Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
no gateway after emerge baselayout-1.11.6-r1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 2:03 am    Post subject: no gateway after emerge baselayout-1.11.6-r1 Reply with quote

Gateway is not set at boot after I emerge baselayout. Before this it worked perfectly. Please ask for more info I will be glad to provide it. I haven't changed anything in /etc/conf.d/net nor has the network changed either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 208
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

first of all i'm french....:) ;) keep ti in mind for your explanation!

in order to ativate a gateway, you one thing to do on it which is
Code:
 echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forwarding


try that...if it doesn't work tell us if you can ping your gateway from a station,
then give your route table from your gateway and a station
Code:
 route -n
...
_________________
Open Minds! Open Sources! Open Future!
think_tux@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and thanks for the fast answer. My internet seems to be working ok but the gateway gives an error on boot. The output:


Code:

mgp mgp # echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forwarding
bash: /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forwarding: No such file or directory
mgp mgp # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
mgp mgp #


Does seem to have the Gateway here, doesn't it? So why does it give an error on boot?

merci beaucoup
:)

Note: I do have a /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward would that be it?
Code:

mgp mgp # cat  /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 208
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think i make a mistake... try that
Code:
echo "1" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forwardin

or
Code:
 nano -w /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forwarding
and you put a 1 instead of the 0!

is it the route table of your gateway?
if it is, your default gateway is wrong...you need a route to your ppp0....but i don't saw the ppp0 connexion....put on it, n make a
Code:
route -n
and tell us the return...
_________________
Open Minds! Open Sources! Open Future!
think_tux@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm not using a ppp0 connection. I'm on a lan network and 192.168.0.1 is my gateway. Output of route -n:
Code:

# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.0.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0
#


Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 208
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
i think the problem isn't on your station, but on the gateway....
try the echo > "1" on your gateway
_________________
Open Minds! Open Sources! Open Future!
think_tux@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6777
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 2:59 pm    Post subject: Re: no gateway after emerge baselayout-1.11.6-r1 Reply with quote

mgp-gentoo wrote:
Gateway is not set at boot after I emerge baselayout. Before this it worked perfectly.


You should see something like this when starting your net.ethx
Code:

 *    Adding routes
 *       default gw 192.168.6.7 ...                                       [ ok ]


How are you setting your default gateway? Post up your /etc/conf.d/net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 208
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:02 pm    Post subject: Re: no gateway after emerge baselayout-1.11.6-r1 Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
mgp-gentoo wrote:
Gateway is not set at boot after I emerge baselayout. Before this it worked perfectly.


You should see something like this when starting your net.ethx
Code:

 *    Adding routes
 *       default gw 192.168.6.7 ...                                       [ ok ]


How are you setting your default gateway? Post up your /etc/conf.d/net


i think it is, look at the route table! the last line!
default gw ---> 192.168.0.1 (his gateway)

no?
_________________
Open Minds! Open Sources! Open Future!
think_tux@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the following:

Code:

 *    Adding routes
 *       default gw 192.168.0.1 ...                                       [ !! ]


I don't understand why but my internet conection works fine it's just that it comes up with that error. My /etc/conf.d/net is:

Code:

# /etc/conf.d/net:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $

# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
#
#RESA
iface_eth0="192.168.0.68 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#
#UPC
#iface_eth0="147.83.95.130 broadcast 147.83.95.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"

# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."

# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"

# NB:  The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.  Leave commented to assign
# defaults for that interface.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"


# For setting the default gateway
#
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"
#
#UPC
#gateway="eth0/147.83.95.1"
#RESA
gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"


I have not changed that ssince it worked (ie before emerging baselatout).
Should I do?
Code:

echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

Note the forward not forwading as befa said or has this got nothing to do.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
befa
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 208
Location: rennes

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the station that do nothing...mine is set at 0...i was talking bout the gateway...but anyway! now it works properly! welldone! ;)
_________________
Open Minds! Open Sources! Open Future!
think_tux@jabber.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6777
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mgp-gentoo wrote:
I get the following:

Code:

 *    Adding routes
 *       default gw 192.168.0.1 ...                                       [ !! ]



Your config looks fine - the error indicates there is aleady a default GW to that address in your routing table.

If you reboot do you still get the error?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeap just rebooted and got the same error. I get it everytime but then internet works. How can I run the scrip again and strace it? Before baselayout all was fine. After emerging it I get the error but everything seems to work fine so why is there an error? Any log or place where I can find a description... Thanks for your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More info. If I do /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start after stopping it it works fine. It seems to only be at boot. Ok I've just remembered I have net.eth0 run at boot level not default (rc-update) could this be the problem. Before it ran just fine at this bootlevel. I may be talking rubbish but that's because I don't really know what I'm talking about. :) Thanks again. I'll try changing it to default and see what happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mgp-gentoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, to sum up. I get an error at boot that I can only reproduce by rebooting the machine. The error does not seem to afect the connection; so it's not really an error but only the statement of the error. The bootlevel thing didn't have anything to do. So I'm back at step one except I know I have my config file well configurated. Has anybody else got this weird probem? Is this normal? Do I have to live with an error at boot? Where can I get more info about the error as the one I have now is 0? Thanks to all for hearing my ridiculous set of questions. And thanks fo the help. :)

mgp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum