View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
gmtl3 Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 03 Jan 2004 Posts: 135
|
Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 5:37 pm Post subject: Apache2 and ssl |
|
|
I'm trying to use apache2 as a reverse proxy to protect an internal IIS OWA server. I had it working on another box using apache 1.3
The proxy module is issuing errors about ssl. Things like:
Code: |
[Fri Feb 20 22:00:43 2004] [debug] proxy_http.c(1064): proxy: HTTPS: declining
URL https://webmail.domain.org/Exchange/ (mod_ssl not configured?)
[Fri Feb 20 22:00:43 2004] [debug] proxy_connect.c(145): proxy: CONNECT: declining URL https://webmail.domain.org/Exchange/
[Fri Feb 20 22:00:43 2004] [warn] proxy: No protocol handler was valid for the URL /. If you are using a DSO version of mod_proxy, make sure the proxy submodules are included in the configuration using LoadModule.
|
Does apache2 require mod_ssl to serve up ssl? The apache documentation talks about mod_ssl under the 2.0 documentation, but when I "pretend" emerge mod_ssl, it only wants to install apache 1.3 ... even if apache2 is already installed. I saw in my emerge log that apache2 was compiled with --enable-ssl=shared.
Here's the statements that I had put in commonapache2.conf (or commonhttpd.conf actuall) for apache 1.3:
Code: |
ProxyPass /exchweb https://webmail.domain.org/exchweb/
ProxyPass /Exchange https://webmail.domain.org/Exchange/
ProxyPass / https://webmail.domain.org/Exchange/
|
Looking for some help.
Thanks, |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RedDawn Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2003 Posts: 368 Location: Los Angeles, California
|
Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 9:36 pm Post subject: Try this |
|
|
If you have the ssl flag in your make.conf then the ssl module for apache should be located in the ( extramodules ) folder.. so try this!
Code: |
LoadModule ssl_module extramodules/mod_ssl.so
|
put the line in your
/etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf
and it should work!
test it by
https://127.0.0.1
if it connects then your good to go! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gmtl3 Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 03 Jan 2004 Posts: 135
|
Posted: Sun Feb 29, 2004 3:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
I figured it out, but forgot to post back here.
I tried adding the LoadModule statement to my apache2.conf file, but that resulted in an error message.
What did work was putting:
Code: | APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL" | in /etc/conf.d/apache2. That loads it from /etc/apache2/conf/modules.d/40_mod_ssl.conf |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
KShots Guru


Joined: 09 Oct 2003 Posts: 597 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yet another similar problem... I haven't seen a solution that fits me yet (tried yours, said I had a syntax error when I added SSL to that line).
I have ssl defined in my /etc/make.conf file... and an "emerge --verbose -p apache" produces the following output: Code: | root@gorgon rich # emerge -p --verbose apache
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild R ] net-www/apache-2.0.49 +berkdb +gdbm +ldap 0 kB
Total size of downloads: 0 kB | Under /etc/conf.d/apache2: Code: | APACHE2_OPTS="-D PHP4 SSL" | I normally have the PHP4 in there, just tagged SSL to the end... and it claims a syntax error. Any ideas?
EDIT: Oops, it's just a misunderstanding of how that line works. Replaced the space between PHP4 and SSL with a comma, and it works fine now.  _________________ Life without passion is death in disguise |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|