides.

But getting back on topic i would die for Cisco i mean their products just kick ass. Except the price those switches i talked about earlier, cost about 2 grand each.. :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monkeyhead
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 97
Location: hella-where?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as network cards go, I'll take an old 3com card over a new intel or linksys card.

I'm not sure why, but for some reason the old 3com cards give you full upload bandwidth and the newer intel and linksys cards don't. This is fine if your pc is piped right to the cable modem, but if you run it across a LAN that has no upload restrictions, it gets really annoying. All the stupid Compaq's at work came with the intel cards and I immediately disable them and steal one of the old 3com cards from the IT guys cage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nothings_found
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

monkeyhead wrote:
As far as network cards go, I'll take an old 3com card over a new intel or linksys card.

I'm not sure why, but for some reason the old 3com cards give you full upload bandwidth and the newer intel and linksys cards don't. This is fine if your pc is piped right to the cable modem, but if you run it across a LAN that has no upload restrictions, it gets really annoying. All the stupid Compaq's at work came with the intel cards and I immediately disable them and steal one of the old 3com cards from the IT guys cage.



It all depends on the configuration my man... :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kihaji
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Sep 2002
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3com -> Intel -> Netgear -> tin can and string.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcy29581
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 284
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kihaji wrote:
3com -> Intel -> Netgear -> tin can and string.
more information is needed to process the information given...
_________________
There is no spoon...

Oh, and it's WINDOWS not Winblowz for those who can't spell
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bos_mindwarp
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 275
Location: stockholm, sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just got new Linksys wireless router at home, after wrestling with netgear for 2 years, looks good so far =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave77034
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Apr 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just got a Linksys WRT54gs off ebay and I've been pleased with it. I imeediately installed OpenWrt (www.openwrt.org) never even bothered to try the default linksys firmware. Very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum