Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
folding@home and Gentoo Linux Users Everywhere
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Master Shake
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Apr 2005
Posts: 755
Location: Wilmington, Delaware

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Joined up. Only using one of my cores for this the other for my day to day stuff.
_________________
System Specs:
64-bit gentoo linux
Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
P35 Chipset
4 Gigs 800mhz 4-4-4-12
Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX @ 630mhz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kraymer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 349
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:49 pm    Post subject: now using system cpu?! Reply with quote

Hm, I hadn't used foldingathome for a while now.. Now I joined the GLUE group, updated to 5.0.2-r4 (due to non-working@startup init script) and started the client.. Strangely it uses ~1/3 system cpu power, reportet by top. It used to use more than 99% niced cpu before which is what it should do.
I played around with the "Disable highly optimized assembly code" option but that doesn't make any difference. The only thing I changed was to switch over to no-deadline packages since I don't want that folds get lost (which happened before because I started the client irregularly and sometimes passed deadlines). Somehow I can't imagine that

Anyone an idea what is going wrong here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
highvoltage
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2006 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Count me in.

I just signed up after a day of unsuccessfully screwing with boinc/setiathome. Oh well, I like this project better anyways; it's probably a lot more useful. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 706
Location: The Village

PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2006 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The foldingathome ebuild needs some tlc and a version bump. I'd join the GLUE team but I'm folding elsewhere atm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
feld
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 593
Location: WI, USA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

version bump? the next "version" is 64bit SMP only. That's more than just a bump.
_________________
< bmg505> I think the first line in reiserfsck is

if (random(65535)< 65500) { hose(partition); for (i=0;i<100000000;i++) print_crap(); }
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 706
Location: The Village

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2006 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A new ebuild for that would be good. 8)

There is also a 5.04 version for x86.
Quote:
RECENT CHANGES:

5.04:
- Allows configuration of the amount of memory to indicate available,
especially useful when running multiple "big unit" clients on a single
machine.
- Allows for the setting of -advmethods as a persistent option
through the Configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 706
Location: The Village

PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe someone could update the link on the first post.
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=teampage&teamnum=11298

Gentoo Linux Users Everywhere ranks 39 of 47814 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erulabs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Location: erulabs.com

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im joined up... With my Cell processor!

Just got the new patch for the PS3 and can run f@h under the PS3 O/S now!

That should significantly help the gentoo team... adding roughly 300Tflops to the grid :-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skellr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 18 Jun 2005
Posts: 706
Location: The Village

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nutbar21
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erulabs wrote:
Im joined up... With my Cell processor!

Just got the new patch for the PS3 and can run f@h under the PS3 O/S now!

That should significantly help the gentoo team... adding roughly 300Tflops to the grid :-D


That's awesome - your score is going to skyrocket.
_________________
"Your voice is like the sound of sirens to a house on fire..." -The Alkaline Trio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clete2
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Aug 2003
Posts: 530
Location: Bloomington, Illinois

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting roughly 3 units per day out of my PS3 which is ~1,000 points! :D

I have these computers running:

2.8GHz P4 w/HT 800MHz FSB (not 24/7)
2.2GHz P4 (500MHz FSB) (24/7)
Playstation 3 (24/7)

I transferred to the GLUE team a couple of months ago but only had that 2.2GHz PC running so I was only ranked in the 600's. Now that I have added my PC and my PS3, I'm in the low 400's about to step into the 300's. I'm in the top 20 in PPD so I should jump up quickly.

Let's take Gentoo Linux Users Everywhere to the top!

Btw my name on there is Clete2 and my old team was Sharky Forums.
_________________
My Blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColeSlaw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Kearney, NE USA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm ranked #13 ATM on the GLUE team. I guess I'm going to have to get a PS3 if I want to keep competing!

For you folks new to folding, a nice 3rd party statistic site is http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/

We'll save the world one cycle at a time :)
_________________
My Folding@home Stats!
Join the GLUE folding Team!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asheron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jun 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 7:00 pm    Post subject: so........... Reply with quote

how do i tell my cpu usage that gentoo is using for it??? I started the init script, and i think its running, but i dont know how to tell XD i also have it running on windows, which oooh pretty little display tell me all i need to know and lets me use 100% of cpu. lol dont hate because i have my gentoo, xubuntu, and windows running for 11298!
_________________
Karma, It's Real!
"No penguins were harmed during the writing, just a bunch of broken windows to let them escape..."-xtacocorex
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ColeSlaw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 176
Location: Kearney, NE USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember some GUI's out there for folding@home, but I can't recall any of the names of them. Perhaps somebody else here remembers their names?
_________________
My Folding@home Stats!
Join the GLUE folding Team!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ksool
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 337
Location: Cambridge, MA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just signed up with 5 machines:
2x3GHz P4, 2x~400MHz PII, and one dual 400MHz PII.

Using the init script though, I get 8 FahCore processes of which either 2 (P4's and dual PII) or 1 (else) are actually doing any work, but the other processes are taking up memory. Is there anyway to fix this, memory on most of my systems is at a premium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
inindo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just joined as well with Gentoo on an AMD 4800 X2 running 24/7. Also considering using my PS3, can anyone tell me how much heat the PS3 produces when running this constantly? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robnotts
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Location: Nottingham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Running foldingathome on 3 machines here... Gentoo AMD x2 3800+ (32bit mode), PS3, and Celeron Laptop (windows)... the PS3 kicks out a bit of heat, but the fans boost every so often which seems to cool it down... clock out a fair amount of work units that way,, so not doing bad on the scoring either...

rob.ng15 on the GLUE scoreboard
_________________
---

Gentoo Phenom][ X4 955 on AMD790 + Geforce 220GT 8GB/1.75TB (Desktop)
+ MythTV (3xFreeview,1xFreesat HD) on 1080p
Gentoo Turion64 X2 Geforce 6150 2GB/120GB (Laptop)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zillode
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have some problems with foldingathome: every time I start it I get the following notice:

This account is currently not available.
* Starting Folding@Home on CPU 1 ... [ ok ]

I have set my username in client1/client.cfg using the /opt/foldingathome/initfolding command

greetz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zillode
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, I fixed it: you need to add a shell to the foldingathome user (passwd) (/sbin/nologin was causing this message)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedrik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 646
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How will this affect my power consumption? I'm guessing that it will increase but will my computer actually drain more power through the power cable?
_________________
From Gentoo with love
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zillode
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2006
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It will surely use more power, because PC will be on load 1 (100% usage). I tested it on several computers:
Idle: 35 watt
folding on: 85watt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedrik
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Apr 2005
Posts: 646
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, thanks.

quite stupid question but wanted to make sure.
_________________
From Gentoo with love
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulHindt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 48
Location: Silicon Valley

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just installed Folding on my gentoo laptop...count me in!
Team Gentoo FTW!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 656

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just joined too! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 656

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just stopped the service - my P4 is just too loud when running with that load :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 10 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum