Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to create links on the desktop in KDE
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 4:18 pm    Post subject: How to create links on the desktop in KDE Reply with quote

Hey, I'd like to create links on the desktop in KDE... is there much to know about it?

First thing I wanted to do is to get the internet explorer, which I have now installed with wine, working as icon.

So I created an application icon and enter as command wine /yadaada/IEXPLORER.EXE... didn't work

Then I created a script in /usr/bin named IEXPLORER:
#!/bin/bash
wine /yadaada/IEXPLORER.EXE

and then an icon with IEXPLORER as command. I click on it, symbol bounces, and bounces, and bounces... Internet explorer start, but all the time while surfing, the item bounces... until i close it...

So i then go to advanced, select run in terminal, now it doesn't bounce anymore, but i have an open terminal

So then I try to add an & to the script. Thus, iexplorer will run in the background and the script will close the shell again... wrong, iexplorer doesn't show...

So how is it done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, and while we are at it, how do I get the iexplorer icon?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iainvt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 462
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ie if installed through wine will be in ~/.wine/fakewindows/progs/etc/etc
in the command box in the link to application, ensure after wine you insert the whole path to the .exe in ' and another '

ie

wine '/home/user/.wine/fakewindows/programs/blahblah.exe'
_________________
iain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, doesn't work

this is the command i did put:
wine '/home/flo/.wine/fake_windows/Program\ Files/Internet\ Explorer/IEXPLORE.EXE'

the thingy bounces for about half a minute, then nothing happens

if i select run in a shell, the shell exits with status 1

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iainvt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 462
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

where did you get the path from, click on the .exe and copy the path directly from the address box
_________________
iain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am pretty certain that the path is correct, because it works in a shell or in a script...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just to be sure, i opened the thing in konq and clicked on the exe and copied the link

it looks a bit different:

file:/home/flo/.wine/fake_windows/Program Files/Internet Explorer/IEXPLORE.EXE

however, i tried that one, same thing happens...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iainvt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 462
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you actually installed ie, it instals better through crossover office, you can get the trial free download.
_________________
iain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

??????????????????????

of course i have installed ie, ie is perfectly running on here... with link and everything

i just want the shell to go away
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iainvt
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Sep 2004
Posts: 462
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry misunderstood you, well if it is working and there is a console in the background then whats the issue? That is how wine works.
_________________
iain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noergeli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Oct 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Hamburg, Gemany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your path is correct try to do
Code:
wine "C:\\Program Files\\Internet Explorer\\IEXPLORE.EXE"


where C: is your fake win drive and this is what wine should understand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

noergeli wrote:
If your path is correct try to do
Code:
wine "C:\\Program Files\\Internet Explorer\\IEXPLORE.EXE"


where C: is your fake win drive and this is what wine should understand.


Coolio, that worked, thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, sorry for disturbing more, but...

:lol:

the icon?

I didn't find it anywhere, do I have to boot into windows to get it, or is it hidden somewhere in the windows partition and can be extracted (couldn't find it there either)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noergeli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Oct 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Hamburg, Gemany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For icons you could take a look at /.kde/share/applnk/Wine in your home directory. There should be some xpm files for programs installed by wine. If not and you want to use the windows .ico file you have to convert it, because you cant use ico files for that in kde.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The subdirectory Wine doesn't exist, so, since i have only installed iexplorer so far, i'd guess he hasn't installed it...

I did a search for all .ico files on the windows partition and found only 19... but not the major ones, and not the right one

On the windows desktop are a bunch of .lnk files, are they any good?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noergeli
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Oct 2004
Posts: 205
Location: Hamburg, Gemany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well you got me to the end of my knowledge about it, but if you want it the easy way and be satisfied with an OSX-style icon go here

regards, noergeli
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Florianbur
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 83

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's ok... thanks for helping me out
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum