Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.6_rc3-love4 aka "Reboot Time"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gringotts
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Apr 2004
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Compiled fine here (for my Asus A7N8X, I kept APIC away), thank you.

What I really like is that DVD watching is remarkably fluid :D

About DVDs, I would try now the DXR3/Hollywood decoder, but its support is lacking in this very last version :(
I hope you will bring back DXR3 patch in following versions.

Nice work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PrakashP
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: C.C.A.A., Germania

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can now safely use APIC on nforce2 as the fix is included and it activtaed automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DooBeDooBeDo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Aug 2002
Posts: 220
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PrakashKC wrote:
You can now safely use APIC on nforce2 as the fix is included and it activtaed automatically.


This fixes the badness in the ohci1394 module I've been having on my A7N8X with the latest mm and love sources too :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
teilo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Jun 2003
Posts: 276
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Update: Just tested the HFSPLUS driver which I patched. I was able to mount an HFS+ cdrom just fine.

Patch here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=169782&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=25#1115232
_________________
Teilo who is called Teilo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gandalf the White
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Verdun, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

steel300 wrote:
kevmille wrote:
This error just popped up while I was emerging:

Code:
bash-2.05b# emerge love-sources-2.6.6_rc3-r4.ebuild
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) sys-kernel/love-sources-2.6.6_rc3-r4 to /
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) patch-2.6.6-rc3.bz2
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) linux-2.6.5.tar.bz2
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) 2.6.6-rc3-mm2.bz2
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) 2.6.6-rc3-love4.bz2
>>> Preparing to unpack...
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking linux-2.6.5.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/love-sources-2.6.6_rc3-r4                                        /work
 * Applying patch-2.6.6-rc3.patch...                                     [ ok ]
 * Applying 2.6.6-rc3-mm2.patch...
patch: pch.c:614: intuit_diff_type: Assertion `i0 != NONE' failed.
patch: pch.c:614: intuit_diff_type: Assertion `i0 != NONE' failed.       [ !! ]

 * Please attach /var/tmp/portage/love-sources-2.6.6_rc3-r4/temp/2.6.6-rc3-mm2.                                        err to any bug you may post.

!!! ERROR: sys-kernel/love-sources-2.6.6_rc3-r4 failed.
!!! Function unipatch, Line 485, Exitcode 0
!!! Unable to dry-run patch.


Boot into a gentoo livecd, then chroot over and emerge it again.


I got the same error, so I did that, and got the same error, any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevmille
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 311
Location: Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Gandalf the White:

All I did was re-emerge the ebuild again and it worked for some reason.
_________________
My Company: Hakata Consulting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gandalf the White
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Verdun, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just did emerge love-sources again? Because that's exactly what I did, and it did nothing, do you mean to say that you redownloaded the ebuild?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevmille
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 311
Location: Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gandalf the White wrote:
You just did emerge love-sources again? Because that's exactly what I did, and it did nothing, do you mean to say that you redownloaded the ebuild?


I downloaded everything again and re-emerged them. I noticed, sometimes, that doing rm -rf /usr/portage/distfiles/, before emerging love-sources helped. I think steel told me to do that with a previous kernel.
_________________
My Company: Hakata Consulting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gandalf the White
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Verdun, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much, redownloading the ebuild did the trick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevmille
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 311
Location: Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gandalf the White wrote:
Thanks very much, redownloading the ebuild did the trick.


Weird, huh? This has been happening to me with other packages as well for a couple weeks now.
_________________
My Company: Hakata Consulting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gandalf the White
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Dec 2003
Posts: 320
Location: Verdun, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very weird, it's never, ever happened to me before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

compiled fine... :D

I'm just waiting for a download to finish to reboot my system

i'll tell you about bootsplash in 1 hour


thanks again steel you're THE MAN!!!
:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"moving right alone" (TM)

my system is running as smooth as a princess butt



sorry my english :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sawanv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan
_________________
Eir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Bir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Phatte kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Cartman kahen....."Screw you guys, I am going home !!! "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sawanv wrote:
Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan


yes, my system has a progress bar, just like examples in www.bootsplash.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimbojetset
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 67
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

running sweetly here :)

same bootsplash text wrapping problem as everyone else though....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucida
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sawanv wrote:
Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan


Mine has progress bar in 2.6.5-love3, but in 2.6.6-rc3-love4, the progress bar appears but never moves.

