emerge system fails
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
salukibob
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 8:32 am    Post subject: emerge system fails Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm a first time installer, and had no problems until the stage2-stage3 'emerge system' part. It failed whilst compiling groff-1.17.2-r2 with the gcc errors -

device.cc:23:18 defs.h: No such file or directory
device.cc:25: 'DEVICE' was not declared in this scope

Make has Error 2

So, I tried 'emerge system' again, just to see if it would report on the situation, and I got this error message -

Traceback (most recent call list):
File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 5, in ?
if (not sys.stdout.isatty()) or (portage.settings["NOCOLOR"] in ["yes", "true"]):

AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'settings'

So basically, does anyone know why I wouldn't have the defs.h header file, and how I might fix this problem?

Cheers
salukibob
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forums.

Could you tell us what CPU you're using, and what CFLAGS you have chosen? Were there any other errors before, trying to make defs.h? defs.h is generated by the Makefile in the src/include subdirectory of the groff build, as it appears to me.
salukibob
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2002 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, the CPU i'm using is a Celeron 533A overclocked to 600Mhz, but has always been stable, so no probs there hopefully.
I am however being somewhat ambitious with my CFLAGS using:-
-09 -march=pentiumpro -mcpu=pentiumpro -funroll-loops -ffast-math -malign-doubles -fomit-frame-pointers -fno-exceptions