View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
debaser
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 8:52 pm    Post subject: What's all this kmozilla nonsense? Reply with quote

Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to Linux and very new to KDE. I've been using Mozilla with Gnome and Windows for ages now and I've grown rather attached to it.

When I switched to KDE 3.0.3 I decided to go all out and use Konqueror instead of Mozilla because it seemed like the thing to do. Anyway, I've gotten kind of sick of the way khtml renders pages so naturally I was intrigued when I heard that I could use the Gecko engine with Konqueror.

Unfortunately for me, all the information about enabling kmozilla seems to be for Konq 2.2 (it says to go to View -> View Mode, an option that doesn't exist on my computer). So I guess what I'm getting at is, how the hell do I make Konqueror use kmozilla?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
AlterEgo
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you need to emerge kdebindings.
That will give you the option to change the view in konqueror to kmozilla.
I tried it a few times, but it did not convince me of any advantages
debaser
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AlterEgo wrote:
I think you need to emerge kdebindings.
That will give you the option to change the view in konqueror to kmozilla.

I already emerged kdebindings and recompiled kde just to be safe. No luck.

Is the general consensus that kmozilla is no better than khtml? Mozilla seems to render fonts better, at least for me.
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2002 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

debaser wrote:
Mozilla seems to render fonts better, at least for me.