Is it my problem or a bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sawanv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lucida wrote:
sawanv wrote:
Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan


Mine has progress bar in 2.6.5-love3, but in 2.6.6-rc3-love4, the progress bar appears but never moves.

Is it my problem or a bug?


Sweet!! Bootsplash works after such a long time, though have never managed to get progress to work. I have the same bootsplash text-in-the-upper corner problem as everyone else. Am sure it will be fixed.....

Sawan
_________________
Eir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Bir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Phatte kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Cartman kahen....."Screw you guys, I am going home !!! "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lucida wrote:
sawanv wrote:
Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan


Mine has progress bar in 2.6.5-love3, but in 2.6.6-rc3-love4, the progress bar appears but never moves.

Is it my problem or a bug?




my progress bar moves pretty well, i think is your problem.

did you applied "the progress bar patch"?
(available at www.bootsplash.org)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevmille
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 311
Location: Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enzobelmont wrote:
lucida wrote:
sawanv wrote:
Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan


Mine has progress bar in 2.6.5-love3, but in 2.6.6-rc3-love4, the progress bar appears but never moves.

Is it my problem or a bug?




my progress bar moves pretty well, i think is your problem.

did you applied "the progress bar patch"?
(available at www.bootsplash.org)


What is this progress bar everyone is talking about? I just got bootsplash to work for the first time last week.
_________________
My Company: Hakata Consulting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kevmille wrote:
enzobelmont wrote:
lucida wrote:
sawanv wrote:
Hey _@benj,

Thanks for the stuff....is your bootsplash with progress bar?

If only I could get bootsplash working....man havent seen it during the boot for ages....only when its turned on in all terminals....

Will give this a go....

Sawan


Mine has progress bar in 2.6.5-love3, but in 2.6.6-rc3-love4, the progress bar appears but never moves.

Is it my problem or a bug?




my progress bar moves pretty well, i think is your problem.

did you applied "the progress bar patch"?
(available at www.bootsplash.org)


What is this progress bar everyone is talking about? I just got bootsplash to work for the first time last week.


check out this link: http://www.bootsplash.org/silent-mode-thmb.jpg
:wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

out of the wall...

how can people gain the title: noob, apprentice, guru, etc.???

it's based on the post numbers???

please somebody explaint this to me...
thanks

sorry my english :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kevmille
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jul 2003
Posts: 311
Location: Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon), Vietnam

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 4:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enzobelmont wrote:
out of the wall...

how can people gain the title: noob, apprentice, guru, etc.???

it's based on the post numbers???

please somebody explaint this to me...
thanks

sorry my english :oops:


https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=24074
_________________
My Company: Hakata Consulting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaribbeanKnight
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 240
Location: Earth -> Europe -> Belgium -> Diest

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can someone please enlighten me on the whole io scheduler thing..? i wanted to try out the cfq scheduler, so i thought, it's default in love-sources, but when i checked, i got this:
Code:

StardusT root # dmesg | grep scheduler
Using anticipatory io scheduler
StardusT root #

so, i added append="elevator=cfq" to lilo.conf, but after a reboot, i still got:
Code:

StardusT root # dmesg | grep scheduler
Using anticipatory io scheduler
StardusT root #

how do i enable this damn thing??? 8O[/code]
_________________
...we ain't shit...
Linux User #353893
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sawanv
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CaribbeanKnight wrote:
can someone please enlighten me on the whole io scheduler thing..? i wanted to try out the cfq scheduler, so i thought, it's default in love-sources, but when i checked, i got this:
Code:

StardusT root # dmesg | grep scheduler
Using anticipatory io scheduler
StardusT root #

so, i added append="elevator=cfq" to lilo.conf, but after a reboot, i still got:
Code:

StardusT root # dmesg | grep scheduler
Using anticipatory io scheduler
StardusT root #

how do i enable this damn thing??? 8O[/code]


Hmm...the lilo thing should have worked...maybe the cfq patch isnt in this release of love-sources?
_________________
Eir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Bir kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Phatte kahen "chalo ghar jayen",
Cartman kahen....."Screw you guys, I am going home !!! "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum